• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

You-Get-All-Three

You know how at many lunch restaurants they make the combos where you get to pick two between soup, salad, and half a sandwich? I always have such a hard time choosing, so today, I made my own You-Get-All-Three and with half a sandwich, a cup of soup, and a delicious chickpea salad.

Rewinding just a bit, yesterday we had an all staff lunch meeting at work since our big annual conference is coming up this weekend. We went over travel policy and last minute items since this is a huge conference and almost everyone from the office attends. Since the meeting was over lunch, we had it catered by one of my favorite places – The Juice Joint! This is my go-to place anytime I don’t bring a lunch because the food is healthy, delicious, and the ingredients are so fresh! I was thrilled to hear we were getting lunch from there because a lot of times when lunch is ordered for us it involves pizza, wings, and mayo-heavy sandwiches and salads that I wouldn’t normally get if it were up to me.

SandwichBar

There was even a whole tray of vegetarian sandwiches!

VeggieTray

I took two halves – – a roasted veggie and mozzarella sandwich and the Holland’s Pocket (you know its bad when you know the exact names of everything on the tray when you were the one who ordered it…)

MySammies

The Holland’s Pocket was a whole wheat pita stuffed with hummus, carrots, sprouts, spinach, and lemon juice, and the Roasted Mozarella and Veggie sandwich is multigrain bread with roasted zucchini, squash, red peppers, sprouts, tomato, basil & fresh mozzarella cheese drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette. I also split a bag of the Sea Salt and Black Pepper Kettle Chips with Kara (sooooooo good) and ate way too many pieces of the candy that was put on the table to get us excited about working 17 hour days in Columbus.. 😉

OfficeParty

After lunch was over (and I made sure everyone had eaten – don’t worry), I grabbed an extra Holland’s Pocket and stashed it away for lunch today. Good decision.

BJTT 013

I also had some green beans and peppers from my CSA on the side for an extra veggie boost. For number two of you-get-all-three I had a chickpea salad with my made from dry garbanzos!

BJTT 008

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • green beans
  • red onions
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar

SO good. I seriously cannot get over what a difference these chickpeas are compared to dried. Can’t wait to dive into my black beans and limas – when I’m back from Columbus!

Part three of lunch was some leftover soup that Wil made for me Sunday night. I asked him to make me soup after we got back from Philly because I was not feeling so hot and soup is always the thing I crave when I’m feeling sickly. He took lots of veggies from our CSA – onions, pattypan squash, tomatoes, and green beans, and sauteed them in 1 tsp olive oil until they got some color, and then added them to veggie stock and water (half and half). He added 1 cup of dried barley to give it a little more bulk and some spices, and made this awesome soup. The whole recipe had 7 points (6 from the barley, 1 from the olive oil) and I had a huge serving last night for dinner as well as Sunday night, and then a cup today. There’s still some left and it is SO flavorful.

BJTT 005

Making your own lunch is great so you don’t have to pick just two…

BJTT 002 

If you have to choose between soup, salad, and sandwich, and can only pick two – which do you normally go with?

13 Responses

  1. Soup and salad. I’m not a sandwich person.

    In other news, if you EVER need someone to bake something out of your extra produce – I’m your girl! I absolutely love baking for other people!

  2. Soup and sandwich in colder months; salad and sandwich when it’s hot out!

  3. I wish my office would order lunches like that! So jealous!

    I always go for soup and sandwich when picking – it just seems more substantial to me!

  4. I ALWAYS want all three too! Haha. I usually do the sammy and soup. Salads and I have a sordid past (i.e. hating them most of my life)

  5. Your lunch looks so good and healthy. You and Caitlin HTP always have the best healthy veggie food and make me want your lunch or dinner!

    I usually go with Soup and Salad

  6. I love soup/salad or soup/sandwich combo. Anything with soup haha.

  7. oooh what a tasty lunch spread indeed!
    I think I would go with the soup + salad! But thats just because I cant eat wheat!

  8. I always had my favorite places that would cater lunches. You just start to know the food and the different options. I always managed to stay away from chips, but would constantly fall victim to the cookie trays.

  9. It definitely depends on what time of year it is. Soup and sandwich when it’s cold, salad and sandwich when it’s hot!

  10. I usually go with soup/sandwich, but sometimes in the summer I like to get sandwich/salad. It depends.

    I really like that your work served healthy foods — my work is good about that too, but at my last job we always had greasy pizza!

  11. I would say soup and salad if the soup is one I like. I hate mushrooms so that rules out a lot of soups. 😉

  12. I always go with soup and a sandwich. If I go soup and salad, it’s not bulky enough to tie me over. And I like having something hot with my meals.

  13. […] favorite shows are coming back on tonight), a little cooking (I think a veggie pizza and some of Beth’s tomato salad may be in the […]

Leave a Reply

