• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Tristan and Harper

I woke up today hoping it would all be a nightmare and not my real life. What should have been one of the most joyous days of my life as I welcomed two new nephews into the world was instead full of tears, desperation, and feelings of helplessness. My sister gave birth to her two baby boys at just 23 weeks, so they are in critically ill condition and in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and will be for several months – best case scenario.

My sister Wendy is one tough cookie, so we’re hoping the twins picked up those genes from her and will be fighters and pull through their early arrival into this world. All that we can do is hope, pray, be positive, and take it one day at a time.

I went to Philly for the whole day yesterday where my sister and her family are in the hospital, and I am back in DC today but going back up for my half this weekend. I even went for a run this morning and it felt really good because its such a release for me. It was actually one of the fastest runs I’ve ever had because it was so easy to not focus on my body while I was running and instead let my mind be consumed by other things.

The thought of showing you my food and telling you exactly my pace on the run and how many calories I burned is just the last thing on Earth I can do right now, because it doesn’t matter. What matters is your family and your loved ones and not the last 2.2 pounds I have to lose. If nothing else, this at least puts a lot of things into perspective for me.

Please keep my family in your thoughts and prayers.

37 Responses

  1. Beth – I’m so sorry about your nephews 😦 Please call me if you need to vent or anything. I will keep them in my prayers

  2. Beth,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. I can’t imagine how scary and awful this situation must be. Please take care of yourself these next few days.

  3. Oh sweetie, I’ll be thinking of you! Best wishes to you and your family- I’m sure they’re fighting hard! I hope all goes well today. 🙂

  4. Thoughts and prayers for your family.

  5. {{hugs}} thinking of your family.

  6. Oh, Beth..I’m so sorry to hear this. I will be thinking of you and your sister and your tiny nephews. Wishing everyone the best in this very hard time. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do.

  7. Beth I am so so sorry to hear this. I will keep them and your family in my prayers.

  8. Beth,

    Thinking of you and your family…it seems that they are fighting hard and everyone will be healthy and great soon enough.

  9. I am so very sorry. Your family is in my thoughts. I hope that everything turns out just fine and that the babies have your sisters drive to pull through. What beautiful names.

  10. I am so sorry Beth! I hope that everything turns out well!

  11. I’m so sorry to hear that news. My niece was born premature, 2 months early at 2lbs, and is now a healthy and vibrant 16 year old. Your family is in my thoughts.

  12. I’m so so sorry to hear of your nephews struggles. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.

    Big hugs.

  13. Oh no! That’s awful. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. hugs!!!!!!!!

  14. I’m so sorry to hear about your nephews! I’ll be thinking of them and praying.

  15. Please keep us updated on your sister and the babies. They are definitely in my thoughts and prayers.

  16. Your family is most definitely in my prayers!!! Keep us posted when you can, okay?

  17. Beth, I’m so sorry!! I’ll keep everyone in my thoughts and prayers!! Please keep us posted.

  18. Big hugs. Keep on fighting little guys.

  19. Hi Beth-
    My name is Tiffany Noelle and I am the daughter of Lynn Jaynes (the owner of Tastebud Tours in Chicago). I found your blog because you wrote a great blog on your Tastebud experience at the Summit and I found that we had a lot in common. I just turned 27 and have always struggled with my weight and have found my safe haven with weight loss through WW for the last three years. Regardless, I look forward to looking at your blog on a daily bases–you provide phenominal ideas of healthy natural options. I was not expecting today’s entry—I had actually never read anything about your sister and her expecting. Being a woman of faith I would like for you to know that I am praying for not only the two little ones but your entire family. This has to be an extremely difficult time for all of you. May comfort fill your soul in this difficult time.
    Namaste- Tiffany Noelle

  20. Sending prayers above for your sister and her precious little boys. I have a nephew and can only imagine the pain you are feeling.

  21. Oh Beth I am sending so much positive energy to your sister, her little boys, and to you and your whole family.

  22. OMG! all my love to your family and you. take care and know that we’re all thinking of you. hugs, kisses, and prayers ❤ ❤
    im so sorry 😦

  23. Beth, your family, and especially Tristan & Harper, are in my thoughts. Keep the blog world posted on their progress if you’re able.

  24. If they are anything like their mama and aunts, they are fighters and troopers. Sending strong, positive, and healthy vibes to your whole family. I am so sorry you have to go through this. Love.

  25. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers! Stay positive 🙂

  26. You got, it girl. I know this is a tough time…be strong and keep your head up!

  27. So sorry to hear about what is going on!

    My prayers are with you and your loved ones!

    Have faith and take care!

  28. My prayers are with you my friend, I love you!

  29. PrayIng for your sister and her little boys from Nashville. I’m sure you have followers who are praying all over the country. Praying!!!

  30. Hey,
    I hope your nephews will be all right.
    I worked on the neonatal intensive care for a couple of weeks and it is amazing how well those tiny creatures develop. All the babies I saw there made it through and I’m feeling positive that you nephews are tough cookies too!

  31. 😦 Praying for the Babies, and your family.

  32. I am thinking of you and your family in this difficult time. I went through the same thing less than a year ago- my nephew was born 3 months early, and spent most of 3 months in the hospital. What should give you hope is the science we have today to help these little babies grow and be healthy almost every time. It is so hard when they are in the hospital struggling- but today my nephew is a strong BIG chubby baby… bearing no resemblance to the tiny newborn he once was.

  33. Beth I am thinking of you and your family during this time! My prayers are with you!

  34. Beth, I am so sorry to hear about your baby nephews and what your family is dealing with right now. I’m sure that if they have even a smidgen of the determination and willfulness that you have though, they will come out of this strong and healthy! Babies are amazing – they bounce back from more than we ever think could be possible. Please know that you, your sister, and those precious little guys are in my thoughts and prayers.

    – Gretchen

  35. oh my goodness. i am thinking of you and family and sending good vibes to your nephews. i hope everything goes well. take care woman!

  36. Keep up the faith…thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

