• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Creeper at the Gym

So, I have some exciting news to share. Do you remember how when I was in Chicago at the Healthy Living Summit they had that make your own cream cheese bar sponsored by Thomas’ Bagel Thins? Well, they were collecting recipes for a contest to see who came up with the best recipe, and here’s a picture of mine:

Cream Cheese

It had:

  • Thomas Everything Bagel Thin
  • Low Fat Cream Cheese
  • Smoked Salmon
  • Capers
  • Red Onions
  • Scallions
  • Sea Salt

And, I just got notified that I am the grand prize winner of the recipe contest!! I am SO happy because I had honestly totally forgotten about the contest, so when I got that email I nearly shrieked. I’ll be sure to show you the goods when they arrive next week, but I’m told I’ll be getting a $250 Crate and Barrel Gift Certificate, an orange ipod nano, a toaster, gourmet coffee, a mug, a breakfast plate, and of course, lots of Thomas Bagel Thins! I am SO excited.. I don’t think I’ve ever won anything before!

So in far less exciting and much more creeperish news, I had the strangest experience last night at the gym. The other day when my girlfriends came over to play cornhole, I showed them around the gym since we went up on the roof and the gym is on the same floor. I noticed they had removed the TVs that were attached to each machine (and didn’t always work) and put up new flat screens on the walls and it looked GOOD. So when yesterday was a cross training day, I decided to go upstairs to check it out. I had a mini Cliff bar (2 pts) before heading up

CliffBar

These mini cliff bars are AWESOME and perfect pre-workout fuel. I got on the elliptical for an hour, and had a great workout. I ended up burning ~575 calories and covered just under 9 miles in the 60 minutes. There was an older man there, I’d say between 55-65, who was on one of the bikes next to me. He was being really nice so I thought he was just a nice old man, but then after he was done with the bike, he stayed and watched the TV I had on (which is fine, they’re up on the wall). But then he kept trying to talk to me while I was still on the elliptical, and then was following me around the gym when I got done. I went over to throw out the wipes after cleaning the elliptical and the garbage happens to be by the door, and he followed me over.

After I turned around to head back into the gym, he said, “Oh, you’re not done?” And I said I’m going to do some stretching…… creepy. Then he said, Ok, well do you want to come over when you’re done?!?! WHAT!?! I said “No thanks” and walked away and stood in another room in the gym until he was gone…. SOOOOO creepy! And the worst part is he lives in my building. ick ick ick.

On a more positive note, I made an awesome dinner last night (new tofu recipe!) that I will share after lunch since I’m having leftovers, but this morning I had a Sweet Potato for breakfast!! I baked some up while I was cooking the tofu last night, and this morning all I wanted was one of them, so I went with it and it was delicious!

BreakfastSweetPotato

The baked sweet potato (3 pts) was topped with 1/4 cup of greek yogurt (.5 pts) and 1/2 tbsp maple syrup (.5 pts) for a total of 4. It was SO delicious and I would have used some toasted walnuts, pecans, or almonds if I had some, but I did not. You could also use almond butter or peanut butter on here, or honey instead of maple syrup. Sooooo tasty and hit the spot!

Do you ever have non traditional breakfast foods for breakfast?

32 Responses

  1. Ew yuck, I feel grossed out just imagining it. 😦 Sorry he lives in the same building as you! At my old gym, there were a lot of creepy older guys that were trying to pick up women all the time. My gym now is mostly just young, busy professional types that just get in, workout, shower, go home/work. I love this.

  2. Yipes! What a weirdo.

    I never have non-breakfast food for breakfast, but I love having breakfast for dinner! Last night after a walk with a girlfriend that’s just what I did!

  3. Beth-will you come be my persoal chef? Your food always looks so good!

    and ew to the creeper-what the heck?!!

  4. Yea for winning! And that’s a great prize! Arnold’s is pretty much awesome… as is your winning cream cheese… 🙂

  5. Congratulations on the win! Is it one of the new nanos? They look amazing! (Obviously any kind of free nano is an awesome one though.) And what a weirdo. “Do you want to come over when you’re done?” Seriously???

    • I have no idea what kind of nano it is! They said i should receive the loot next week and i promise to post pictures! And I know, it was SO creepy!

  6. Congrats on the big win! How exciting.

    Do you go to the gym at the same time everyday? You might want to change it up from now on. EW!

  7. Congrats on your winning recipe, you made out like a bandit!

    Watch for the creepster! Hopefully you won’t have another run-in with him, blech!

  8. OMG, that is SO creepy! I would seriously be cautious because if he lives in your building, maybe he knows where you live and maybe he watches you? Ick ick ick! I’m just saying…be extra careful and vary your routine! I wouldn’t want to hear about another encounter with creepo!!

    I never stray to dinner for breakfast type foods. I LOVE breakfast foods so when breakfast comes around…it’s all I want!

  9. Congratulations!

  10. EEEEW! Creepy! Be safe!!

  11. 1 – Sorry about the gym creeper! I teach group exercise and sometimes I feel that gives people the impression we are all BFFs outside of class, and I get a lot of weird comments!

    2 – I have always been non traditional with food! Eat what you want when you want it for sure!

  12. Congrats on your bagel contest win! That is awesome!

    And sorry about the creepy guy, that kind of stuff gives me the Heeby Geebies.

  13. That is wicked sketchy! Hopefully you don’t continue to run into him!

    Congrats on the win that cream cheese sounds delish!

  14. ACK! Why are people such creepsters? That is terribly inappropriate. Ew!

    And congratulations on your win! SO COOL!

  15. Congrats on winning! I need to try some smoked salmon.

    Those creepers. Ugh. Probably harmless, but you just never know….

  16. Your very own creeper! How lovely! Sounds like he was hittin’ on ya!

    Congrats on your win! That is awesome!

  17. Ew! I hope you don’t have to run into him again!! And congrats on the HLS win…that sounds like a sweet prize pack!

  18. Wow, congrats on the win! That is sooo exciting, I would die with happiness if I won anything like that.

    As for the creeper, yuck. What is wrong with people!

    I had to sit on the train for a while and my iPod died so as soon as I put it into my bag a stinky old weird man who was sitting beside me started talking to me. I just gave yes and no answers and obviously did NOT want to talk and yet he talked to me for the next 30 min. Ugh!!

  19. aweee he wanted a friend! lol never trust the “friends” .. they’ll try to lure you with candy LOL… CREEEEEEEEEPPPPER 101

  20. EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

    That is creepy and then some.

    But your cream cheese sounds like deserved winner. Delish! You should sell it!

  21. Oh my goodness, that is so creepy!!!! You should have your boyfriend go with you next time to intimidate him a little bit.

    Congrats on your cream cheese winning! That is so exciting!

  22. Congrats! Such a good combo…we had almost identical recipes. I love cream cheese!

  23. OMG that’s an amazing prize!! Enjoy it girl.

  24. Beth,

    I want you to know I have been very reluctant to try the sweet potato and black beans you always eat, but it is AWESOME! But, how long do you cook your sweet potato in the microwave?

  25. I don’t know about the town, but the gym is mostly gay men. If they’re not gay, the women they would like to pick up probably are. Not a problem. However, my straight boyfriend, on the other hand, gets hit on a bunch.

  26. […] and happy almost-Friday! Last night I went to the gym for the first time since I encountered the creeper there, which was back at the beginning of September! Nuts. I started with 40 minutes on the […]

Leave a Reply

