• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Trigger Foods

TGIF! I am so excited for this long weekend and just staying put and relaxing! Because I cancelled my plans to travel to NYC so last minute, I didn’t even have a chance to make any plans so I cannot WAIT to just kick back and see where the weekend goes. The only thing on my schedule is a 10-11 mile run. eek.

So dinner last night was… dark chocolate peanut butter. I literally had about 4 servings (~700 calories worth) straight from the jar. I don’t know what comes over me with this stuff, but I cannot control myself around it. I originally was just going to eat a spoonful before my run, but then 1 turned into 2 turned into the rest of the jar. ugh. the only semi saving grace was that I went for a 33 minute power walk afterwards and covered 2.3 miles and burned ~199 calories. I was actually going to go run 5 miles but my stomach felt really off from the copious amount of peanut butter that I binged on, so I just power walked instead.

It felt really good to just power walk for once… I definitely think I need to incorporate power walking into my cross training because after I was done I felt like I could keep going forever and just felt so good. Lately my runs have been making me feel really defeated, especially the long ones, so to be left with that feeling after exercise was awesome.

Since I missed my run last night, I set my alarm for 6:45am to go for a 5 miler this morning. When my alarm went off, I thought I pressed “snooze” but actually pressed “dismiss”. In my half-conscious state I was completely appreciating the longevity of the snooze press… until I looked at the alarm and it was 7:40. Crap. I ended up realizing I had no time for a run, but did have time for the Shred… so I did it. I hadn’t done the Shred in ages and I always forget what an awesome workout it is. I did Level 1 and my quads are already feeling so sore.

The only good thing that came out of eating my weight in peanut butter last night was oats in a jar this morning

Last night I added:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (2 pts)
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk (.5 pts)
  • 1 scoop chocolate Vega Shake n Go (1 pt)

This morning I added 1 sliced medium banana (1.5 pts) to the mix

Because I practically cleaned the jar, I’m guessing there was only about 1 tsp left in there (.5 pts) so 6 total for this OIAJ.

Do you have trigger foods, and if so, what are they? Do you allow them in the house and practice restraint or just keep them out of your house? I am not going to be buying dark chocolate peanut butter for some time, even though I love it. This jar didn’t even last me 2 weeks and was consumed in 3-4 sittings (standings, really). Some of my other trigger foods are pizza, chips and salsa, cheese and crackers, and nachos. With those things, I allow myself to have them occasionally or make healthier versions at home, but also tend to have them in the house only for special occasions rather than all the time.

28 Responses

  1. Beth,

    As you know from my posts, I can totally relate! I definitely have trigger foods–such as ice cream, pizza, and nuttella.

    Congrats for going on the walk and getting some exercise yesterday and this morning! I think that shows the tremendous amount of progress you’ve made in becoming a healthier person.

    Honestly, I’m not sure what the solution is to those “trigger foods,” but I think the best, albeit short term, solution is to not keep it in the house.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Omg, I’ve been putting that chocolate shake mix into my oatmeal and it’s fanstastic! I’m not a shake/smoothie person, so I’m glad I found another way to use it…

    I’m sort of crazy when it comes to peanut butter, too (clearly- ha ha). But I think my worst trigger foods are ice cream and cookies. A big reason why I don’t keep ice cream in the house (and make it a special thing by going out and paying $6 a scoop or whatnot). Also another big reason why I don’t bake more (or go into baking as a part-time gig). I love baking so much, but if I don’t seriously watch myself and consciously think about it, I spend the evening baking and then laying on the couch with a serious stomach ache afterwards. It’s awful. So when I do bake (like the next couple weekends), I enjoy it one night and then get it out of the house as soon as possible!

  3. I definitely have trigger foods: ice cream, trail mix, and any sort of nuts. While nuts and trail mix are good for you in moderation, numerous handfuls are not. You definitely need to treat yourself once in a while because then you will be more prone to binge. Have a relaxing weekend!

  4. Yesterday I did not pack a big enough lunch so when I got home I ate the remaining half of a bag of pirate’s booty. I would say salty snack foods are my trigger foods because I often times cannot stop at a reasonable serving. I know I shouldn’t allow them in the house, but sometimes I can’t resist at the grocery store. Pizza is also hard for me, so I try to make healthier versions because if I get delivery I could eat half a pie!
    Good luck on your long run this weekend! I’m out of town till Sunday, but maybe we can meet up Monday for some exercise or eats, and a iron hand-off.

  5. Sweets do nothing for me, but if I have pretzels, Cheez-Its or potato chips, all bets are off!

    And I agree – a power walk every now and again feels good! I plan on walking a 4 mile trail near my house tomorrow – its very hilly and just getting the fresh air makes you feel so alive.

    Happy Friday!

  6. Peanut butter is a big one for me. I had to go out and buy the Jif To Go cups because I can easily eat a jar of peanut butter within 2 weeks!

    Also, pizza!! We ordered the Domino’s special – 2 mediums for $10.99. I got a thin crust with black olives and spinach and I killed pretty much the whole thing. Needless to say, my husband was shocked!

    Also, during certain times of the month, I need salt! The saltier the better.

  7. Sweets are definitely my trigger. I can’t keep them in the house or they’ll be gone. I keep Smart Ones singler serving desserts and that works really well. Awesome portion control but it’s the real thing.

  8. Its very easy to overeat on that pb–its that delicious.

    Mine used to be PB, Cereal, any sweets–but I am getting so much better and foods dont trigger me anymore.

  9. Ice cream — I can easily take down one of those half gallon containers single handedly in just a couple of days. I also have no control around tortilla chips and salsa. (Or just tortilla chips in general.)

