• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sometimes You Just Need…

… pizza.

Last night I had a major hankering for pizza, so I went with it. There’s this new place called zpizza that dropped a menu under my door several weeks ago and I’ve been wanting to try it ever since.  From the website, “zpizza was founded in the art colony of Laguna Beach, California, where creativity and craftsmanship have flourished for almost a century. So it comes as no surprise that our critically acclaimed pizza is a true Laguna original. A passion for great food is why we start with dough made from 100% organic wheat flour prepared fresh every day, hand-thrown and fire-baked until uniquely crisp. Our zest for quality continues when the toppings go on. We combine select ingredients using award-winning skim mozzarella from Wisconsin, certified organic tomato sauce, MSG-free pepperoni, additive-free sausage, and fresh produce. Our gourmet salads and sandwiches are just as delicious.”

So naturally, I was drawn to it. We ordered two small (10″ pizzas) and a salad, to share.

The two flavors I picked out were the Napoli (homemade roasted garlic sauce, mozzarella, fresh rounds of tomato, parmesan, and fresh basil) and the Tuscan (homemade roasted garlic sauce, mozzarella, Cremini, Shittaki, and Button mushrooms, carmelized onions, feta, truffle oil, and fresh thyme). The pizza was a little cold when it arrived, so in retrospect it would have made sense to heat it up but we were so hungry and wasted no time diving in. To balance out the pizzas, we also ordered a Pear and Gorgonzola Salad with mixed greens, pears, Gorgonzola, and candied walnuts.

The salad was awesome, and both the pizzas were cold even if not up to par temperature wise. The Tuscan pizza was the better of the two with lots of fresh mushrooms and delicious flavor from the truffle oil. I will defintiely order from here again, I’ll probably just have the oven ready when it arrives so I can throw it in there to warm it up. Leftovers for lunch today, so we’ll see how it tastes hot. 🙂

… to take a day off from planned exercise.

I had a 4 miler scheduled for this morning, but when I woke up, I was feeling stressed because I had a lot of last minute packing to do. Whenever I workout in the morning, its always a very rushed situation because I’m inevitably running behind, so have to shower, throw together lunch, and get out the door before even taking a second to sit down. So this morning, I still got up when my alarm went off but decided to just take a shower, take my time getting my suitcase together, and have a cup of coffee before taking off to work. It felt great.

… a green smoothie for breakfast.

I was trying to think of what to have this morning and knew I needed a boost, so when a green smoothie came to mind, I happily obliged.

This was AWESOMEEEEE. In the mix:

  • 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1 small frozen banana (1 pt)
  • 2/3 cup frozen mango (1 pt)
  • 2 handfuls spinach (0 pts)
  • 1 scoop Vega Chocolate (1 pt)

This combo was delicious and gave me such a boost as I was drinking it. 4 servings of fruits and veggies, plus lots of protein from the milk and the Vega mix? YES PLEASE! Yum.

… to get away for the weekend.

I am NYC bound TONIGHT! My sister is going to a wedding in Montreal, so my mom and I are babysitting my niece and nephew for the weekend. I haven’t seen them since Easter (!!!!) so I cannot wait to spend time with my babies!!! Plus, it’ll be nice to spend some one-on-one time with my mom, which never seems to happen anymore. I leave tonight on a flight and then come back late Sunday afternoon, so it’ll be a nice trip. Cross your fingers for me that my travels go smoothly because I’ve heard nightmare stories about flying from DC to NYC on the shuttle and I’ve never done it before…

What are some things you just need from time to time?

29 Responses

  1. I love your post today, Beth.

    You’re absolutely right….sometimes you do need pizza, a break from exercise, and a weekend away. Life is all about balance, after all.

    And I feel like I need pizza about twice a week, haha.

    Have a great time in NYC. I wish I was going there because for some reason I’m really craving a sesame bagel with cream cheese and lox. And there are no DECENT bagels in Richmond.

