• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back on Track

What better way is there to get back on track from an indulgent long weekend than with outdoor yoga!? The Crystal City BID has been offering free outdoor yoga at the water park at 7am on Mondays for most of the summer. I am on their mailing list and get weekly reminders about it, but somehow have been unable to make the 7am Monday class work… until today! Understand that I literally had no excuse to miss this – its free, its literally right outside my apartment building, I’ve been trying to do more yoga lately, and it works with my schedule.

My alarm went off at 6:45 and for a second I almost turned it off, but then I remembered my weekend and thoughts of NY pizza, peanut butter crackers, and cheddar bunnies ran around my head. I quickly ditched the snooze idea, got up, brushed my teeth, got dressed, grabbed my yoga mat and headed out the door. The water park has this gorgeous fountain with little plots of green all around, and the instructor stood in the middle of one of the green rounds and all the people taking the class spread out around her. Not gonna lie – it was a little tough to hear her because the fountains were pretty loud and there were definitely a few times when I zoned out in a pose and looked up and everyone was doing something different than me so I had to change gears quickly.

That said, it was an amazing experience and perfect way to start the week. The hour itself was a bit more challenging than I was expecting – I definitely broke a sweat (I sweat a lot btw) but it was great to stretch and get my heart beating first thing. The weather was perfect and I walked away literally feeling like a million bucks.

After taking a quick shower I headed into work and have been feeling great all day. For breakfast, I made the Vega Shake n Go as the package suggests – by mixing it with 1/2 cup of water (they suggested 1/2 cup – 1 cup). I added a few ice cubes and brought it to work in a mason jar and it was good!

It doesn’t look like much, but it was actually quite filling (8-9 grams of protein and 3-4 grams of fiber and just 1 point on WW). It tasted kind of similar to Carnation Instant Breakfast, but was strangely satisfying. I never was big into those shakes but they remind me of my childhood. It’s good to know I can just mix this stuff in with water and have a satisfying boost with minimal effort. I was going to have something else for breakfast but the day got away from me and when I looked up it was already after 12.

I’ve been really into making lettuce-less chopped salads lately with whatever fresh veggies I have on hand.

This had:

  • 1/2 cup chickpeas, drained (1 pt)
  • 1/2 summer squash, chopped (0 pts)
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped (0 pts)
  • 1/2 tomato, chopped (0 pts)
  • 1 tsp olive oil (1 pt)
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar (0 pts)

I served it on a bed of arugula (0 pts) with two pickles (0 pts)

Plus a flatout wrap toasted (1 pt).

These toast up really well if you haven’t tried them, and are pretty large for just 1 pt. I used it to scoop up the chickpea salad and they worked perfect.

So only 3 points for that huge plate of food and it was goooooood! I realize I’m running super low on points today (I’ve only had 4 and my target is 23!) so I’ll probably have some extra snacks this afternoon which is a-ok with me! 🙂

I’m setting some mini goals for myself this week since I haven’t done that in a while. They are:

1.) Work out at least 5 times (4 to go!). I have now taken almost a full week off from exercise (last Tuesday was the last time!) which is fine, but I need to get back on track!

2.) Get in a long run (10 – 11 miles). I was supposed to do 10 this past weekend and didn’t get around to it since I was babysitting for my niece/nephew. I need to get one in this week even though I’m traveling yet again this coming weekend!

3.) Cook every single meal this week. No ordering in or eating out! Since Wednesday evening I have ordered out every night with the exception of Thursday night when my sister cooked… I need to get back to preparing my own meals. It makes me feel a lot better, saves me money, and allows me to load up on fruits and veggies!

4.) Drink More Water. I go back and forth on drinking a lot of water and not drinking enough, and have been slacking on this lately, so need to get back to it. I have my Athenos water bottle (HLS swag) that is about 4 cups (32 oz) or maybe a bit less, but I want to drink at least two of those each day at work and then more at home.

What are your goals for this week? What’s your favorite way to get back on track after an indulgent weekend/week/month?

11 Responses

  1. Much like you, I jump back on track first thing on Monday morning and enjoy a healthy breakfast as I pack my well-balanced lunch.

  2. That salad looks so good! The best thing for me when I’m getting things back in order is to get in a good sweat session right away and just fall back into my normal habits.

  3. Starting tonight, I’m going to try and plan out all my meals ahead of time. I’ve been so busy lately, I haven’t been very good about it. I also need to eat more veggies and fruits.

  4. I love the mini weekly goals! What a great way to make you feel accomplished, and actually staying connected to the week, instead of it just flying by with nothing to show for

  5. I love outdoor yoga! Its such a different experience. Makes you appreciate the outdoors and the fresh air.

  6. Your lunch looks fab.. all of my favorite things: veggies, carbs and pickles!

    Good luck on your mini goals, I love setting goals at the beginning of the week!

  7. Glad you had a super yoga experience !!

  8. That salad looks so seriously amazing!! I want my lunches to be that gorgeous! outdoor yoga sounds so relaxing and fun, I’d love to find something like that in my city, it’d be amazing.

  9. Outdoor yoga! What fun!

  10. My goals are pretty simple for this week: RELAX and RECOVER from Hood to Coast. 🙂

  11. […] this morning, I woke up early for free outdoor yoga! I only got to do this one other time even though it is pretty much right outside my apartment. Just when 6:45 on Monday rolls around, my […]

Leave a Reply

