• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Three Good Things

1.) Weigh In

Today at weigh in, I lost 2.6 pounds since last Friday! I had gained .4 the last two times I went, so I’m really down 1.8 from my lowest since the Labor Day Challenge began (if that makes sense). This puts me only 2.2 pounds away from my goal weight!! I am soooo excited to be so close, and realizing that hitting goal by Labor Day is actually attainable at this point. I’m so excited I could squeal! Though I’m trying to not focus so much on the numbers and more on being healthy, I am not going to lie and say I can’t wait to get to my goal weight/lifetime so I can stop paying $40 a month! I’ve been paying this since last March so I will gladly cross that off my monthly expenses…

2.) CSA is looking good!

Today was CSA day, and my friend is still out of town so we get to keep the whole thing, AGAIN. It is SOOO much produce so you’ll be seeing a lot of veggies on here over the next week. I still have 2 eggplants left from last week’s CSA, too!

The goods:

  • 19 peaches
  • 2 mystery herbs (dill I think?)
  • 8 ears of corn
  • 4 cucumbers
  • 2 summer squash
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 2 bags of green beans

Check out the incredible size of this cucumber:

I don’t even know if that picture does it justice, but its literally the largest cucumber I’ve ever laid eyes on, much less had in my hand.

3.) I had an AWESOME lunch. I had 3 leftover slices of eggplant from Monday Night which I was excited about eating and thought would be the star of the lunch. I wanted to throw together a quick salad to go on the side, and it turned out amazing and stole the spotlight!

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt)
  • red onion, chopped
  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cucumber, chopped
  • lemon basil leaves
  • 2 tbsp RF Athenos tomato basil feta (1 pt)
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar (0 pts)
  • 1 tsp olive oil (1 pt)

I can’t believe this salad was only 3 points… wow. You must make this. It is SO good and so much volume for the points! You can make lots of substitutions here based on what you have or don’t have in the kitchen. For example, I just threw in the cucumber atΒ theΒ last minute when I saw it in my CSA bag this morning, so you could easily go without cucumber or change up the cheese and any other veggies based on preference/ingredient availability.

Though the salad was awesome, the eggplant still did shine.

All together now:

The eggplant is approximately 3 points for the 3 slices, so 6 total for this lunch. I heated the eggplant up in the toaster so it was hot and the cheese was crispy on top. Two kinds cheese in one meal? Yes, please!

What are some good things about your day today? Even if it’s a rough one, there’s always something!

28 Responses

  1. Wow, those are three GREAT things. Way to go on the awesome weight loss. You are so close to goal–that’s amazing. When you first started out, did you ever imagine getting to where you are now (both weight wise and health wise)?

    I can’t imagine hitting goal–it seems so far away. But I can forsee making my labor day challenge, since I am less than a pound away from the 180s πŸ™‚

    That salad does look amazing, so yes I will steal the recipe. My chicken parm last night was a disaster, but Nick still ate it πŸ™‚

    • Hi Katie! That’s a hard question to answer. When I joined WW this time (last March), things definitely felt different. I knew that I was making a serious commitment to change my life, but I don’t think I realized how far reaching that change would be. Like if you had told me pre-WW that I’d be attending a Healthy Living Summit in Chicago, I would have laughed. But, now that I’m here, it’s been a slow process and I think I’ve taken the changes in as they’ve come… slow and steady. It’s hard to believe I’m gearing up to run a half marathon and that I feel strange if I don’t work out 4-5 times a week. That’s not really an answer at all, just some thoughts from me! πŸ™‚

  2. I really need to sign up for CSA! Your produce looks amazing!

    Good thing about my day – I am feeling exceptionally creative today and am putting it to good use at work. Gotta take advantage of it while it lasts. ; )

    • CSA’s are awesome. it’s cool that you don’t get to pick what you get so you try new things and have to figure out how to use what you have, aka 5 eggplants…

  3. Congrats on your weight loss! You are doing amazing. One great thing about today, is that I ran four miles at a faster pace than I normally do. That made me verrrry happy as I am recovering from an injury that took me out for about a month and a half.

