• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Less Than a Week!

Good morning! I did NOT do a good job of getting rest this weekend, but I did have tons of fun. I laid off the camera for the weekend after Saturday’s post, but I’m back to it today. We headed down to Richmond Saturday night because Wil’s friend’s band was playing a show at a duckpin bowling alley (!!!) It was a really good show and nice to see his friends that we hadn’t seen in a while and be out and about!

Sunday morning we drove to see his mom which is about 1.5 hours further, and we spent the whole day with her which was really fun and relaxing. We went out to Outback Steak House and I overdid it a bit since we shared the Bloomin’ Onion and the bread there is SO good. I did well for my meal and went with the salmon with veggies and sweet potato fries (my fav) and everything was delish! Outback is one of the few chains I really like (along with the Cheesecake Factory!) Before we knew it, it was time to get on the road back and we didn’t get home until almost 10pm. It was kind of a whirlwind but I’m glad we got to see everyone.

I’m happy to be fully back on track this week, but somehow, my half marathon is on Sunday – less than a week!! My plan for this week is to do cross training tonight (maybe the elliptical but hopefully I won’t run into the creeper again!), run 4 miles tomorrow, and then 2 on Thursday, and then take Friday and Saturday off from running so my legs are fresh for Sunday. My goal is just to finish the race and get my medal – I’m not setting a specific time goal or a number of walking breaks because frankly, I don’t need the pressure! 13.1 miles is enough of an undertaking for me without adding other goals in there. 🙂

In light of my upcoming half marathon, I’m going to try to do a post every day this week about running including my story about how I got started running with tips and tricks for newbies, preparing for races, nutrition and pre/post run fuel and what works for me, and also one about overcoming mental hurdles and the strategies that I use. I look forward to hearing your input on all of the topics too, as I gear up to run the longest distance of my life! It honestly makes me a little teary eyed when I picture myself crossing that finish line. It’s truly a monumental event for me and really marks how much I have changed my life and become a different person. More to come on that later…

Breakfast today was quick since I had no time to pack my lunch last night…

BJTT 038

1 cup of nonfat plain yogurt (2 pts) with 1 tbsp ‘>Crofters Europe (1 pt) and a sprinkle of Fiber 1 (0 pts). I am lacking on fresh fruit in the house so need to get on that, stat! I never really add jams/jellies to yogurt, but it tasted a lot like fruit-on-the-bottom (on-the-top?) yogurt and I liked it.

Are you into chain restaurants? Which ones are your favorites? Least favorites?

9 Responses

  1. Good luck this weekend! I’m enjoying following your training and can’t wait to read more!

  2. Enjoy your taper week!

    We don’t eat at chains too often, although I do like Chipotle and Pizzeria Uno

  3. Good luck this weekend – get some sleep, drink lots of water, eat lots of carbs near the end of the week. You’re doing to do great!

    I’m not huge into chains but the ones I do like are Subway, Jimmy John’s, Chipotle, and Panera. Others that aren’t around where I live are Jamba Juice and Cheesecake Factory.

  4. I really dislike going to chains. And try to avoid them. But sometimes we go (my parents really don’t care either way it seems), and I heart the bread at Outback. It’s amazing…

  5. you’re going to do really well this weekend!!! very proud of you! I don’t want to set a time limit goal for my half in january either– as long as i get er done that’s all i want!! 🙂

    Those apple cupcake thingys w/ caramel frosting look REALLY awesome in the post below

    Bloomin’ Onions are delish!!! Chili’s is my fave chain restaurant… love their bottomless chips and salsa and fajitas. YUM

  6. I love Chili’s for their bottomless chips and salsa mmmm!

    You will do great this weekend, stay focused and positive thinking will pay off!!

  7. YAY- I want to read the post about how you got started running!!

    & chains? hmm… not a big fan of chains… but On the Border has great chips and salsa!

  8. I really like Bonefish Grill & Uncle Julio’s/Rio Grande

  9. I usually avoid chain restaurants. There are sooo many good restaurants in Portland it seems like a waste to go to a chain. But that’s just me being a snob, I guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

