• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

No Excuses.

6:45am. My alarm goes off and I, not surprisingly, press snooze. 6:55am. It goes off again and I show it, by pressing snooze yet again. 7:05am the alarm goes off for a third time and my boyfriend grumbles something to the effect of get up or turn it off. Begrudgingly I force myself out of bed and into my running clothes that I set out the night before. With my eyes barely open I navigate through the dark into the kitchen, fill up my CamelBak, and chug a glass of water. I eat three Powerbar Gel Blasts (65 calories or 1 pt) before heading towards the door to grab my ipod.

I fumble with the ipod but it won’t budge, and realize that it is completely dead. I panic for a second, and then realize I can listen to Pandora on my phone instead, so grab my phone and head out the door before I find another excuse not to go at all. I walk down to the trail, turn on my Garmin, and the “Battery Low” message flashes across the display screen. I grumble under my breath for a few seconds and then set off, realizing that I know the trail so well by now that I know where to turn around for any run from 2 – 6 miles almost to a T. No excuses.

During the run, my mood lifts considerably and I start to actually enjoy myself. The weather is perfect – around 68º, cool, and not humid in the slightest. Before I know it, I’m at the 2 mile mark and I turn around and head back towards the entrance of the trail. I had looked at the time – 7:24 – on my Garmin just before I started running, and I found someone within a minute or two of finishing my run to ask the time. 8:04. So just under 40 minutes for right around 4 miles. Success. I headed back inside feeling about a million times better than when I left. I’m so glad I didn’t let the excuses get the best of me this morning.

Now that I have a tofu press, I’m kind of obsessed with all things tofu. I know it’ll fade, but I’m riding the wave while it lasts. 🙂 This morning I decided to try scrambled tofu, which I’d heard much about but never personally tried. I actually got all the ingredients ready and prepped last night so it would be a breeze to throw together after this morning’s run. I did sort of a Mexican twist on the scramble and loaded it with red onions, black beans, corn, edamame, salsa, and lime and it was awesome! I started by sauteeing the onion for a bit to get it soft and then added the block of tofu.

I broke the tofu up with a spatula while mixing it around with the onion, and then added the rest of the ingredients and kept it on the stove until they were heated through. I garnished it with a dollop of salsa and a lime wedge.

In the mix:

  • 1.5 servings extra-firm tofu, pressed (2 pts)
  • 1/3 cup chopped red onion (0 pts)
  • 1/4 cup black beans (.5 pts)
  • 1/3 cup frozen organic corn kernels (.5 pts)
  • 1/4 cup shelled edamame (1 pt)
  • 2 tbsp salsa (0 pts)
  • lime wedge (0 pts)
  • salt and pepper (0 pts)

This scramble was awesome! I sort of zoned out for a second and thought I was eating scrambled eggs – its pretty similar in texture and taste. I’ve heard a lot of people add tumeric to give the scramble a yellow color so it actually looks like eggs but I didn’t have any on hand. This was super filling and a perfect combo of protein (tofu and beans), carbs (corn!) and deliciousness.

How did you start your day today?

11 Responses

  1. Nice work on still getting the run in! I’ve been going strong on AM workouts, too (hey- 2 for 2 is still pretty good… lol).

    Loving the scramble! I’ve learned that breaking out of my oatmeal routine from time to time is a good thing, too.

  2. Very Inspiring… Have you ever considered Rowing? I think you would love it.. just a hunch.

  3. Scrambled tofu?! That is fantastic. Definitely going to give that a try! I love my tofu xpress too. It works wonders!

  4. I love tofu!! I’m eating it right now in my salad as we speak. I love the lack of humidity we’re having, I hope it stays. Enjoy running outside while you can.

  5. I snooze every single morning as many times as possible. My boyfriend has learned to just ignore it.

  6. I started with 20 day shred… level 2!

  7. Shoot! You really told those excuses off, that’s awesome! and the tofu scramble looks so good. Tofu as chicken is kinda hard to hide, but tofu as eggs is sooo perfect! Great idea to whoever thought to add turmeric to get some egg color 🙂

    I started my day with oats, amazing, overly decorated bad boys. They have yet to get old, seriously I’m in love!

Leave a Reply

