• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

TofuXpress

I woke up SORE today. I think the 9 miler yesterday, even though I walk/ran a lot of the second half, really pushed my body. I haven’t felt sore like this in a while, and in a twisted way it feels good. The rest of my day yesterday ended up being pretty lazy, though I did muster up the energy to go grab a glass of wine and some hummus, veggies, and homemade pita chips with Wil and his friend Jeff who were visiting.

Loved the presentation on that and it was tasty, too. I got a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and sipped on it while enjoying the perfect weather the late afternoon brought once the thunderstorms cleared.

Wil made dinner last night and wanted to have a man’s dinner for him and his friend, so made bone-in ribeye steaks. I decided to do tofu for my protein, and got to break out this new tofu press that I was sent to review from TofuXpress.com. This thing is AMAZING. You put your tofu in it and leave it for 1-3 hours, and it presses out all the liquid and makes a huge difference in texture with the tofu. It tastes more meaty and a little firmer with all the liquid gone, and its seriously something you should think about getting if you eat tofu a lot like I do.

You put the tofu in the bottom, and then place the top part down which has a spring that pushes against the tofu. The liquid from the tofu gathers and you just pour it out once its done pressing. Check out the difference in the pressed v. nonpressed tofu:

Obviously the pressed tofu is on the right, but what a difference! I used to wrap my tofu in paper towels and put it between two plates, which works well if you don’t frequently eat tofu, but if you eat it pretty regularly like me I think its an investment worth making. The paper towel/plate technique doesn’t take out nearly as much liquid as the press does, and it really changes the whole texture of the tofu. It makes it so much easier to prepare because it stays together really easily when you flip it over.

I rubbed my tofu in a dry rub spice mixture before grilling it on a grill pan (before the steak was cooked ;)).

The dry rub was actually made a few weeks ago and had cumin, hot paprika, salt, pepper and a few other things that neither Wil nor I could remember. My finished plate, eaten out on the balcony:

Iceberg salad with blue cheese crumbles and farm fresh tomatoes, farm fresh green beans boiled and then sauteed with a little balsamic, 1/2 a baked sweet potato, and the grilled tofu. SO delicious!

Breakfast today was super light because I just wasn’t hungry… a coffee with some skim milk (.5 pts) and a banana (1.5 pts). Lunch was some leftovers, reworked. I had the other half of the sweet potato (1.5 pts) with 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt). I decided to change it up a bit today and added 1/3 cup frozen corn kernels (.5 pts) and the rest of the tomato to the beans and put the whole mixture over the sweet potato.

I also had the rest of the green beans in a little balsamic on the side (0 pts).

And then, a fuji apple (1 pt) for dessert, my favorite kind!

What’s your favorite kind of apple? Do you eat tofu a lot? If so, what’s your favorite way to prepare it?

16 Responses

  1. Wow! That press is imPRESSive (hardy har har)

  2. Actually, I remember a WW recipe in one of their older cookbooks for an Italian tofu recipe. It was amazing, and the tofu tasted like ricotta. I only made it once, and now I can’t find the recipe. Its amazing how well tofu lends itself to different tastes.

    I’m going through some sort of weird anti-apple phase. I think I’ve eaten so many over the years, I’m apple-ed-out, and need a break. That an pears. However, if I have to eat an apple, I go for the green ones!

  3. Looks like you’ve eaten lots of good veggies today!

    I’m really weird and picky when it comes to apples. I don’t like really green apples because they are too sour/tart and I don’t like really red apples because they are too mealy – they need to be crisp! I definitely like fujis – generally, I only buy apples that are two colors because they fit all of my criteria! haha

    Tofu intimidates me, so I have never really tried cooking with it – I do order it at restaurants a lot though. I’m weird, I really need to get over that.

  4. I love apples and am a bit of an apple snob… I grew up in Central NY about 10 minutes from an apple orchard, so I love NYS apples. My favorite apple is Macoun… They are so tasty and sweet and very versatile – perfect for both eating and baking!

  5. Wow that really does make a different! I also used a plate and paper towel and then usually prop my balsamic bottle on top.

  6. I’m with happywhennothungry, as I’m also an apple snob, but of the Minnesota variety 🙂 Therefore I’m all about the Honeycrisp! Sweet, crisp, juicy! Love em!

    I love tofu in my stir fry with a little peanut sauce, it’s like the perfect combo!

  7. I LOVE Granny Smith Apples – but also enjoy a nice crisp and sweet pink lady!

    I’m not a tofu person, though I should give it a go 🙂

    Your hummus looks delightful! 🙂

  8. I like smoked tofu, but regular tofu is too gritty for me. I like the smooth texture of the pressed smoked, so I bet your dinner was delish! It sure did look good!

  9. I love the “southwestern” lunch you’ve got going on. I never get tired of it!

  10. I love tart apples like macintosh or granny smiths.

    Tofu = nofu for me. I keep trying it thinking I will change my mind, but nope.

  11. I’m all about the Pink Lady apples. I need an apple that is a bit tart.

  12. Isn’t it a great sore feeling though? It’s the “I ran 9 miles” soreness. 🙂

    I don’t eat tofu much (unless it’s at a restaurant). Besides that I don’t know how to really prepare it, my boyfriend won’t eat soy products. I’d rather not make two different dinners.

  13. I love braeburn apples!

  14. I have probably 4 or 5 recipes using tofu that I want to try, but I just have not had the chance to yet. Since I cook so much for kids I hate cooking a separate meal for myself with tofu. So I have them saved back for an evening that the kids are with their Dad.

  15. I have been eying that press for awhile, I think I need to just bite the bullet and buy one!

  16. WOW! I am really gonna have to get one of those things!

Leave a Reply

