• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

If At First You Don’t Succeed…

Happy Hump Day!

If you follow me on twitter, you might have seen my tweet on Sunday morning about getting ready to run 8 miles. I was really excited that other people were planning on doing long runs in the morning on Sunday so that I could get that run out of the way while still in Chicago. I got all geared up with my ipod, Garmin, and a globar (!!) for fuel, and set out to run with Liz. I made it 1.22 miles exactly and got overcome with terrible stomach pain. I thought I was going to throw up right there and had to stop.  I tried to regain my composure but was seriously overcome with nausea and had to turn around. I was really disappointed because I had told everyone who would listen that I was going to run 8 miles in the morning to get myself pepped up for the run (including on twitter!).

So last night, I set out to do the long run yet again. It was a little hotter than ideal, but I ate a pack of pretzels before setting out (during the Fueling for Fitness presentation they said eating salt can be good for salty sweaters like yours truly). The first few miles felt AWESOME. I was just trying to go slow and enjoy the run and wasn’t rushing at all. Then miles 3-4 were a little rough before the turnaround point. Every time I do a long run I run out on a trail half the distance I’m doing, and then turn around and come back. I always get kind of anxious to get to the turnaround point and constantly check my Garmin to monitor the mileage. I think I need to start mapping out some loops so this doesn’t happen..

Then around mile 6 I had to stop to take a walking break. By “had” I think it was totally mental but I was starting to have some weird stomach cramping and was running out of steam. I ended up having 2 shotblocks (~67 calories or 1 pt) and then walk/running the last two miles of the run. The final stats:

Distance: 8.00 miles

Duration: 1:24:35 seconds

Avg Pace: 10: 34 min/mile

Calories: 928

So while I am very happy with the distance, one of my goals in the half marathon is to not take any walking breaks and just run the whole thing, however slow it is. I need to figure out how to make my fuel more easily accessible, and put less ice in my Camelbak (I drank all the water but there was still a ton of ice in it). Hopefully I can figure that out because the half marathon is only 4 weeks from this weekend!! Eek.

Post-run fuel was a frozen smoothie (1 cup almond milk, 1/2 large banana, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 2 handfuls spinach) for 3 points, topped with 1 tbsp of chunky peanut butter for 2 points (5 total).

Then Wil and I went to Chipotle for dinner, where I hadn’t been in AGES. I got a burrito bowl that was delicious, but I couldn’t even come close to eating the whole thing because my stomach felt off.

In the bowl:

– Cilantro Lime Rice (4 points)

– Black Beans (2 points)

– Fajita Veggies (0 points)

– Pico de Gallo (0 points)

– Corn Salsa (2 point)

– Lettuce (0 points)

– Guacmole (3 points)

So 11ish total, but I probably had only about half or 5 points worth. I also had a few of Wil’s Chips for another point, and saved the rest of the bowl for lunch today.

This morning I’m sipping on a grande nonfat extra hot skim latte (i LOVE how many descriptors there are for their drinks) for 2.5 points (the tall is only 2 points but I woke up tired and need the boost!)

I’m feeling a little grumpy this morning because my email (both personal and work) is not working, so to cheer myself up I’ve been looking at some pictures from Chicago. Check out how gorgeous the city is!

I was so impressed by the number of parks and the amount of greenery all around the city. It was gorgeous!

Liz, Shannon and Myself (3 of the 4 roomies)

Me, Heather, Shannon, and Evan

Ahhh I miss it. Want to go back!!!!!!

Whats your favorite recovery meal/snack? I’m still trying to get my head around doing chocolate milk, but I just loooove frozen smoothies, especially in the hot weather!

16 Responses

  1. Wow, CONGRATS on the run. I can’t even imagine running 8 miles!

    Yumm…chipotle.I used to order a chicken burrito and eat the whole thing, which I think is about a million points, lol

  2. You are doing so great with your running! You should be proud of those 8 miles. You will get there with no walking too. Like everything else, it takes time!

    My fave recovery is also a smoothie. There is nothing better than a Green Monster!

  3. I’m not a huge chocolate milk person… I just can’t do it!

    Good job on the 8 miles- even if you had a few obstacles on the way. I still go away from long runs like that and just think “damn… can’t believe I just did that!”

  4. wow they really cleaned up the park fast! lollapalooza was the weekend before (in grant park) and i was legit nervous the greens would be smushed and such! i’m silly to think grant park/chicago doesn’t have a stellar parks department 🙂

  5. ps i hope your stomach feels better beth!

  6. Congrats on completing the 8 miles. I’m just starting out and I working on just being able to run a 5k completely without walking breaks. So I know how it can be frustrating. I know you’ll get there though!!!

  7. great job finishing it!

    I have a really hard time mentally NOT walking when Im running. its tough!

  8. Congrats on doing the long run. You should be proud of yourself! And there are actually training plans that advocate for walking breaks even in half or marathon trainings. For example, you run 5 or 6 minutes, then walk for 1 or 2 min.. The advantage is that you don’t tire out as quickly. Check out jeffgalloway.com. He has some great training plans on that and some people are even able to finish a lot FASTER doing it that way. So don’t beat yourself up about it. You are doing great.

  9. I love me some Chipotle! I haven’t had it in a while either! I always get the burrito and save half for another day! BONUS!

  10. I tend to workout in the morning so go right to breakfast after my sweat sessions. However, my husband really loves apple juice with whey protein powder post workout. He use to do chocolate milk, but said it felt too heavy in his stomach.

    Great job on your run!

  11. I’m trying to come up with a goal for my 5 mile race coming up. In my past races, I’ve actually gone faster when I do take walking breaks, so I don’t think that will be the goal I set for myself.

    WTG on the 8 miles. Running is so weird that some days I go out and slam pavement, and then other times I get the weirdest pains in random places. I know it has to be mental because I hurt in a different spot each time! Crazy.

  12. way to get it done girl! I’m the same way with out-and-back runs; the first half makes me very impatient.

  13. Did you ever figure out why you felt sick?

    Luckily I’ve never felt nauseous during a run. I’ve been dizzy, overheated, or crampy but never thrown up (knock on wood!).

Leave a Reply

