• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Crabs and Horseshoes!

Hello and happy Sunday! I can hardly believe it’s late afternoon on Sunday already… this weekend has FLOWN by. I know I say that every weekend, but its true! My weekend has been jam packed though, so I’m sure that’s part of the reason its felt so fast…

I started the weekend out right with a 6pm Bikram class on Friday. I hadn’t been in weeks so was kind of dreading going, and honestly, it was HARD. I think sometimes when its been 1-2 weeks the class actually feels even better than if I’ve gone within the last week, but when its more than 2 weeks, its a huge wakeup call for my body. It was really hot outside so the room felt even hotter than normal, and I felt really tight so a lot of the postures were really hard for me. I also got kind of tired during the class so I sat out for a few postures that I normally don’t sit out for, but left feeling really cleansed regardless. I used my Subway coupon from the Healthy Living Summit to grab dinner after class, and I hadn’t been there in so long!

I got a 6″ veggie delight on wheat, toasted with pepperjack cheese, and also had spinach, tomatoes, green peppers, red onions, cucumbers, pickles, extra banana peppers, and honey mustard (5 points total). I tried a new flavor of Lays chips – Baked Parmesan and Tuscan Herb. They were REALLY tasty and only 2 points for the bag, whereas some of the other baked lays cross into the 3 point category. The flavor on them was really tasty, though the ingredient list was a bit long to make them a staple in my diet, they were a nice treat.

Saturday, I went to the Eastern shore for the day for a crab feast! One of my coworkers invited us to her weekend home, which was incredible. It’s about a 2 hour drive, so I drove with two of my coworkers and one of their boyfriends, and we left around 9:30. We made it to the house by 11:30 and spent the whole day and into the evening there. It was a blast! First, Emily and I went kayaking.

(The house we were at is in the background…. its a little on the large side) We kayaked for about 45 minutes, but half the time we were just hanging out not paddling because the water was so nice and there was a lot to see. On the way back in, I got out of my kayak first while Emily watched, and I totally tipped the entire kayak over and fell into the water in the process. She was laughing so hard while I struggled to get up and managed to get more dirt in my bathing suit than I had in years!

After I took a little time to recover my pride, I started grilling up some eggplant and corn from my farmshare. They had the nicest grill!

We got a half bushel of steamed crabs smothered in old bay for the feast:

And here’s the table we took over to dig into the crabs and all the veggies.

Everything ready to be dug into…

It was all so good! I had a few slices of eggplant but didn’t even have a piece of corn because I had my eyes on the prize.. the crabs. I looooove picking crabs, and didn’t want to get full on other stuff and not eat them. I had about 6-8 crabs in total and my lips were burning from the old bay at the end. Today my fingers are a little cut up from the crab shells, but it was totally worth it… 🙂

Here’s a picture of our hosts for the day:

Our coworker Mary Helen and her husband, Richard.

After dinner, we  went out into the yard and played horseshoes!

That’s Erin, Emily and I ready to go. I’d never played before, and it was SO fun. I ended up getting 3 ringers (horseshoe around the pole) and no one else got any. I got super into the game because I tend to get really competitive, and Erin and I were the reigning champs, beating both Emily and Mary Helen, plus Richard and Vincent!

We ended up playing into the dusk and then leaving around 9pm to head home. Unfortunately, we hit insane traffic on the way back because they decided it would be a good idea to go down to one lane from three on a very high traffic area of the road… awesome. We didn’t get home until almost midnight so I was BEAT.

I woke up today with one thing in mind…. 9 miles. I had nothing else on the schedule today and really wanted to get the long run in per my training plan. I made myself a toasted arnold thin with some Crofter’s Europe (2 pts).

I loaded up my Camelbak and set out. The second I stepped outside, I couldn’t believe how humid it was. The weather had said it was only 80 degrees, but the humidity was about 90%. The air felt so thick, but I really wanted to get the run in so I set out anyways. I ended up running about 5 miles straight, and then walk/ran the last 4 miles. Here are the final stats:

Distance: 9.00 miles

Duration: 1:37:52

Avg. Speed: 5.5mph

Avg. Pace: 10:52 min/mile

Calories: 1005

I have been really really struggling with my long runs lately. I feel like there is always an excuse (today’s humidity/heat) or I’m not feeling well or whatever the reason, and I haven’t been able to run the whole way on any of my long runs. I have 10 miles on the schedule for next weekend, so I’m going to have to play it by ear, but possibly readjust my original goal for the half marathon, which was to complete the whole thing without walking. I just don’t know if that’s possible at this point judging by my recent history with long runs.

After the run, I whipped up a delicious and quick breakfast.

An egg fried in nonstick spray (2 pts), a slice of whole wheat toast (1 pt), and then a mix of 2/3 cup frozen corn, thawed (1 pt), chopped tomato (0 pts) and 1/2 small avocado (2 pts). 6 points total and delicious. Sometimes I know exactly what I want when walking into the kitchen, and today was one of those days. This totally hit the spot.

Not sure what the rest of the day brings, but hopefully a nap and lots of good TV!

How’s your weekend been so far? Any highlights?

9 Responses

  1. Sounds like a perfect weekend! That house looks super nice.

    So far my weekend has been great!

  2. What a fun weekend! That place looks a-mazing! I’ve never played horseshoes but I think it sounds like a lot of fun, I definitely want to try sometime!

  3. Seems like you’ve had an amazing weekend!! So sad to see Monday coming soon. The corn looks delicious – i love grilled corn on the cob….

  4. Omg… that looks like a fantastic grill! Soooo jealous.

    And I’ve been holding out on the subway gf. No idea why. I did, however, snag some Arnolds and Atheno’s goods at the store today. Thanks HLS…

  5. Such a fantastic weekend! I love kayaking and I haven’t been in eons!

  6. Wow – you should stay friends with those co-workers for that amazing house!! 🙂 LOL on your fall out of the kayak.

    p.s. there is no shame in walking breaks (and I think that even if you take walking breaks during training the adrenalin on race day can keep you going. plus you could always take the “walk through water stations only” approach)

  7. Oh man! I LOVE fresh crab!

  8. I miss blue crabs!!!! Those things are so darn good!!!

  9. Wow so jealous of your crab feast and delish looking grilled veggies! And the house doesn’t seem to shabby either.

Leave a Reply

