• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Best Friends, 12 Miles and a Blogger Meetup!

Hello and happy Saturday! I hope you are enjoying your weekend as much as I am! Though mine is turning out to be quite action packed, its been tons of fun.

Last night, I got to hang out with one of my best friend’s from home (Connecticut) who is in DC for the weekend visiting. She’s not staying with me but I haven’t seen her in over TWO YEARS! It’s crazy how quickly time flies…

We had a few glasses of wine and chatted and munched on pretzels, delicious bean dip, hummus, and wine crackers! No pics, but the wine crackers were these ball shaped crackers that were like a cookie/cracker combo and were so good. Must find! I also got to meet one of Ali’s best friends, Maggie, who was a hoot and really fun to hang out with!

Maggie was also the creator of the delicious bean dip so she gets extra props for that. ๐Ÿ™‚

They all went out to dinner but I decided to go hang out with some other friends and was planning on meeting up with them afterwards but I got tired! It’s kind of sad how much of a grandma I’ve turned into over the past few years… staying up past midnight seems really late to me, and I rarely do it! I’m glad I decided to go home rather than go out though, because this morning I had a 12 miler scheduled…

I was so glad that I made plans with Vera to do the run, because I know thinking about meeting up with her is what got me out of bed this morning. My alarm went off at 8:05am (those extra 5 minutes were crucial…) and as much as I wanted to stay in my bed, I made myself get up so I’d have some time to eat and wake up before our run. For pre-run fuel, I had a toasted Arnold Sandwich Thin – sub style – (1 pt) with 1 tbsp chunky almond butter (2 pts).

Have you seen these new Arnold Thins? Same stats as the round ones, but for some reason they feel so much bigger to me and I am loving them! After eating and drinking some coffee and water, I headed to meet Vera for our run at 9:30am. The run itself was actually wonderful. I LOVE having someone else with me on the long runs because the time just seems to fly by because you’re talking the whole time. I hadn’t seen or run with Vera in a looooong time, so it was nice to catch up. Vera has also become a little speedster since the last time we ran! I thought we’d be going pretty slow from my recollection of our last run, but towards the end I had to sprint to catch up with her!

The only annoying part was that my Garmin died immediately when we set out to run, but fortunately she had one to keep track. The final stats were:

  • Distance: 12.00 miles (!!!!!)
  • Duration: 2 hours 7 minutes 7 seconds
  • Pace: 10:35 min/mile

I was VERY happy with the stats from this run and will be happy to finish my half (one week from tomorrow!) around this pace or a little faster. I felt pretty good for most of the run and really enjoyed having someone to run with! I made a green monster immediately upon getting home.

With 1 cup of almond milk (1 pt), 1 frozen banana (1.5 pts), 2 handfuls of spinach, and 1 scoop of Vega Chocolate Shake & Go (1 pt). It was really refreshing, delicious, and simple. I practically inhaled it.

I had a blogger meet-up to go to that Liz organized this afternoon at Rockcreek Park. It was potluck style, so I decided to make a couscous salad to bring. I cooked 1 cup of dry couscous according to the package directions, and while that was going I chopped up the veggies (which took a WHILE!):

Patty Pan Squash, Spinach, and Tomatoes. It is funny because I just now realized I didn’t add chickpeas – ha. I completely meant to add a can! I added the veggies to the couscous and added a generous amount of apple cider vinegar and white vinegar, plus salt and pepper. All mixed together:

This salad is really good with any veggies you have around, plus with some chickpeas or kidney beans. You can also add fresh herbs or anything you want really, but the entire recipe is 12 points, or 15.5 if you actually remember to add the chickpeas…

There was lots of other delicious food there…

A veggie pasta salad with feta and a succotash salad (both delicious). Plus…

Apple cupcakes with caramel frosting (!!!!!). These were AMAZING but somehow I stopped myself at just one. There was also chips and salsa plus a black bean salad that came a little later and some other things I’m sure I’m forgetting. Blogger meetups are so fun becuase everyone has so much in common since we’re all healthy living bloggers. Everyone loves to be active and eat well (most of the time) so we had some great conversation. It was funny though because on my way over I was thinking about my 12 mile run and said to myself, I am SURE someone will have run longer than that at the meetup, and sure enough, two had run 16 miles in the morning… Only at a healthy living blogger meetup would that happen. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kirstin, Abby, Me, Mollie, Alex, Liz and Lauren.

It was SO fun and Liz was the only one I’d met before (we roomed together at the Healthy Living Summit!) so it was great to meet other local bloggers. Also very humbling – as most of them have run/are running marathons/ultras… ๐Ÿ™‚

Whew big day already! Tonight I’m driving down to Richmond to hang out with some of Wil’s friends, and then we are heading down to see his Mom tomorrow and then back to DC tomorrow night. Luckily I can sleep in the car… I need a nap!!

How’s your weekend been so far? Any fun plans?

7 Responses

  1. Hi! I’m trying to put together a group of DCers to meet-up for a happy hour meet and greet. You can follow me at LaurBiochemista and search #dchealthblogger for updates. I’ll also be posting on my blog about events. Hope to meet you!

    Lauren

  2. I can’t believe your half is so close!

  3. Apple cupcakes with caramel frosting? Oh my gods! That sounds heavenly!

  4. Great work Beth! So exciting! You’re going to rock your half! Wish I had met up with the other local bloggers! Next time for sure!

  5. How fun to meet all those bloggers! I will hopefully be getting together with a few this weekend in MN ๐Ÿ™‚

    GREAT RUN!!! Wow, you are ready for your half!!!

  6. This meet-up looks like it was so much fun. Such a great idea to do it as a potluck. I would not have been able to eat just 1 of those cupcakes! Congrats on 12 miles!

  7. Hey!

    I’m just checking out your blog now. Your couscous was my FAVORITE thing at the meet-up – thanks for sharing it! I forwarded your blog as inspiration to my roommates who think they hate running but kind of want to start.

    And good luck with your half this weekend, I’m sure you’ll do awesome!

    Also, I’m sorry to hear about you nephews. Your family is definitely in my thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