  4. i love it. there IS always something! the coffee shop in my town has a frequent purchaser card and i enjoyed a free iced coconut coffee today. their coffee is so fresh and never sweetened with liquid add ins! yum yum. other than that i recreated your eggplant dish last night (thanks for the salt tip, it realllllllly helped) and seeing you enjoy it as leftovers makes me happpppy!

    congrats on the weight loss! πŸ™‚ yay

  5. CONGRATS!! Almost to Goal weight is an exciting time and a huge motivator!

    • Yes I am so excited! I think my personal goal is a bit lower but I’m much less concerned about that that my WW goal. Thank you!

  6. Yay for the weigh-in!! You get it girl πŸ™‚

    And that mix looks to dieeee for. I would devour that in a scary short amount of time lol

    The best part about my day was scoring a sweet pair of nike capris for $25!

  7. Hello green beans! Wow… it’s going to be rough to get through all that, no?

    My good thing for the day is the outdoor concert I’ll be attending tonight! Woo hoo!

  8. Congrats on that weight loss! I have the same thing happen to me, where I won’t lose anything or I’ll be up .2 or .4 pounds then boom all of the sudden I’m down 2 o 3 pounds.

  9. Congrats! you are so close!

  10. Congrats on the weight loss and that is you spending the weekend in Chicago! Way to go. Good things about my day? mmmm I weight this morning and am holding steady. That is good for me since I have already lost 115 pounds and learning maintenance.

  11. Congrats on the loss! That CSA is beautiful. Lovely, lovely, lovely! Just like you. πŸ™‚

  12. Even though I can’t stand the texture of eggplant, that meal looks very appetizing.
    The CSA looks good, I am a little surprised that they give you so much of the same thing. I don’t know what I would do with 19 nectarines, besides making a pie – I couldn’t get through that much fruit!

    • I normally would only get 1/2 of this, but since my friend is out of town I’m keeping the whole thing. A half share is one box, and a full share is two, and all the boxes have the same things. So, yes, its a lot of the same veggies but its an exception that I’m getting this much two weeks in a row!

      • Also, congrats on the weight loss.

        Also, you commented on mine and mentioned GHGs, what are those?

        I don’t do a lot of snacking – I guess I hoard my points for my meals. I should snack more, I used to eat carrots and laughing cow cheese or hummus regularly for a snack – especially when I worked, I needed a snack between lunch and dinner.

  13. Congrats again on your loss this week, you’re SO close to goal, whoohoo!! πŸ™‚

    I must look into CSA’s next year. We have a garden and I try to get out to the local Farmer’s Market but it would be really convenient to get a fresh load of produce delivered every week.

  14. My oh my – you are going to have lots of fun with that CSA!

  15. Wow, so much good stuff in this post! First off, congrats on your weight loss, I know how good it feels. You totally deserve it after all your hard work! Secondly, those CSA veggies and your lunch look so amazing. Jealous! πŸ™‚

  16. Your salad inspired me today when I was preparing my lunch for tomorrow. I put together: black beans, cucumber, red pepper, tomato, red onion, cilantro, olive oil, lime juice, salt, garlic and cumin. I will let you know how it tastes tomorrow. It looked good and volume is what I am talking about.
    Thanks for the idea.

  17. Congrats on the amazing weightloss girl! And your CSA loads always seem to mame me a tad jealous, I’d love to receive goods from those guys! oh and sad green beans news (since you’re looaded with ’em!) I bought a huge 2 handfuls of them last Sat and opened the bag on Tues only to find brown spotted greens 😦 sad business!

  18. Congratulations on the weight loss! That is fantastic!!! The best part of today is definitely knowing that I have tomorrow off!

  19. Wow that is one great looking bag of produce. I always assume chickpeas are higher in points but 1 pt for 1/2 cup seems ok.

Leave a Reply

