• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Step One

You guys rock. Seriously. I don’t think I say it enough.

After yesterday’s post about my decision to end my membership with Weight Watchers, I was a little nervous as to how people would take it because I really think its important to remember where you came from (Jenny from the Block, anyone?) ha. But, like I said, and it seems you all agree, I’ve outgrown it. I still want to post points values so that people who are still following the plan can see that you can eat clean with wholesome, real food, and still stay within your points values.

Also, side note, I have seriously been on and off Weight Watchers since I was probably 12. My mom took me for the first time, I went during high school for a summer, during college several times, and then the final time in March 2009. The points system is SO ingrained in my head that its going to take me a long, LONG time to move past it. (If ever)

I’ve gotten several questions from readers about what my plan is now in terms of whether I still plan to track calories/keep track of my food, and the honest answer is, I don’t know! In an ideal world, I would love to just be able to listen to my hunger cues and eat when I am hungry and stop when I’m satisfied. However, I know me, and I think I will have to keep track to some extent because I still struggle with eating and wanting to eat even when I’m not hungry.

I think the process of learning to trust your body is a long one, especially after years and years of mistreating your body like I have. I allowed my weight to get so far out of hand and for such a disconnect between my mind and body, and I have just begun step one of the process of bringing the two together again. I promise to keep you guys posted as I continue on my journey and I hope you will stay along for the ride. 🙂

So last night after I got home from work, I cooked for almost 4 hours. It was kind of crazy but I had a lot of stuff to use up and wanted to make a nice dinner since most of them have been really quick lately (read sandwiches and leftover soup). I also had a ton of apples from my CSA and wanted to make some apple sauce since I was getting more apples this morning in my CSA, and then wanted to make lunch for today. Next thing I knew it was almost 10pm and I was just sitting down on the couch to relax… I’ll post the apple sauce recipe another day but all it had was apples, cinnamon, and water! Can’t beat that.

Dinner last night was simple but for some reason took me a LONG time to prepare. I made acorn squash for the first time this season!

AcornSquash

I cut it in half…

CutinHalf

Removed the seeds and put it in a pie pan (only one I had!) with some water so it didn’t burn.

RemoveSeeds

I baked it at 400º for 45 minutes, then added 1 tbsp of maple syrup to each half and put it back in for 15 more minutes.

For the shrimp, I just sauteed them with a little garlic gold until they turned pink.

BJTT 039

Then I sautéed half a bell pepper to add some green to my plate and dinner was done!

BJTT 042

So simple but totally delicious.

Do you like squash? What is your favorite kind? I loooooove it. It’s definitely one of my favorite parts of fall/winter! I love butternut and spaghetti squash pretty evenly, and acorn too because its fun to stuff.

14 Responses

  1. I don’t love squash. I’ve never made it for myself. I do love butternut squash soup – but that probably has SOMETHING to do with cream 😉

    Are you considering a marathon next year??

    • I make a really good butternut squash soup with NO cream. I’ll probably be making it next week since I just picked up a butternut squash earlier this week, and I’ll post the recipe!

      And actually, just yesterday my sister asked if I wanted to run the Philly Marathon with her next November!! I wonder if its a sign!

  2. That dish look soo good! I am obsessed with shrimp in the worst way!!! Keep up with your good hard work!

  3. That is too funny about the squash, I have a blog post written about squash that I will be posting soon and how it reminds me of fall! I personally love spaghetti squash..

    Glad you are feeling well about your decision, with respect to WW. I must say – I went yesterday to weigh in, was not happy with the scale or the program (I’m technically lifetime) and I thought of you. I exercise 7 days a week and try to eat healthy, getting bogged down by the program is frustrating at a certain point…I appreciated your post again after the weigh-in yesterday.

  4. I love squash – butternut, acorn, spaghetti, yellow……it really doesn’t matter.

  5. Butternut FTW! I have one I bought at Trader Joe’s this weekend for only $2! Can’t wait to use it! Mmmm, squash 😀

  6. My friend did Weight Watches on and off, too. And even when she was off, going grocery shopping with her was pure torture for me (no offense at all to any WW people) because she would cite off the points values of all the food as we were filling the cart….

  7. love squash! I often make a meal that Carlos thinks is best served with a side of mashed potatoes…so in those cases, I make him mashed potatoes and make myself squash – we are both left happy and full!

    • Have you ever tried making him mashed cauliflower? That way you can both have it and it is GOOD. If you put it in a blender or food processor rather than mash it by hand I bet he wouldn’t even know its cauliflower and not potatoes. Speaking of, you are super nice to make Carlos something different. When I cook, Wil can eat what I make or not, but hes not getting something special! 🙂

  8. I LOVE squash. I think butternut and kabocha are my favorites, but I really have love for them all!

  9. I love squash. Butternut or spaghetti is my favorite!

  10. I read your WW post last night from my phone and didn’t get a chance to comment, but thought I would go ahead and follow up to this one…

    I found myself in such a similar situation and was so nervous about leaving WW, but felt kind of frustrated sometimes to be told that I wasn’t losing weight because I wasn’t eating enough diet products. I mean fresh items will always be better for me than packaged foods! Why such conflicting information?!

    I did get a lot from being a WW member and part of me was really sad about not reaching lifetime, but then I accepted the fact that that course just wasn’t for me. This is about more than reaching a goal weight for me, it is about completely changing my relationship with food to find a way of eating that supports my lifestyle, not just a number on a scale.

    It is sometimes hard to go the path less traveled, but I hope it pays off in the end – even if that means more months to goal than I had anticipated. 😉

Leave a Reply

