• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Ping Pong Dim Sum

Happy Friday!! I am so glad it is almost the weekend I could cry. This is the first and only weekend in August that I’m not traveling/have something huge going on. The first weekend was one of my best friends’ weddings, last weekend was the Healthy Living Summit, and then next weekend, the last one in August, I leave for NYC on Thursday night through Sunday to watch my niece and nephew with my mom because my sister has a wedding to attend herself in Montreal. I’m saying all these things aren’t amazing and fun, its just nice to stay put sometimes!

Last night I went out to happy hour to Ping Pong Dim Sum, this cool newish place in DC. I’m not sure where the ping pong comes into play because there’s no ping pong anywhere in sight, but the place is actually quite loungy and fancy. They do have an amazing happy hour, where drinks that are normally $9-$11 a pop are only $5, plus cheap beer and wine, too. They have dim sum, which is basically small appetizers, sort of like an Asian style of Spanish tapas where you are encouraged to share and try a bunch of things. I met my friend Jillian, who I hadn’t seen in a long, long time, so it was great to catch up!

I started out with an Earl Gray Julep:

Which is Buffalo Trace bourbon infused with earl-grey tea, shaken vigorously with mint and sugar. It is pretty strong since it’s pretty much just bourbon on the rocks, and I had two of them during our few hours there.

For food, we got a bunch of Dim Sum to share, most of which was $3 for happy hour!

Steamed Chive Dumplings

King prawns and chives in green chive pastry.
We also had the Seafood Dumplings:
Which was snow crab, prawns and scallops in carrot pastry.
I loved both of the kinds of dumplings, but Jill though they were “a little too sticky” so I had 2 of the 3 of both of those.
We also ordered Vietnamese Spring Rolls:
They had prawns, noodles and vegetables and were wrapped in rice paper and served with chilli fish sauce. These were SO good and the sauce they came with was delicious… in fact, I dipped some of those lettuce leaves in there once the rolls were gone just to soak it up. We split those evenly so I had 1.5 of the rolls.
That was Round 1.
Round 2 consisted of Prawn Toast

This was shrimp on toast flavored with garlic and coriander and sprinkled with sesame seeds. We split those down the middle and they were gooooood.


Crispy Prawn Balls
This is one of my favorites from there and consists of chopped king prawns and spring onions in shredded egg pastry, served with sweet and sour sauce. I’d love to try to recreate these in a healthier version.. stay tuned. I had one of those three and let Jill have two since she’d never had them before and they are awesome.


Last, but not least, I had to get some veggies in so I ordered the Bok Choy, which Jill wouldn’t touch. 🙂
It was steamed in soy sauce with garlic on top and was really good. I love bok choy but have it so rarely so this was a treat.

I walked away from this happy hour feeling really good about my decisions. I had only two drinks which was just the right amount, plus I didn’t overdo it with the food. Looking back this looks like kind of a lot but I actually left feeling still a little hungry! I got to treat myself a bit with some of the fried food (which as you probably know is a rarity for me) but I balanced it out with steamed dumplings and bok choy. I was home safe and sound by 8pm and actually got laundry done and the kitchen cleaned after I got home so it turned into a productive night.

I was still a little hungry when I got home, and was craving pizza… I used to order a medium pizza from Domino’s and eat the whole thing or close to it but try to refrain from making that a habit. Instead, I made this delicious 3 point pizza that was MORE satisfying than getting delivery!
In the broiler, I sliced up a tomato from my farm share and heated it for about 5 minutes so it was hot throughout and getting a little soft. I added 1/4 cup of reduced fat shredded cheese (2 pts) and spread it between the two tomato stacks and then put them back in the broiler. Meanwhile, I toasted an arnold thin, and once the cheese got melty, I took the tomato cheese stacks out and placed them between the two halves of the arnold thin (1 pt). I added 1 tsp of Garlic Gold Paremsan nuggets and split that between the two, plus added a few leaves of fresh basil to each half.

It was still light out, so I went out on my balcony to eat
This was SO good and so easy! The broiler heats up so quickly so I don’t have to wait for the whole oven to reheat, so I see this being a frequent treat if I’m craving pizza. This was AWESOME and only 3 points!!

What’s your favorite typically unhealthy food (nachos, pizza, etc) to healthify? Do you have a recipe for it? Share it in the comments and feel free to link to the recipe on your blog if you have one!

25 Responses

  1. I looove dim sum, but I haven’t had any in forever. I will need to remedy that soon. The other night I made “mac and cheese” with wheatberries, and little cheese, and veggies and it was pure bliss http://greensandjeans.wordpress.com/2010/08/16/wheatberries-two-ways/

  2. Amen to the relaxing weekend, girl!

    And I love making my own pizza with the Trader Joe’s whole wheat crust and whatnot on top of it… much better than the puddles of grease I get served elsewhere!

  3. Ok the dim sum looks amazing. I haven’t done that in years. I love bok choy too, but it’s hard to cook I find. I don’t do it so well when I make it on my own. When are you coming to NYC??

  4. Interesting food in this post!!

    I love making healthy nachos. So easy!

  5. Pizzas looks amazing. And I love Dim Sum, too! Was this Dim Sum place the kind where they come around with carts with the different offerings?

  6. Dim Sum is a cool adventure. I haven’t been in a long time but the food was always good. A tip: go with someone experienced that knows what things are!

    • ha yeah on the carts there a lot of things that are unrecognizeable and the people don’t usually speak English that well… this place had everything described ont he menu and you just ordered so we didn’t run into that trap.

  7. pizza. definitely pizza. i love this idea 🙂 fresh tomatoes make anything better.

    those spring rolls and seafood dumplings look amazing! i forget, have you attempted to make your own spring rolls? i thinkyou have. any chance you will try to recreate these ones too!

    enjoy your lax weekend!

    • i love making my own spring rolls but I usually do them cold rather than fried… itd be interesting to see what would happen if you tried to pan fry them though!

  8. That dim sum looks amazing – I am now trying to find friends to get dim sum with me this weekend! Mmmmm!

  9. Oh I love dim sum sooooooo much! It is so delicious, but I can rarely find good dim sum!

    And your pizza looks amazing! My stomach is grumbling.

    Favorite unhealthy food is cheeseburger, local beer and sweet potato fries. So good, but leads to a big bootie!

  10. That food looks amazing, but to be honest what looks the best is your pizza! 🙂

    Favorite unhealthy food is a big greasy burger and fries from Red Robin. There is no reason to remake it in a healthier version. I’ll take the calories and enjoy every bite!

  11. pizza! I like to make it on my own with whole wheat crust, minimal cheese and lots of veggies.

  12. I love dim sum! I try to go to a dim sum restaurant in every city I visit!

  13. Everything looks so good especially the pizza, way better than dominos!

  14. I agree that having a relaxing weekend is so nice. Especially when you’re busy so much other times.

  15. Mmm, meals like that where you walk away having several tastes of everything is the best! And awesome deal on the cocktails BTW!

  16. All those little meals look so cute and yummy! LOVE bok choy, but also dont have it very often…why is that so? I love healthifying a huge pizza, hands down. As well as veggie burgers and green monster ice creams and muffins 🙂

    Happppy free weekend!

  17. I love to healthify any dessert item – cookies, brownies, cakes, you name it – I’ve healthified it. (I blame it on my huge sweet tooth. ;-))

  18. im the same way- i LOVE bok choy but i rarely have it! the best is how tasty the dark green tips are and they get so soft and crunchy/chewy which is a great combo!

Leave a Reply

