• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Thank You

The outpour of love and support for my nephews and family has been incredible. People from all over the country have left comments and sent emails of encouragement and are thinking and praying for my baby nephews. And you know, I think it’s working. The babies have now made it well past the 48 hour mark which is the first big hurdle. This will be very one day at a time, so please keep the prayers and thoughts coming for these miracle babies, Tristan and Harper. Thank you all so much for all the support and words of encouragement… I can’t even begin to express how much it means to me.

Though this situation is obviously very hard right now, I am trying to stay positive and focus on good things when I can. I’m also realizing that numbing myself with food is not going to make the situation any better, which is a definite change from my old self. I have been having the same breakfast since Tuesday..

BJTT 055

A small banana (1 pt) sandwich on an Arnold Thin Sub (1 pt) with 1 tbsp chunky almond butter (2 pts).

BJTT 073

It’s one thing I’ve been looking forward to every morning because its so good.

Another positive is that my CSA looked really great today.

BJTT 082

  • Asian Pears
  • Gala Apples
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Beets
  • Patty Pan Squash
  • Green Beans

Please share something that is making you happy today.

16 Responses

  1. 1) The good news about your family makes me happy! Keep holding strong!

    2) Today as I was driving into work I just had this moment of zen, where I thought to myself, I’m not perfect, but I am ultimately very happy! I want to be thinner, I want to be able to run 10 miles at the drop of a hat, I want to have arms like Kelly Rippa and Chelsea Handler’s humor. But being Gwen is pretty wonderful. That made me happy today.

  2. Puppies in a “down dog” pose always makes me smile. 🙂

    On a more serious note, I have a little cousin that was born preemie and she is now doing great at 13 years old. I remember when she was in NICU; it was a scary time and I was pretty young, so I didn’t really understand what it all meant, but I do understand how you must be feeling. I will keep you and your family in my thoughts.

  3. This news is actually making me happy. As I said before, my nephew is my life so I hope that they continue to grow and become more healthy.

  4. Number 1, the fact that your fam is doing well 🙂 Fingers crossed!
    Number 2, the fact that Friday is less than 24hrs away. Not that I’m doing anything, it’s just good to know that it’s near.
    Number 3, Your CSA loot looks great!

  5. I’m glad things are going well for the family! Yea!!!

    That’s a crap-ton of food. Seriously.

  6. I am so happy to hear that your nephews are doing okay, keep up the positive thinking and go for a run – you will feel great after doing so. I know when I’m in a funk, I go to my boxing gym and box it all out!

  7. So glad to hear things are going well. Keep up the positive thinking and keep us posted!

    I am happy today because I am taking a three day weekend to celebrate my besties wedding!

  8. I’m glad your nephews are trucking along. I’ll keep on sending warm and fuzzy thoughts your way.

    I’m happy that I made my coworker’s day by throwing her a surprise bagel and mini-muffin party for getting her master’s degree. She was thrilled.

  9. That banana sandwich looks fab! My favorite breakfast is a grilled banana sandwich with peanut butter. I spray it with some Pam and grill it in the skillet for a bit of crunchiness and melty peanut butter! mmm 🙂

  10. There’s nothing wrong with having the same breakfast everyday when it involves nut butter and bananas. 😉

  11. Sending tons of good thoughts your way!

  12. I’m so sorry to hear about your nephews – I will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers! I think in any difficult situation it’s so important to believe in the power of positive thinking. And to take a few minutes to just breathe.

    Something that made me happy today was that I made time to do the things that were important to me and that I actually wanted to do, like running, baking, and spending time with friends, even if that meant some other things (like cleaning my apartment) didn’t get done. I feel good about the way I spent my day!

  13. oh beth! i am crossing my fingers, legs, arms, and toes for your 2 nephews!! they are fighters i just know it!

    😦

    something making me happy is that its about dinner time. im so hungry!

  14. Hang in there Beth. I hope things work out for the good!!

  15. the power of prayer in numbers exists and we’ll continue to pray and hope as much as we can that everything turns around and their health is restored. Tristan and Harper clearly are God’s blessings, and he’s going to keep them safe. Love you Beth, hang in there ❤ ❤

    yes, food wont be much of a comfort like the people around us. i hope you have lots of people nearby for hugs and lots of love- you need it more than ever right now.

    xoxo
    Kelsey

  16. I’ve never had the sub bread before. I haven’t seen it at the store. It’s cute and looks like a good fit for a sliced banana. I’ll check it out next time at at the store.

    I have a niece who I love so dearly. Hope things will be better soon, looks like things are improving so that’s good.

Leave a Reply

