• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Longest Run Ever!!!

How’s everyones Labor Day weekend going so far? Mine is amazing. As sad as I am that I missed my neice’s 3rd birthday party yesterday, I am really taking advantage of the weekend home and not traveling. Both nights I have watched movies, gone to bed early, gotten 8+ hours of sleep, and haven’t had a drop of alcohol. I already feel so well rested and still have another day left!

Friday night I ended up going on a bike ride after work to loosen up. It’s crazy how much Level 1 of the Shred kicks my ass… I seriously was SO sore all day Friday and woke up yesterday incredibly stiff. I ended up doing around 12 miles on the bike in just under an hour and felt good. Sometimes a bike ride or a walk can be the best thing for stiff muscles, and it definitely helped me loosen up a bit.

Saturday I woke up with one thing on my mind… a long run. I wanted to get it over with early in the weekend so I didn’t have it hanging over my head, and yesterday’s weather was GORGEOUS. It was in the mid to upper 70s, breezy, and just amazing. I had an egg sammie about 1.5 hours before I set out.

With a pan fried egg (2 pts) and a slice of RF Provolone (1 pt) on a toasted arnold thin (1 pt), smothered with Frank’s Red Hot. Mmm. I also had a huge glass of water, and then another small glass before setting out with my CamelBak full.

I went on a long loop instead of going into the path and back out like I have done for almost all my long runs as of late. I went all the way down the Mount Vernon Trail, into Rosslyn, over the key bridge, through georgetown, through downtown, and then back down 15th by the Jefferson, over another bridge, and then back onto the Mount Vernon Trail. The run itself felt WONDERFUL. I finally feel confident about the half marathon now that my longest run (ever!) went really well. Here are the stats:

Distance: 10.7 miles

Duration: 1hr48min47sec

Avg. Pace: 10:10 min/mile

Avg. Speed: 5.9 mph

Calories: 1264

The weather was perfect, which I’m sure played a huge role in how great the run felt. I ate a bag of Sports Beans (100 calories or 2 pts) around mile 6.5 which gave me a great boost for the second half of the run. I’m so proud of myself!!!! 🙂

When I got home, I had a frozen smoothie waiting for me.

Which had 1 cup of light soy milk (1 pt), 1 frozen banana (1.5 pts), 2 handfuls of spinach (0 pts), 1 cup of frozen mango (1 pt) and 1 scoop of Vega Shake-n-Go Chocolate (1 pt). I swear that frozen smoothies are THE BEST post run fuel. So easy to stomach and soooo delicious.

After the smoothie I took a nice long bath to soak my muscles a bit, and then threw together a yogurt bowl.

1/2 cup greek yogurt (1 pt), 1/3 cup Uncle Sam’s Cereal (free sample – 1 pt), 1/4 cup granola (1 pt), and 1 peach (1 pt). The bowl was awesome, but to be honest, I didn’t love the Uncle Sam’s cereal. It worked fine in this bowl because it added a nice crunch, but it doesn’t have too much flavor. I want to experiment a little bit with it before giving it my final review, but this was just so-so.

Afterwards I went into the city to hang out with my friend Lianne, and we got some fro yo.

Plain tart frozen yogurt with strawberries, bananas, and chocolate chips… Mmmmmmm.

Wil made us dinner which was out of this world! Fresh veggie stirfry with okra, corn, onions, eggplant, zucchini, and patty pan squash, all from the Farmer’s Market and the CSA. He threw some shrimp in there too and served it over whole wheat couscous… unreal.

I am off to play cornhole!!!! I am so excited. I will be back later with a recap and to show you my new corn hole boards (!!!)

How is your weekend? What’s the best thing you’ve done so far?

8 Responses

  1. Congrats on the run! It’s been so amazing this weekend it seems impossible not to have a great time outside. I went for an awesome solo bike ride early this morning, it was the first time I felt like I had my pace down and could really enjoy what I was doing.

  2. Congrats on the awesome 10-miler, you’re amazing! And goodness gracious that veg. stir-fry looks so delicious! I love how stir-fries have NO boundaries, you can add everything in your fridge and it always turns out deliciously.

    Weekend: we’re going to Mt.Rainier tomorrow and I’m so stoked! Hiking almost never happens ’cause we’re mad busy and never make time for it, ahh but to just hang out atop a mountain is absolutely divine 🙂

  3. Gotta looooooooove Fro-Yo!
    Congrats on the 10-miler, girl!
    😀

  4. That is an amazing run! I did an 11 mile long run as my longest run leading up to my first 1/2 marathon and felt plenty prepared. You are such a strong runner and very inspirational to me! Saturday must have been a great running vibe day b/c I tackled my 8 mile long run and felt the same feelings you described.

    Congrats on such an accomplishment! You deserved that Fro-Yo!!

  5. I still giggle at the name of the game being corn hole. he he he…

    I’m glad you’re having a great weekend!

  6. Congrats on such an awesome run!! Sounds like you are having a great weekend!

    My husband and I went to visit my family in another part of the state. There has been lots of good food and football watching. We just got home last night and have one final day of relaxing!! I’m trying to catch up on my google reader while he is sleeping hehe =)

  7. Beth what a great run! You should be so proud! And your prerun and post run meals look very delicious and refreshing. Way to go!

  8. Great job on your run!! Isn’t reaching a personal distance record the best feeling? And great pace!!

Leave a Reply

