• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Impromptu Labor Day Get Together

Happy Tuesday evening! I hope everyone who was back to work/school today enjoyed it as much as possible. To be honest, work is so busy right now that the day FLEW by and it wasn’t even that bad. In fact, I’ve been trying to go outside for a walk every day just to get out and move and because to me its not fair that only smokers get 1o minute breaks here and there, so by the time I realized I needed a walk it was already 4pm!

After getting home and doing some cleaning up from last night’s impromptu party, I ended up going out for a run. The run was awesome when it was over, but it was a real struggle to get started. I ate a banana with 1 tsp of PB (2 points total… I found out that 1 tsp is only .5 points, so 2 teaspoons is 1 point! very exciting discovery) and loaded up my CamelBak before heading up. My garmin loaded up a little quicker than I was hoping for, and I was off. Right away I started to doubt myself and felt like the run might be a bad one, but then I practiced some positive self-talk and focused on the first half of the run – 2.5 miles. It was there before I knew it, so I turned around, and while I was VERY tempted to take a walking break during the last mile, I’m proud to report that I trucked through and didn’t take a single walking break!

Distance: 5.11 miles

Duration: 49:27 minutes

Avg. Pace: 9:41 min/mile

Avg. Speed: 6.2 mph

Calories: 593

For me recently, that was FAST. I was really happy when the run was over and sat down and stretched for a few with a smile on my face.

Now let’s rewind a bit to yesterday’s impromptu gathering. (I would say party but there was only 6 of us total and I felt lame when I wrote party so I changed my mind). I had been in talks with a few friends about possibly playing cornhole but the day was sort of getting away from me and Wil and I had just given in to be lazy and hanging out (though I did do Level 2 of the Shred during a moment of motivation). Then my friend Lianne texted me and said she was going to come over and bring stuff to grill with a few friends, so I went with it and ran out and got some veggies and shrimp (I knew she’d bring meat and some other veggies).

I ended up picking up a 12 pack of Corona Light with limes, zucchini and yellow squash, shrimp, and some cantaloupe. They brought over burgers, buns, chips, guacamole ingredients, strawberries, bananas, and dark chocolate for dessert. Wil took over the veggies and marinated them in balsamic, olive oil, salt, pepper, and Garlic Gold Italian Herb Nuggets (he LOVES all of the Garlic Gold products, btw). While he was busy cooking up the veggies and making some couscous, Lianne and I went down and cooked up the burgers and the shrimp, and the other girls made the guacamole.

Then it was time to cheers!

And eat!

Canteloupe, Guacamole, and Grilled Veggies

Burgers, Shrimp, and Potato Salad

My Plate

And then it was time for cornhole!

Fortunately, yesterday I won both games I played (as opposed to losing all three the day before!)

Here’s a picture of all the girls goofing off around the cornhole…

And check out how gorgeous the sky looked while we were playing.

Ahhh, amazing.

I’ve already used the leftovers to make two meals… lunch and dinner today.

Lunch was couscous, shrimp, and veggies.

1/3 cup couscous (1 pt), 3 oz shrimp (2 pts), and 1 cup of veggies (1 pt from the oil). Not a terribly exciting use of the leftovers, but it was delicious.

Dinner was slightly more exciting. I heated up some of the veggies (1 pt) with a slice of RF provolone cheese (1 pt), and served it over some alfalfa sprouts on a toasted Arnold Sandwich Thin (1 pt).

Mmmm sooo good. Pretty simple but the veggies were so flavorful so this sandwich felt super indulgent even though it wasn’t! I had it with a serving of Rold Gold Cheddar Pretzel Twists and it literally took 3 minutes to assemble. Score!

Are you good about using up leftovers or do you tend to waste them (or not make enough for leftovers!)? Do you usually rework them or just eat ’em straight up?

11 Responses

  1. OMG- give me those shrimp NOW!! 🙂 Yum!

    And I love me some cornhole, too! Especially if I can play while looking at that skyline- gorgeous!

    Glad to see the impromptu party was a success 🙂

  2. I try not to make enough to have a lot of left overs, which is almost impossible when cooking for one. I’m really terrible about using them up.

  3. I love leftovers and often time make hodgepodge creations out of them where I just throw them all together.

    My husband walked by the computer while I was reading this post and was quite impressed by your dinner last night – haha, think it made him hungry for a big dinner. 🙂

  4. Omigoodness, your get-together spread looked scrumptious! But so did your left overs! I’m jealous! I had like two hard boiled eggs for dinner 😛 I usually try to have left overs and eat them as is the next day.

  5. Looks like an impromptu get together turned into an excellent meal! Cornhole is so much fun but I am TERRIBLE – I probably would have thrown all of the bags off of the roof!

    My husband and I are having a cornhole obstacle course in a few weekends – goofy cornhole is much more my style!

  6. Wow! For an impromtu dinner I would have to say you have a scrumptious looking spread there!

    I’ve never even heard of cornhole, but it looks so fun!

  7. I always like to rework my leftovers! I usually just make enough for one meal, but it never hurts to plan ahead!

  8. Your run distance and lack of walking breaks inspire me. I keep taking walking breaks on my 5K’s…and they’re 2 miles shorter! 😉

  9. I’m terrible when it comes to leftovers. I usually forget to eat them, so P takes care of them.

  10. I am not real great with using the leftovers. I am trying to get better, but sometimes I can’t figure out how to make it work!

  11. Looks like you had a great time! Lots of yummy eats too. Mmm…

Leave a Reply