    We don’t really keep any snacks around our house because every once in a while I will go on a binging craze on finish off pretty much every open bag of anything. My stomach always kills me afterward, but it’s like something else is controlling the hand-to-mouth action. I find it’s just easier to keep all snack foods out of the house and just treat myself once in a while.

  10. Ice cream – the weird thing is that I don’t even really like it that much! But, if I have it at the house, it just seems perfect to have a bowl in the evening. I just don’t keep it at the house.

  11. Thank you for sharing this Beth. It is nice to know that other people sometimes succumb to the food trigger battle. My food triggers are ice cream, chips, and cookies. If they are in my house.. I cannot rest easy until I have eaten all of it. But, you made lemons into lemonade with your fab breakfast!

  12. Chips and salsa/guac (or really ANY kind of chip) is my biggest weakness. If there’s an open bag anywhere near me I eat and eat and eat and eat and eat. We keep the bags on top of the fridge now (we ALWAYS have tortilla chips in the house) and it’s slightly above my head so I can’t see them…which means I avoid them. But as soon as they come down I’m in trouble! I’ve never had chocolate peanut butter but I bet I’d eat the whole thing from a spoon in no time!

    Looks like you needed the extra rest this morning! Power walks certainly are great – I went through a whole race season power walking once and saw some of my BEST improvements ever! Good to have a low impact workout on the street every now and then too!

    Hope you have a wonderful and relaxing weekend!

  13. Oh my gosh, I just did the same binge on a jar of PB&co. cinnamon raisin last week. They must put crack in all their nut butters or something! Besides PB, my other major trigger foods are CHIPS, CHIPS, CHIPS. Also any other salty/carby thing in a box. I think part of the reason is because it’s just so easy to eat multiple servings and not stop. It’s hard to not keep this stuff in the house because my husband likes to have chips and stuff in his lunches. The only way I can really avoid it is just to never start. I’m an all-or-nothing person unfortunately!

  14. Normally any kind of munchy food is my trigger. Mostly chips, chips and salsa..etc. I would prefer to not have them around at all or I will eat them.

    Let me just say I am obsessed with this exact same dark chocolate peanut butter. I have a jar at work and several at home. Its pretty bad! I don’t get too out of hand with it besides incorporating it in as many meals as humanly possible lol.

  15. i actually was going to buy that peanut butter but i decided not to and im so happy i didnt because i dont think im strong enough to portion that out either! i stick to the single serve packs that give me more control and i just think it makes my whole mentality feel at ease when i have things already pre-served.. otherwise there is no self-filter on my judgement of serving sizes

    my main triggers are potato chips, chocolate bars and sugary cereals.. oh and popcorn.

    XOXO

  16. Oooh yeah. Cereal and chips are big ones for me. I keep one box of cereal in the house at a time, and make sure it’s a healthful one.

  17. I definitely have trigger foods…pizza and ice cream are biggies. UGH. I try not to have them in the house because I WILL eat them all. 😦

    Sorry about your chocolate peanut butter dinner. 😉 We’ve all been there. At least you have a long weekend to try and work it off!

  18. Beth, I totally understand it being hard to stop eating the dark choc. dreams! What’s even harder is if you freeze it and then eat it..O.M.G.! Soo good! I froze it in 1Tbsp drops on wax paper in a tupperware container and it was divine:). Too good actually!!

    I would say chips and salsa are really hard for me to stop eating, so I try and not buy it too often. If I do buy chips I try to at least buy ones that are healthier like pop chips or Food Should Taste Good chips:). Then I don’t feel as bad if I eat the entire bag..lol!

  19. Beth,

    So glad you wrote about this. It’s important to know we all dive into our cravings sometimes. I do this too (sometimes too much!!) I love chips and salsa and cheese and crackers and puppy chow (do you know what that is? mmm)… Why we do this – I’m not sure…I would probably bet since you’ve been on WW – you don’t do this as much as you used to do…Stay strong and enjoy yourself this weekend!!

  20. OMG I’ve done that before which is why I don’t always keep peanut butter in my apartment. I’ll go for one spoonful then next thing I know the jar is gone. I’ve found that taking a spoonful then closing the lid and putting the jar away before eating the spoonful helps prevent other spoonfuls. But sometimes I just get this overwhelming urge to finish the freaking jar 😦

    Don’t beat yourself up too badly because it just makes it worse!

  21. Dark chocolate dreams is my biggest weakness too. I think I have you beat – I once finished a jar in a week. By myself. I literally put it on everything. It’s too good.
    I think it’s smart to try to mostly keep trigger foods out of the house (that’s why I only buy it once in awhile). Good luck with your long run this weekend!

  22. I have those same exact trigger foods!

    I realized a little while back that I am just not at that point in my process yet where it is a good idea to have those foods in the house. It becomes too easy for me to reach for them, so I just don’t keep them around.

  23. Peanut butter is really the only food I struggle with and sometimes I even have to either not buy it or just buy the single serving packets because it is just deadly for me! I guess the only good thing about my marathon training is that I have an excuse to eat copious amounts!

  24. Looks like a great breakfast!

  25. I can’t buy PB & Co b/c then I can’t stop myself. But at least you still did some exercise after and not just bag it.

  26. Those oats look insanely good! See, sometimes a little loco binging brings good things! Power walk and OIAJ 🙂 My trigger is usually kashi golean cereal straight from bag, to my hand, to my mouth. No big deal usually, except I have days where it happens RIGHT after dinner. Unneccesary, much? haha, well… we’re human beings!

  27. […] one treat a day. I think planning for a small splurge helps me keep on track. Perhaps I won’t eat chocolate peanut butter for dinner if I do […]

Leave a Reply

