• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

It’s Really Not That Hard!

Hello and happy Friday! The thoughts, prayers, and positives vibes seem to be working… Tristan and Harper are holding strong on day 4. Keep ‘em coming! Yesterday I personally turned a corner with the whole situation. I was very upset/angry/depressed Tuesday and Wednesday, and then something happened where I just came to terms with the fact that it’s out of my hands. I feel much more positive and hopeful and just more at peace with the situation. I am being very positive because that is all that I have control over, and that realization just helped me to feel a lot better about the whole situation.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you probably see that I eat beans almost every single day. Until today, I had been using canned chickpeas and black beans, which I think are super easy, cheap, and convenient. I had seen people using dried beans all over the blog world and wanted to try it for myself, but always thought it was so complicated/hard/time consuming, and that canned was just the better option for me.

Yesterday morning before work, I emptied a bag of dried chickpeas into a pot.

DriedChickpeas

I covered them with water and left them all day while I was at work and then to dinner with a friend. When I got home, I drained the water, covered them with new water, and boiled them for 45 minutes. Then I had a HUGE bowl with 10 servings of chickpeas, all for $1.69. So easy!

The beans stay good in the fridge for up to a week, and you can also freeze them if you can’t use ‘em up. I plan to freeze half and use half during the week, and am so happy I finally took the plunge and made beans like this. It was seriously so simple, especially if just leave them during work or overnight so you don’t even have to think about/wait for them to be done soaking. The other great thing is it’s really flexible with timing. I “accidentally” let them soak for 12 hours because of going to dinner, and they were totally fine. You just want to keep an eye on them while they’re boiling so that you don’t overcook them and turn them to mush.

These are AWESOME! They taste a lot better than canned beans in my opinion, and I didn’t add anything to them. I’m going to experiment with adding different things (onions, garlic, spices, etc) but this batch was just straight up.

For lunch today, I took 1/2 cup of the chickpeas (1 pt) and combined it with a cup of cherry tomatoes, cut in half, some chopped red onion, a handful of fresh basil, 1 tsp of olive oil (1 pt) and 2 tsp of balsamic vinegar.

ChickpeaSalad

The texture of these chickpeas is AWESOME. They taste so much better than the canned ones and really soak up the flavor of the dressing.

On the side I had 1 toasted multigrain flatbread (2 pts) and some peppers from my CSA.

Sides

‘Twas a delicious, balanced meal that took less than 5 minutes to throw together for lunch.

Lunch

Yum!

So the bad thing is that I woke up today feeling a little sick.. my nose is stuffy and my throat a little scratchy. This means that I can’t visit my sister and nephews in the NICU so I don’t get my sister or the babies sick, which is too bad since I’m going to be in Philly for the half. I ended up getting a hotel for tomorrow night that is walkable to the start of the race, and just have to plan a little bit for fuel for the race. It’s at 8am on Sunday and I can’t believe that by 12 on Sunday I’ll have run a half marathon!

I’m not sure if I’ll be back to update before the race, but I promise to be back with a recap after the fact.

Thanks again for all your support and I hope you have a fabulous weekend!!

Do you eat beans a lot? Do you tend to use canned or dried?

22 Responses

  1. Glad the babies are holding strong!

    I don’t eat beans too often, but I have done both home cooked and canned. I do think the home cooked ones taste better.

  2. Have an amazing time this weekend! I got a little emotional thinking about not being in Philly this weekend. Glad to hear that the kiddos are doing well!

  3. I’ve always used canned… maybe I’ll have to try the other ones out? I always thought it’d be a hassle, too… hmmm

  4. I tend to use canned beans more just because they’re easier, but I definitely want to give dried chickpeas a try. This salad looks great. Happy Friday!

  5. I just boiled my own chickpeas this week too! I made a ginormous thing of hummus which was DELICIOUS! Good luck on Sunday! Can’t wait to hear all about it

  6. I am very happy to hear that the babies are holding strong.

    Your lunch is perfect- I wish I had the same thing 🙂

    I have a bunch of dried beans that I never use! I’ve tried to make them a few times but never like the way they come out. Perhaps I’ll try it again this weekend?

  7. Beth! I am sooooo excited for you to run your first half. You are such an inspiration and I just can’t wait to hear how amazing you did. 13.1—you got this!

  8. Soak a bag of Black beans. the same way.. then put them in a pot with some veggie stock… and let it reduce reduce reduce for some yummy black bean soup.. oh yum! (Peter makes the BEST Black Bean Soup – with meat of course) xoxo!

  9. I love your chickpea dish! It looks wonderful and very filling.

    I have some bags of beans at home, but I keep buying canned…I keep thinking I’ll soak them “wrong”? Haha, not that you could, but I’m still nervous to give them a try.

  10. Glad to hear that the babies are doing better day by day!

    Good luck with your 1/2 this weekend! You will do amazing!

    Also, thanks for sharing this information regarding the chickpeas. I have always been too intimidated to try the dry kind, but am always looking for ways to cut back on my food expenses. I will have to give these a shot.

  11. I just switched to makikng my own since it so much cheaper and I just put them in the crockpot while I am at work and they are done w\hen I get home. I bag them in ziplock bags and put them in the freezer. I have all kind of beans in the freezer.

  12. I’ll keep the vibes coming and I’m SO excited for your race!

  13. SO beautiful! Love homecooked beans, and you’re right: it’s so easy! I never liked the canned fellas ’cause they have added sodium and sometimes sugars, which are so unnecessary for beans. Your lunch looks so beautiful, inspired me to make a mix similiar to that this coming week. Yay for fresh veggies + loads of protein!

    Have a fabulous weekend, and you’re amazing for looking at this hard situation as something that is not in your hands, God is in control! Love ya, take care 🙂

  14. So glad you’re feeling a bit better!

    Your lunch looks delicious. Where can I find dried chickpeas? Whole Foods? I also eat tons of beans – a staple in my vegetarian diet!!

  15. I’m glad to hear the babies are holding strong. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  16. I love beans as well. I’m actually eating white beans w/ cherry tomatoes as we speak. I always use canned though, which I run water over to get all the extra sodium off. But haven’t done the dried beans for lack of time.

  17. I eat a lot of beans. I usually stick with canned. It’s a lot easier and I’m pretty clueless about cooking!

  18. oh sweetie – I just caught up on your recent posts. My thoughts, prayers and best wishes are with you and your family at this rough time 😦

  19. Glad to hear that the babies are doing okay!

    I eat beans all of the time, especially chickpeas! I’ve never made beans from dry ones because I always thought it was really time consuming too – now that I know how easy it is I will definitely give it a try!

  20. […] the grocery store (our future house isn’t going to buy itself!) I decided, after seeing this wonderful post by Beth, to try my hand at making my own Garbanzo beans instead of buying them in the can.  This is what […]

  21. […] I only had one small tomato and one small bell pepper for fresh veggies, and the other half of the chickpeas that I made were frozen, so I had to look around to find something that would work. I ended up […]

  22. […] a huge difference from canned chickpeas to making your own from dried! The make-your-own ones have such a better […]

Leave a Reply

