• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

NYC Weekend Recap!

My weekend with my niece and nephew was SO FUN. It did, however, make me realize a few things. First, I am not ready for kids. I was so exhausted at the end of every day I could barely move, and you never get a second to be in a bad mood or pee with no one watching. Second, showering moves far down your priority list when kids enter the picture. I only took one shower during my time in NYC (tmi?). Exercise also moves far down the list of priorities, while snacking moves way up. Though I was much more active (ie going to the park every day instead of  sitting at my desk), I didn’t get out to do my scheduled 10 mile run during any of the three full days I was there. Many, many props to all you moms out there! 🙂

That said, my niece, Claire, and nephew, Ben, are SO adorable. Claire will be 3 on Thursday, and Ben is just 9 months. They couldn’t be more different in their personalities, but are so damn cute when they interact. Here’s a few pictures from the weekend.

Claire, Ben, and Me getting ready to head out…

To the WaterPark!

That is the waterpark area of a free public park in Brooklyn. I was blown away with how nice the park was for a public park with free admission! There was a huge swing area, sand area, and regular playground area as well, all separated by gates – so nice!

The next day at the park 2 blocks from their house on the swings.

Me and Claire!

Claire doing WiiFit… perhaps the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

And then Ben, with a halo that I made for him. 🙂

He really is the sweetest little boy. All weekend he’d cry a little bit, race over for me to pick him up, plop his thumb in his mouth, and be as content as could be sitting on my hip sucking his thumb. Love.

So as for healthy living, it was pretty much out the door. The first day, we walked a little over 2 miles round trip to the water park, and then got outside for shorter walks both the other days. I was definitely more active than I am at home running around with the kids and playing, but I didn’t get any formal exercise while I was there.And then with eating, it was all indulgent. I realize that I do not do well being home all day and having constant access to the kitchen.

I tried to start the days off well with oatmeal for breakfast…

With PB and some trail mix on Friday.

With PB and a honeycrisp apple on Saturday.

Besides breakfast though, there was tons of snacking and lots of pasta/carbs/pizza and not much fruit or vegetables. But, it was only 3 days and I honestly was looking forward to getting back into my routine on my trip home. I did get to see Leah, one of my best friend’s from college.

We went out and got a glass of wine, and picked up a pizza to bring home. The three of us DEVOURED this entire thing:

Unreal. Fresh mozzarella, sauce, basil, green peppers and tomatoes…. Thin crust, enormous (20″ I believe!) but soooooooooo good. That made pizza 3x in 48 hours but it was totally worth it.

But now, back to work and back to reality!

How was your weekend!? Any highlights?

10 Responses

  1. Your niece and nephew are so adorable! It looks like Claire is taking after her aunt with the yoga as well!

  2. Looks like you had a great time! I don’t know how moms balance everything either…kids are exhausting!

  3. Seems like you had a great trip!! And back to reality…but wow, does that pizza look amazing!! Is it bad that I’m drooling at 10:30 in the am?

  4. Too cute! And yeah- no kids yet for this chica either! I don’t know how people do it… lol

    Pizza is delicious. Three times in a weekend is like a blessing. 🙂

  5. I didn’t think I was ready for kids either… But when it happens you just find the strength and change your priorities. I have to either exercise at 5 AM or after my son’s bedtime. It isn’t easy- especially since I am a single mom but you can still be healthy!

  6. omg that picture of her doing Wii fit is absolutely adorable! I’m 36 and still not ready to have kids. I like my sleep and freedom too much 😉

  7. That kiddie yoga is ADORABLE! 🙂

  8. Aww…Wii never looked so cute! I think it is awesome that you got to spend some time with the kids and do a little babysitting. Those kids=cuuuute!

  9. Where is that pizza from?? Looks like you had a great time with the kiddies, they’re adorable. I love that video games have made exercising fun and easy!!!

Leave a Reply

