• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Breakfast Couscous and CSA Day

Hiya!

Setting the goal of cooking all my meals at home this week has been an awesome decision. I was sort of in a rut with creative cooking, even though experimenting in the kitchen is one of my favorite things to do. It’s forced me look in my cabinets a bit more and try out some new creative recipes instead of just picking up the phone and ordering in. I’m so glad you guys liked the Easy Baked Tofu recipe! It looks like some of you have tried or and several of you want to try it, so please let me know how it turns out!

This morning’s breakfast was an experiment that turned out really well! I’m always curious to try out new grains other than just plain old oats (which I LOVE) so today I decided to give couscous a try for breakfast. It turns out more like a breakfast pilaf than a hot cereal like oatmeal or oatbran, so expect it to be a little dried than regular oats. The milk and honey added at the end make it more moist and the flavor is just awesome. Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of milk of choice, divided (I used light soy) (.5 pts)
  • 1/4 cup dry couscous (3 pts)
  • cinnamon to taste
  • 1/2 tbsp honey (.5 pts)
  • 1 small banana (1 pt)

Directions:

  • Add 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp of milk to a pot with a generous sprinkling of cinnamon and bring to a boil.
  • Add dry couscous to boiling liquid, remove from heat, cover, and let sit for 5 minutes.
  • Transfer cooked couscous into a bowl and top with sliced banana, the rest of the milk and the honey.
  • ENJOY!

Yum! You can do lots of variations on this like adding raisins or other dried fruit along with the dry couscous. If you want it to be a little “wetter” like regular oats, you can use more milk in the pan, and you can also top it with any kind of fruit or spices you have on hand to mix it up. Couscous is great because it cooks so fast, so I was able to make this while I through together my lunch and timing worked out perfectly.

Thursday is also CSA Day! I loooove having a CSA, and it seriously brightens up my whole week. Monday night I get excited because Tuesday morning I wake up with an email from my CSA saying what will be in the box that week. So Tuesday and Wednesday I’m looking forward to picking it up, and then Thursday is the day to get it. All weekend I have tons of fresh fruit and veggies, and then its Monday and time to get excited for the next week’s box. I totally understand how cheesy that sounds, I just love fruits and veggies, especially when they’re as fresh as these!

In the box this week:

  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 1 bag of green beans
  • 1 pattypan squash
  • 1 japanese eggplant
  • 1 baby zucchini
  • 2 baby squash
  • 1 bag concord grapes
  • 3 apples
  • 3 peaches
  • 2 little tomatoes
  • 6 asian pears

This week was an awesome box! I am so excited that Asian Pears are in there – they are one my favorites. I wasted no time and had 2 little asian pears (0 points!!!) when I got to work.

Lunch was a simple Taco-ish Mexican Salad.

In the mix:

  • 3 small corn tortillas, toasted (2 points)
  • organic microgreens
  • 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt)
  • 1 babybel light cheese (1 pt)
  • 1/4 medium avocado (2 pts)
  • Salsa

On the side, I had a jicama slaw that I threw together last night.

I julienned a whole jicama with myย mandolin, and then added 2 tsp olive oil (2 pts), 2 tbsp white vinegar, 2 cloves chopped garlic, salt, and pepper. Half of the salad was 1 point and it was TASTY. I have had this jicama in my kitchen for months and apparently they have a long shelf life. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunch was great and literally took 5 minutes to throw together… 7 points total plus 5 for breakfast, so 12 for the day.

Are you ready for fall? What are you looking forward to most? I can’t wait for the cooler weather to run in, plus I loooove apples, asian pears, and other fall fruits and veggies. DC humidity is pretty killer, so I’m ready to part with that, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

20 Responses

  1. I am definitely ready for the fall! I love the cooler weather and I love cooking/baking with apples, squash, and pumpkin!

    • How could I forget PUMPKIN! I can’t wait until my beloved canned Libby’s is back. Maybe I’ll even experiment with fresh pumpkin this year… TBD! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I have to admit that I never look forward to fall. I love summer SO MUCH! However, today it’s 91 in boston, and when I was blow drying my hair, and sweating my face off as I put on makeup… I started really look forward to days where I am not sweating to death while getting ready for work.
    I love apple picking, apple cider, pumpkin carving and halloween ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’ve never considered eating couscous for breakfast. Was it just like oatmeal?

  4. I too was surprised with your breakfast couscous, how was that?

  5. Love the CSA box, what a great idea! =)

  6. Can’t wait to join a CSA! I’m excited for all things fall – fotoball, pumpkin, pies. etc!

  7. I used to eat couscous all the time – loved how fast it cooked. I’m make the Far East brand curried flavor and add cinnamon, toasted almonds, and dates. Loved it! Forget all about my couscous phase – thanks for the reminder. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You scored big time with your CSA bounty this week, and yes, I’m so excited about fall. I love scarves. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Ooo – I have all the ingredients for breakfast couscous, I’m going to try it tomorrow! It sounds delicious =)

  9. oooh I had no idea that you could use couscous as a breakfast dish!!!

  10. Which CSA do you subscribe to? I’d like to find one for next spring but haven’t had a chance to do much research.

  11. I am so looking forward to cooler weather, pumpkin and winter squash!

  12. I’m so ready for cooler temperatures!

  13. i love new breakfast ideas! thanks for sharing your recipe. and i am also ready for fall. the leaves are gorgeous and the weather is cooler. it makes me want to cook big pots of soup and bake muffins. yumyum!

  14. I’d be excited for a CSA pickup too! I love Japanese Eggplants — how they look, I’ve never tasted them!

    Couscous for breakfast sounds great — thanks for sharing the recipe!

  15. […] and toast;-) breakfast. I found this couscous recipe on Beths@BethsJourney. The couscous with cinnamon and raisins was very tasty. ย I think I will use more milk next time, I like mine mushy!! ย The next picture was […]

Leave a Reply

