• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Runner’s High and Delicious Dinner

How is it already Friday!? No complaints here, it’s just crazy…

Last night, I experienced runners high for the first time ever! It really exists! It is so hard to explain and I had heard about it many, many times, but always wondered if it would ever happen to me. I ran home from work, and the weather was just perfect. I felt good the whole time, which rarely, if ever happens lately with me and running. Once I got around the 3 mile mark, something shifted and I started heavily focusing on my surroundings and soaking in the scene. It seemed to be going so fast, and at one point, I literally said to myself “I can do this forever.” Once I got towards the way end, I was almost disappointed that the run was over, and the birds chirping and slight breeze were magnified and it was just an amazing feeling. I seriously felt like I was glowing when I was done and sat outside for a while so I could continue to soak in the scene.

post workout glow

Distance: 4.18

Duration: 38:49.77

Avg Pace: 9:17 (!!!!!!)

Avg Speed: 6.5mph

Calories: 483

I hope that happens to me on race day next Sunday…

My friend Amber was coming over for dinner, so I made 2 special things that were so quick! If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you probably know that I like recipes with as few ingredients as possible, so I made Chili Roasted Cilantro Chickpeas and Chilled Canteloupe Soup.

The Chickpea recipe was inspired by this recipe but with a few modifications. For my version, here’s what you need (serves 2):

  • 1 cup canned chickpeas, rinsed and drained (2 pts)
  • 2 tsp olive oil (2 pts)
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tbsp chopped cilantro

That’s it! Preheat the oven to 400º, toss the chickpeas with the olive oil and then with the chili powder (olive oil first because it helps the spices stick to the chickpeas). Spread out on in a single layer on a greased pan or one lined with aluminum foil and sprayed:

Chickpeas Ready for Oven

Put them in the oven and shake them around every 15 minutes. Mine finished in 45 minutes but they might take a little less or more time depending on your oven.

We ate those chickpeas with some roasted veggies that had been marinating since Sunday since we didn’t cook all the veggies we had prepped for the Impromptu Labor Day Gathering. I threw those in the oven for around 30 minutes and just took them out when the chickpeas were done.

DinnerPlate

The veggies were 1 point for the oil in the marinade, and the chickpeas 2, so only 3 points for that plate! They were SO good. I’ve heard of a ton of other varieties of spices for the chickpeas and can’t wait to try more versions of them. I have heard you have to prepare them and eat them at the same time – no leftovers because they get mushy! Luckily I made just enough…

And then for dessert, we had Chilled Cantaloupe Soup.

Here’s what you need:

SoupIngredients

  • 1/2 large cantaloupe (2 pts)
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1 tbsp honey (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup nonfat yogurt (1 pt)

Directions:

  • Remove seeds and skin from cantaloupe and chop into chunks.
  • Add cantaloupe, the zest and juice from half a lime, and the honey into a blender.

Blender

  • Blend until combined.
  • Add yogurt and blend again quickly until mixed.
  • EAT

CanteloupeSoup

Oh my gosh this soup was AMAZING. I love chilled fruit soups and of course the fact that I only used 4 things in the whole recipe. I could have easily eaten the entire recipe (4 pts) but we each had half so it was 2 points a bowl. This is best made with super ripe cantaloupe that’s very sweet but a little soft. You need no additional liquid to get it blended up since the cantaloupe was so juicy! We had SUCH a great night and lots of good conversation outside on the balcony…

AmberandMe

Have you ever experienced runners high?

Do you like cold soups, hot soups, both, or none? Favorite kinds?

18 Responses

  1. I’ve only experienced the runner’s high a few times, but it is a fabulous feeling!!

  2. Congrats on the runners high! I have not experienced that but I do get one after weight lifting sometimes!

    I love cold soups. Gazpacho is one of my faves. I’m slowly getting into fruit soups. They always look and smell so yummy!

  3. I love runners high! I hardly ever experience it though, but I love it when it does!

    I made roasted chickpeas a few days ago and they were so good! I like the spices you used, sounds delicious!

  4. LOVE the runner’s high. I’ve only had it a few times, but it’s crazy to just get so zoned in like that…

    And roasted chickpeas are awesome. I like them that way on salads. But won’t don’t I like on salads?

  5. Mmmm! I can’t wait to try this recipee! I love chickpeas!

  6. You have been getting faster and faster – you should be really proud of yourself and I know you are going to rock the race.

  7. Beth, I finally went on a run yesterday! After reading so much about your runs I figured it was about time to get back on the exercise bandwagon. Only problem is, my legs hurt so bad today I can barely walk up and down my steps! Guess it’s time to get back into the swing of things!

  8. I want to come over for dinner!!

    I have never had a chilled soup… I do love hot soup though. I have also never experienced a runners high….someday I hope!

  9. I love chilled soups, but my fiancé thinks they are disgusting! Maybe I’ll try yours out and try to convert him! Love the 4 ingredient recipe!

  10. You were speedy! I’ve had runner’s high, it’s usually when I’m done 🙂

  11. YAY!! it looks like the high stayed with you for the day too, well into the night 😉
    for awhile i lost the runners high.. but i recently got it back as well, such a wonderful feeling- hopefully this just means the next time will be similar!!

    xoxo

  12. I get runners high from spinning too and love it! It feels so amazing and makes me uber happy and chipper.

    PS, your face looks so thin in your photos! 🙂

  13. Runners high is addicting! Watch out 😉

  14. Yes, I experienced a runner’s high once. The run started off as a struggle, but suddenly, I felt wonderful … everything felt so easy and like I could go on forever. I ran and ran and ran, way beyond my last PDR, and unfortunately, I guess I went a little too crazy and injured myself in the process. I haven’t been able to REALLY get back into running like I was at that point, but working on it. Can’t wait to feel that high again, but next time, I’ll be sure to stick to the plan and not indulge that feeling too much. 🙂

  15. that picture of you post run – A-frickin-dorable. SO CUTE!

  16. LOVE the runner’s high. I definitely experience it on a frequent basis…or at least, I did when I was running. I miss running!

  17. […] Runner’s High and Delicious Dinner […]

  18. […] much mentally because I’m naturally a pretty anxious person and it helps relieve stress so much. I experienced runner’s high for the first time last week which was seriously the most amazing feeling in the world, and totally […]

Leave a Reply