  2. have a great trip!!
    and p.s. now I am craving pizza 🙂
    Also we should meet up when you get back for a hair iron hand off

  3. Am I a bad person for not noticing the header until now? Seriously… I’m on this site everyday…

    Enjoy your trip! And yes, sometimes you just need a break from it all to relax (and enjoy pizza!). Mental health can be important, too! 🙂

  4. That pizza looks good.. I need to find a fun pizza shop by me so I can indulge in it more! I would be more likely to order it if I could get some WW crust and fresh veggies.

    Have a fab time in NYC!

  5. I love pizza and both of those pizzas sound amazing!! Good for you that you ordered and enjoyed them!

    I love your new logo at the top of the website. It looks great and I think the branding is wonderful, considering you are happy with where you are at, weight-wise and fitness wise!

  6. Sometimes you need to take a break from exercising and enjoy some good pizza! I usually like a big bowl of unhealthy pasta and a couple glasses of wine to de-stress. Enjoy NYC and your fam!

  7. Mmm pizza. Get some in New York too! NYC pizza always knocks my socks off every time. But that pizza you have there looks really great! Natural and organic always sits so much better on your stomach doesn’t it? I wish I could get some like that in Dallas…

    First time reader by the way :] Have a good time in NYC and take lots of fabulous pictures!!!

  8. Good for you for slowing down this morning! That is never an easy thing to do when you feel like you have to fit it all in. It can be so enjoyable to just go a little slower and enjoy your morning and coffee. 🙂

    Have fun this weekend!

  9. Have fun this weekend, weather is supposed to be great! I’ve had Z pizza, they have a bunch in Orange County, CA where my parents live. I like it and yes, definitely sometimes pizza is just what you need.

  10. Pizza is a good one. And “junk food” like nachos or french fries. Just once in awhile!

  11. Mmm, that pizza looks good. If you are going to splurge, you need to splurge right!

  12. Maybe I am a nerd but… what’s Vega chocolate??

  13. First off, i Love z pizza! Try to chicken sausage arugula rustica..unless you are vegetarian..are you? Sometimes I just need to sit in front of the t.v. and watch it for hours on end. Heck..that happens a lot!

    • I eat fish but no meat. That chicken sausage pizza does sound delicious and probably would have been my first choice a year ago!

  14. Sometimes i just need bread, and lots of it!

  15. The pizzas and especially the salad look amazing, especially for delivery! I have a feeling I will be trying that out very soon!

    Have a great trip!

  16. Pizza! It was just that kind of week…I know!

    How exciting that you get to babysit! Quality time!

  17. Oh man! I’d love to find a pizza joint that made their crust with whole wheat flour, and all those heart-friendly topping! A year or so ago, Pizza Hut announced a new whole wheat pizza, and my hubby and I walked into a store asking them about the “oh-so-famous-fella” and the guy was the bearer of bad news and said don’t make it anymore.

    I was sad.

    But homemade always rocks my boat 1billion times more.

    Have an awesome trip with the wee-kiddos!

  18. Hope your flight went well today! I am in search of the perfect in the DC metro area, but you’re the second person I’ve heard talk about zpizza so I’m obviously going to have to check that place out.

  19. I have to have pizza every now and then. It’s just so good! I’m glad you found a new pizza place. It’s so hard to find a good one.

  20. You couldn’t be more right. Sometimes you just need these things!! My thing I just need pretty much all the time is to sleep in! I just rarely get to do so with an early job and a puppy with a small bladder hahaha.

    PS – kudos on the mobile site! I’m viewing on my iPhone right now and your blog comes across great!! I’m gonna have to figure out how to do this… 🙂

  21. pizza and rest days are DEFINITELY needed.

    Sometimes I just need a massage 🙂

  22. Trashy magazines. And pedicures. Ideally, together.

  23. Your pizzas looked great but so did your green smoothie. Enjoy your time with your sis.

  24. pa-pa-pa-PIZZA!
    i think from time to time i need a huge bowl of oven roasted sweet potatoes.. and for an indulgence id say a baked treat like a chocolate chip muffin or an apple fritter ❤

    also massages and a 'sit at home and watch show online/do nothing' day 🙂

  25. That pizza looks so good!!

    I definitely have to take a break from exercise every now and then…and I’m always amazed by how excited I get at the prospect of working out after a few days off!

Leave a Reply

