• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Labor Day Cornhole Competition

Hi! I hope you are enjoying your Labor Day… it is another gorgeous day here in DC and I have NO plans and cannot wait to see what the day brings. Staying home this weekend was the best decision I’ve made in a while… I feel so refreshed and relaxed even though the weekend has been a bit action packed… it’s all been fun!

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you might remember the first time I ever played cornhole when I was traveling to Minneapolis for work. I wrote about the game and how amazingly fun it was, and shortly after, Dave from www.cornhole-game.org contacted me to see if I’d be interested in receiving a cornhole set of my own! I almost freaked out because I had loved the game so much in Minneapolis so I was thrilled to be offered my own set in exchange for writing it up on my blog. The site is awesome and has tons of different cornhole sets, boards, bags, and pretty much anything you could ever need to play. They have a great set on there with the boards and bags for $99.99 right on the front page, and if you live somewhere you can set the game up, I highly recommend getting a set because its SO fun.

I’ve had the set since July, but because I have been traveling basically every single weekend, yesterday was the first time I’ve been able to play! Wil and I got together with our friends Amber and Mike and had such a fun day full of drinks, snacks, good company, and cornhole on the roof!

The view from their roof is incredible – overlooking the Watergate and basically the whole city.

We ended up playing 3 games… girls v. boys, couple v. couple, and then mike and I against Amber and Wil. Unfortunately, I lost EVERY SINGLE GAME I PLAYED, and I tend to get highly competitive so I wasn’t very pleased… but, it was still a blast and I can’t wait to play again!

The boards themselves were really easy to transport back down to the apartment once we were done, and also super easy to set up. We were nervous about where to set the game up when I first got it, but now I realize we can also play up on our roof! The boards will just sit in our extra closet until we’re ready to play and Wil is now a total cornhole convert. When I first got them and tried to explain how fun the game was, he was like yeah, yeah… but then yesterday when we played, he did NOT want to stop and kept shouting out how much he loves cornhole. He’s cool like that. 😉

We had to stop though, because we had an amazing meal to go to with our friends Rachel and Andrew, the ones who got married a month ago tomorrow! Since Wil bought his car from Andrew and he helped get us a great deal on it, we wanted to treat them to a dinner out at one of the restaurants Wil works at, so we took them to LIA’S. It was such an awesome meal and we had great service and got to sit outside on the patio in the gorgeous weather. Onto the good stuff, the food!

Seared scallop over chickpea salad with balsamic reduction.

Lobster Rolls!

Meatball Sliders… Not for me!

Calamari

Fattoush Salad

Wild Mushroom Pizza

Crabcakes

Dessert Sampler with Classic Tiramisu, Dark Chocolate Espresso Tart, Chocolate Chip Cannoli, and Strawberries!

My mouth is watering looking back over these pictures. Incredible meal!

What’s your favorite outdoor game? I pretty much love all games, but cornhole definitely takes the cake, with horseshoes as a close second.. both new-to-me games that I’ve played for the first time this summer!

7 Responses

  1. We played cornhole a lot in college, but our favorite was always Horseballs! Some people call it Snakes, but clearly Horseballs is more fun to say…

  2. Happy Labor Day! Hope you have an amazing day.

  3. oh my – what fun in the sun!

  4. ah! i love that game! i live in minnesota and you can hardly go to a summer outdoor party without someone busting it out. i have even seen a video game version and some bars in the area. glad you are bringing it to DC!

  5. That’s cool! I’ve never heard of that game but it looks like fun (and easy to make on your own too!)!

  6. ::drool:: That food looks amaaaaazing! Glad you got to enjoy this amazing weather here in DC this weekend!

  7. […] Labor Day Cornhole Competition […]

Leave a Reply

