• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Overwhelmed

First day of September… how is that possible?!

August and September have been/are going to extremely busy months for me. In August, I had my best friend’s wedding, the Healthy Living Summit, a weekend off, and then traveled to watch my niece and nephew this past weekend. For September, I’m supposed to go to my niece’s 3rd birthday party in NYC the first weekend, have a friend visiting the second weekend, have my half marathon in Philly the 3rd weekend, and then my big annual conference the last weekend. And then, somehow it will be October. All of the weekend traveling coupled with the intensity of work as we prepare for our biggest event of the year has me feeling a bit overwhelmed. OK, maybe more than a bit.

As hard as this is for me to do, I’ve decided not to go to NYC this weekend for my niece’s birthday party. I just spent the whole weekend with them this past weekend, and I could really, really use a break from traveling and just take some time to myself to relax. I know a lot of you are in similar boats and that having stuff going on almost every weekend is the norm, but I’ve just been feeling really stressed out and like I’m going to burst lately. I’m really sad I’m going to miss this weekend because my niece is the cutest and I’d love to see my fam, but I think sometimes you have to look at all the things you have going on and figure out what you can cut out if it’s too much to juggle.

Now that I’ve already told my family I’m not coming this weekend, it feels like a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. I am so excited to have a 3 day weekend at home and not feel pressure to fit a 10/11 mile run in while in NY or before we leave or after we get back. I think this weekend is going to leave me feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the upcoming things I have coming – including the conference for work and my half marathon.

Yesterday, I ended up having to leave work early because I had sharp, shooting stomach pains. I have no idea if it’s something I ate (which would be weird because it was leftovers from the night before) or just stress, but I went home around 3:45 and laid down for a few hours.  After a while, the stomach pains passed and I ended up making an awesome dinner – the best tofu I have EVER made/eaten, which I will share with you at lunch because I have leftovers to eat!

Breakfast this morning was sort of random, but turned out great! I took 1 and a half corn tortillas (365 brand from Whole Foods) and put them in the toaster (1 pt). They got crispy and very tortilla chip like, and while those were toasting up, I scrambled an egg (2 pts) with some water and added 2 sliced roma tomatoes to the pan. Once that was all scrambled up, I added a slice of RF Sargento Provolone Cheese (1 pt) and put it on top of the tortillas. I added a little bit of microgreens for color, and dug in!

It took about 5 minutes to throw together, and turned out so good! I haven’t been having very filling breakfasts lately so it felt great to get something good in my stomach to start the day. This whole plate was 4 points and really delicious and filling.

Do you ever have to cancel plans to free up your schedule a bit? How do you juggle all the commitments you have going on in your personal/professional life?

10 Responses

  1. It’s so hard to juggle all your commitments especially when you’re traveling a lot. Family expects you to visit often and when you get married, you have to juggle two families and two different places to travel to. We are traveling so much in September (literally every weekend) that we’ve decided to change our 1-year anniversary plans so we won’t have to travel again! That is kind of sad… it’s def good to know when to just say NO! Enjoy your long weekend!

  2. Definitely been there. And as much as it sucks to not do something you want to go do, I’m sure your body and stress levels will thank you!

    I have no idea how my weekends always start to slowly fill up. I start the beginning of the week with a nice, restful weekend of nothing. By Friday, I’ve got something going on every single day of it! Aaaahhh!

  3. Wow girl, you’re so busy! I’m so excited for your half marathon, when people run those it inspires me so much I can’t stand it. One day maybe I’ll tackle those 13 miles 🙂 And sorry about the awful stomach pains, but glad you felt better after some rest + some awesome tofu!

    Have a great weekend, enjoy the rest!!

  4. I’m a big fan of knowing when to say “no”. It stinks having to miss out sometimes, but you know your body and what it needs. Right now you need some rest from traveling! I am sure your family understands. 🙂

  5. I know what you mean – during the summer I was going nonstop and started to feel really stressed and overwhelmed in every aspect of my life. I didn’t realize it’s because I was so busy and never home on the weekends (even though I was doing fun stuff a lot of the time). I did think I was going to burst into a million pieces at one point. Once I finally realized the problem and had a couple of days of down time I was like a new person. Sometimes you just have to say no – and that’s okay!

  6. We have to advocate for our own needs and I think its great you are giving yourself a break this weekend. You certainly sound like you need it! And your family knows you care for them so no worries.

  7. It is hard to say no sometimes, but think about whether you would be very good company if you went and were all stressed out. Family gets disappointed sometimes, but your mental health and sanity is what *you* need to take care of.

  8. I totally know what you mean when you said a huge weight came off after canceling your trip. I had to do that with a family trip last year! Sometimes we have to put ourselves first!

  9. I fully understand how you’re feeling. My summer had been nonstop craziness. I’m exhausted. I’m definitely going to take a break for awhile!

  10. Sometimes the hardest thing to do is acknowledge that it is ok to cut back on your obligations and to move forward with lightening your load a bit.

    Sounds like the weekend will be a great way to recharge.

Leave a Reply

