• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Moderation in All Things, Including Vodka

Good morning and happy Friday!! It’s kind of funny being on a conference schedule for work because some days of the week don’t really match up with expectations. Specifically the fact that I leave at 10am tomorrow to head to Columbus, OH for our Annual Conference and don’t come back until Tuesday evening… what weekend? Besides that though, I am looking forward to a change of scenery and the big conference is usually “fun” (I use the term loosely).

So being healthy is all about moderation, right? Right.

I went out for happy hour last night with some of my best girlfriends. We went to this cute place called Maddy’s that is in the DuPont area of DC for some drinks and appetizers.

Me and Amber:

BJTT 105

Plus Jess, Elena, and Rachel:

BJTT 104

I stuck with my go-to cocktail…

BJTT 095

Vodka Soda with Lime. Times two (or three?) 😉

For snacks we shared three things… Sweet Potato Fries

BJTT 099

With Roasted Eggplant and Truffle Creme (!!!!) dipping sauce. Heaven.

Plus the Bubba’s Southern Basket

BJTT 101

With fried pickles, fried mushrooms, and fried green tomatoes! (all vegetables buried under that batter!)

Last, we got a Flatbread (aka pizza)

BJTT 107

Which had roasted eggplant spread, proscuitto, figs, caramelized onions, blue cheese, and pinenuts. We got the proscuitto on just half and I had two small pieces of the proscuitto-less flatbread. This was unreal! I have been wanting fig + gorgonzola on a pizza ever since I had a fresh fig for the first time earlier this week so this totally hit the spot.

Two Questions for today:

1. What is your favorite pizza topping?

2. What is your go-to drink if you’re at happy hour/a bar/home?

PS: I finally got around to updating the Top Recipes page last night! I also did the Food Staples page, but still have to work on the FAQ and the About Me pages… in time. 🙂

23 Responses

  1. I’m a rum & diet coke girl when it’s a big night out, but otherwise I’ll stick to beer and wine. That place looks amazing!
    Good luck with the conference madness this weekend!

  2. Oh you know me… we share the same signature drink! 🙂

    Have “fun” at your conference. Sometimes I’m incredibly envious of those of you who get to travel. Even if it is just to Ohio. Change of scenery is always good!

  3. i’m like Liz with the rum & diet for nights out, if it’s a casual night then a bud light, if its at the beach then a margarita 🙂

    those are the BEST looking sweet tater fries I’ve ever seen! I’ve never seen them in crinkle form! have fun at the conference this weekend chica. Congrats on your half marathon!! very proud of you

  4. I love that I knew what neighborhood you were in just by looking at the picture!

    If it’s during the week, I will usually stick to wine – easier for me. But if it’s gotta be hard – vodka with a splash of cranberry and two limes. I can sip this slowly because it’s so strong!

    Good luck at the meeting in Columbus!

  5. That’s my drink too. Low in calories, tastes great. The perfect drink!

  6. Vodka tonic is my drink of choice. Or wine! I love onions on pizza too. Mmmm….pizza.

  7. I love crinkle cut crispy sweet potato fries!

    My favorite pizza topping is black olives.

    Go-to drink is either a Diet Coke (no alcohol) or house white wine.

  8. Looks like a fun night! Is Maddy’s a newer bar? I’ve never been there before.

    I love green and black olives on my pizza!

    I am wine-o allll the way….

    Maybe, while you are updating the site a little – you can add my blog to your blog roll?! : )

  9. Yum! Your treats from last night look so good!

    Favorite pizza topping, fresh chunks of garlic.

    Go to drink, a bloody mary, glass of wine, or locally brewed beer. Depends on my mood. 😉

  10. These days it seems like I order beer whenever we go out, but in college I was all about the g&t!

  11. Those sweet tater fries look darn gooood!!

  12. My favorite drink at home is wine…but when I’m out I love margaritas!!! 😀

    Hope the weekend goes well. And that it’s more fun that the relative use of the term.

  13. Everything in moderation is such a good way to go about it. When I go out I tend to not drink or if I do I get beer, usually local beers. 🙂

  14. My favorite pizza toppings are spinach, olives & artichoke hearts.

    Those sweet potato fries look awesome, btw.

  15. id have no moderation in those crinkle cut fries!!! OH MY GOODNESS!!! yum ❤

    i havent tried vodka. actually red and white wine are the only things ive tried..and a little champagne. im weird, i know lol

    xoxo

  16. When I went to Myrtle Beach I became accustomed to fried pickles and hushpuppies. I loved them! They are so bad, yet so good! How did the fried tomatoes taste? 🙂

  17. I love fried green tomatoes but i’ve never had fried pickles. Wonder if I’d like them. My fave thing on pizza is veggies, although in nyc you can get some good chicken parm pizza or ziti pizza.

  18. my go-to drink is usually flavored vodka and water (i recommend Stoli Raspberry or Kettle One Citroen) i also enjoy red wine but it can make me sleepy.

    lookin’ forward to reading more of your blog! 🙂

  19. Moderation is so spot on! My favorite atop pizza are sliced beets + zucchini + summer squash, it’s colorful and extremely tasty (and some garbanzos atop are pretty rad, too). Hope Tuesday arrives soon for ya, have a good time!

  20. Yummmm! Those Fries and really all the food looks sooo good! I love olives on my pizza, olives and mushrooms! 🙂

  21. Fave pizza topping – all kinds of veggies

    Fave go-to drink – rum and diet coke

  22. Those fries look tasty!

    My go to drink is red wine, especially in the winter! It’s so cozy!

  23. I am a vino gal all the way!

Leave a Reply

