• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Easy Baked Tofu and September Goals

Thanks for all the words of encouragement on this morning’s post where i mentioned I was feeling a little overwhelmed. Sometimes, it’s hard to say no but necessary.

Moving along! I made this AMAZING tofu recipe last night and just had leftovers for lunch and it was delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 block of extra firm tofu
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger

Directions:

  • Wrap tofu in paper towels and place between two plates with something heavy on top to press OR use your Tofu Xpress to press the tofu.
  • Mix together honey, soy sauce, garlic, and ginger for the marinade.
  • Cut the block of tofu into strips once its pressed and add the marinade
  • Let sit for 30 minutes – 1 hour
  • Bake at 400º for 30 minutes, turning the tofu sticks everyone 8-10 minutes to brown on all sides

That is it! This turned out to be the BEST tofu I’ve ever made, hands down. And the marinade is so simple, but SO flavorful, and only 1 point for the entire batch. You don’t have to wait for it to marinade if you’re not feeling particularly patient, but the flavor really soaks in if you let it.

Last night, I had the tofu with green beans and balsamic and some red potatoes.

For the green beans, I boiled them in water for 3 minutes, drained them, and then added them back to the pan with some balsamic vinegar for flavor. The potatoes were cut up and boiled, and then topped with some plain yogurt, salt, and pepper.

Today’s lunch was leftover tofu, green beans, and couscous (from Monday night).

2/3 cup couscous (2 pts), green beans (0 pts), and tofu (2 pts). Mmmmm.

I also had some pickles on the side (0 pts) for good measure.

And now, for September Goals!!

1.) Complete my Half Marathon on September 19th – I am so excited/nervous about this, and I honestly cannot BELIEVE I am going to be running a half marathon 2 weeks from Sunday. Never in my life did I think I’d engage in running voluntarily, and never did I expect to come anywhere close to 13.1 miles.

2.) Limit Meals Out – With all the traveling, I have been eating out and ordering in far too much. I think it’s a nice treat for me, but can’t be a regular thing. So far, I’m half way through the work week and have prepared every breakfast, lunch, and dinner so far. I want to try to eat out 1-2 times a week MAXIMUM, and even less if I can help it, especially with being away for my half marathon (its in Philly) and then my conference at the end of the month, where all my meals will be eaten out.

3.) Get to Goal Weight – I had originally wanted to get to goal by tomorrow’s weigh in, but unfortunately, this weekend watching the kids moved me in the opposite direction. I have 5 Thursday Weigh-Ins for September, and I would love love love to be at goal by the end so that I can become Lifetime at Weight Watchers in 2010.

4.) Limit Trivial Spending – I want to be more conscious of my spending, and stop wasting money buying coffee (I’ve started bring it to work from home!), snacks, treats, frozen yogurt, random chachkis that I don’t need, etc. Anything I buy in September I want to consciously think about and make sure I need it before spending the money.

So those are 4 pretty huge goals, but I feel pretty confident I can achieve them. I’m going to keep setting weekly goals during September to keep me on track with the larger goals, and hopefully get some exciting results come October.

What are you going to focus on in September?

22 Responses

  1. I think you have great goals and you are going to ROCK your 1/2 marathon!

    Goals for me:
    1. Continue to exercise consistently — follow my schedule
    2. Try new recipes 2-3x per week at a minimum
    3. Stay within food budget each week
    4. Read 2 non fiction books

  2. I’ve never cooked tofu myself before but have wanted to try making it at home. This recipe sounds fantastic! I will definitely be picking up a block on my next grocery store run.

  3. Great goals Beth! I know you can reach your ww goal. I’m hoping to do the same this month.

    I’m pumped to hear about the 1/2. I’m training for my 2nd one – watch out…they’re addicting. 🙂

    • Wow good for you! I hope the addiction bug kicks in but right now I’m kind of dreading my long runs on the weekends… hopefully it’ll pass though and I’ll start loving it again!

  4. Great goals!!! Good luck on your half.

  5. You’ve got great goals… I’m excited for your half marathon!!! 🙂

    I have two main goals.

    1. Keep up the speed intervals (I want to get super speedy for my 15k if I can!)
    2. Keep trying new things for dinner. I did eggplant and my own salad dressing last month… I want to try more!

  6. That marinade sounds wonderful!

    Great goals! I am excited to see your race recap, such a great goal to have and very inspirational!

  7. That is a great marinade, and so versatile! Mine is really similar, but I usually use agave, I bet honey is fantastic!

  8. My number one goal is to sort out my finances. I’m even hauling in the big guns (my boyfriend) to help! I might even create a budget *gulp*. I really need to save more money – and it’s all the little things that count!

    My second goal is to keep up at least 5 classes of hot yoga per week now that I’ve done by 30-day challenge. I don’t want all my hard work during these past 30 days to go to waste!

    My third goal is to make that tofu recipe. ha!

  9. I looove baked tofu! I really need to get myself in gear for some up coming races. I’m supposed to run a 10K at the end of the month, but am no where near ready!

  10. ur half marathon is coming up so fast!! and its on my brothers birthday lol. ur going to have a great experience!! do u feel nervous at all, or mostly excited, im sure it changes a bit when the race gets closer huh.

    im going to go ahead and guess that this is going to be a FABULOUS month for you. good luck on your goals.

  11. Hi, first time commenter (long time reader). I just wanted to say that I tried this recipe last night and it absolutely rocked! Linking your post for my readers so that they check it out, and know where the delicious recommendation came from. Thank you 🙂

  12. Half marathon?! Awesome, girl!!

    My goals? Keep up with my Couch to k5 training and try new recipes 🙂

  13. Your half is coming up so soon! I’ll be focusing on my marathon training! I’m in the home stretch

  14. GOOD LUCK on the Half!!!

  15. Go Beth I am sure you will achieve all your goals this month! I am totally with you on number 4 – I realized I have been spending a ton on Starbucks and frozen yogurt lately! I think I go to get coffee or fro yo just as an excuse to get out of the office for a couple minutes, so now I am trying to just take walks as a break and not buy anything…let me know if you want to join!

  16. I definitely will try your tofu recipe, sounds perfect and easy. I love your Sept goals, mine are very similar. I need to get my act together and shed some pounds while upping my runs. Good luck on the half, you’re going to rock it!

  17. […] What you see here is some chopped cucumber, red pepper slices, a plum, banana, carrots, oatmeal, corn/tomato salad and 3 tofu sticks. I roasted up tofu last night using my new tofu press and Beth’s recipe here. […]

  18. […] I came up with several new recipes, including 4 Ingredient Breakfast Casserole, Breakfast Couscous, Easy Baked Tofu, and one below! I hadn’t shared new recipes with you guys in a while so that was definitely a […]

  19. […] tofu is awesome and very similar to last week’s baked tofu recipe, but has almond butter instead of honey in the marinade. You could easily make this with peanut […]

Leave a Reply

