• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Confession

Sardines used to scare me big time. I’ve seen them all over the blogworld lately (namely on Kath’s blog) and last night, when I was throwing together my lunch for today, I prepped everything for tuna salad to discover that I was totally out of canned tuna. Might have been a good idea to check that first, but that’s another story for another day. What I did find was a can of sardines in the depths of my fridge that was somehow still good until August 2012.

That can of sardines had just 140 calories, 7 grams of fat, and packed a whopping 19 grams of protein. How could I say no?

To make myself feel better about the whole thing, I did a little research on sardines to find out just what the health benefits were. Here’s what I found:

  • Sardines have a high concentration of Omega 3 fatty acids and are one of the best sources of Omega 3’s, surpassed only by a few fish, including Salmon.
  • It’s better to get your Omega 3’s from sardines than salmon since they are smaller and there’s less of a chance of toxin accumulation – like mercury.
  • Good source of Vitamin D, which is found in very few foods in such a high amount as in Sardines.
  • Also a good source of Vitamin B12, Vitamin B3, calcium, protein, tryptophan, selenium and phosphorus
  • Sardines contain no carbs, so blood sugar remains stable.
  • Sardines are cheap, convenient, and portable.

For my sardine salad, I added 1 can of sardines (3 points), chopped celery (0 pts), chopped cucumbers (0 pts) 1 tbsp of Olive Oil Mayo (1 pt) and some salt and pepper.

I mixed it all together and there you have it.

Sardine Salad.

I had the sardine salad (4 points) on top of a bed of sprouts (0 pts) in a flatout wrap (1 pt):

And ate it with some cucumber spears and celery sticks.

Verdict? I actually LOVED the wrap! I really like tuna, and the “fishiness” is pretty similar to tuna. The flavor was great and it left me so full and satisfied.

What about you? Have you tried sardines ? Would you or not so much?

18 Responses

  1. you went where I could never go.

    ’nuff said.

    🙂

  2. see, i actually hate canned tuna…i’d much rather have fresh fish than canned any day. but if i HAD to try it i would 🙂

  3. wowwwwww im glad u tried them! im still a little freaked by them. but that wrap does look good……. you brave, brave girl.

  4. Hmmmm don’t know if I could get over my fear. Sardines are ok in caesar salad but as a meal….? Not sure… 🙂

  5. I like sardines because of the saltiness and texture they add to whatever dish you’re making. They are similar to capers in that way. Thanks for sharing this!

  6. Sardines creep me out – i have friends who can eat whole fish straight from the can! Aren’t they covered in little hairs? That would be my biggest problem. haha

  7. I am in the pro-sardine minority! This wrap looks delicious – I’m just glad I didn’t smell it 🙂

  8. I tried sardines for the first time a couple of weeks ago (also inspired by Kath) and was pleasantly surprised that I liked them. I love seafood, but typically don’t like canned fish.

    I need to try your recipe, thanks for posting it!

  9. The only way I eat fish is in sushi form! I know its odd but I can’t stand cooked fish. I really wouldn’t be able to do the sardines. They scare me. I admit it. LOL

  10. Um, they still scare me!

  11. I NEED to try sardines…Kath’s vid inspired me as well 🙂

  12. I just can’t do it. I can barely get down tuna at times, so sardines are about 100 years off. 😀

  13. Haha! No way! You’re mighty brave. My hubby eats a can a week, but the smell and the way they lie in the tin has always throwed me off. I’m kinda happy I got over tuna, ’cause I can ignore sardines pretty effortlessly, even though I know they’re nutrition loaded. Your wrap looks pretty beautiful, though!

  14. Eek sardines still scare me…

  15. I’ve never tried it and I often think to myself that I never would. BUT I also never thought I would eat blended up spinach with bananas. Or chia seeds. Or savory oats.

    I need to try this and THEN I can turn my nose up if needed. 😉

  16. I really like sardines too! I’m surprised you found the fishiness similar to tuna. I actually find them MUCH fishier.

    …but that’s what I like about them. They actually taste like fish!

Leave a Reply

