• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back to Reality

Hello! Sorry for the unplanned blogging hiatus – – Columbus was INSANE. Working behind the scenes at a conference for 1500 people means there are constantly multiple things that need to be done at every moment from the early morning until late into the evening. Monday I worked from 6am until 11:30pm! Insane.

I brought my laptop with me and planned to try to update a few times while I was there but it just didn’t happen. Along the same lines, I brought my workout clothes and that also did not happen. No time!

Breakfast and lunch were provided every day and unfortunately most of the meals were really heavy and not that good. Breakfast was a buffet style with scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon egg and cheese sandwiches, home fries, pancakes drenched in butter and apples, yogurt with a few berries on top, and then pastries and dessert-looking things. There was no oatmeal, no fruit (minus the 5 berries on each yogurt) and just no healthy options whatsoever. Unfortunately I didn’t really have a choice, so I usually had cheesy eggs with a few homefries, some orange juice, and a pancake on the first day. I also asked for fruit one day and they brought me a cup of berries, but other than that breakfast was heavy and not the best way to start my day.

Lunches were usually boxed with sandwiches, chips, apples, and cookies. I was excited to see veggie sandwiches, but disappointed when I unwrapped it to see it was just mixed greens, broccoli, and more ranch than anything else.

Dinner was mostly on our own, and I did get a chance to go out for a nice meal once with Emily and Jackie. We heard rave reviews about this restaurant called Martini Modern Italian, so decided to check it out for ourselves. They had these unbelievable cocktails on the menu, so we each started out with a different one and passed them around so everyone got a taste.

Cheers

The drink to the back left was called Pear Elderflower and had Absolut Pear Vodka, St. Germain, Elderflower liquer, and fresh lemon. It was a little sweet for me to have a whole one, but one sip was delicious. Emily got the Pomegranate and Tarragan which had Bombay Sapphire Gin, Pomegranate liquer, Prosecco, pineapple puree, and muddled tarragon. I’m not usually that into gin, but this drink was great. Not as great as mine though (front and center!) – the Italian Grapefruit Gimlet. It had Finlandia Grapefruit Vodka, Aperol, hand squeezed grapefruit and lime. Possibly one of the best cocktails I’ve ever had! It was sooooo good.

Unfortunately I did not get the best pictures because the lighting was dim and I was so hungry (we didn’t get there until 9pm!) but let me tell you, the meal was WONDERFUL. We split 2 appetizers between the two of us, the Brick Oven Pizzetta:

BJTT 125

It was basically a deconstructed flatbread drizzled with olive oil, herbs, and fresh grated parmesan. There was a chunk of melty combozola cheese which was a mild blue, and then a whole head of roasted garlic in the middle to squeeze over the pieces of flatbread. SO good.

We also had a Panzanella Salad, or an Italian Bread Salad.

BJTT 127

This one had tomatoes, mozzarella, cucumber, chunks of italian bread, greens, and was drizzled with evoo and balsamic. I loved the bread in the salad – they tasted like fresh croutons and soaked up the flavors of the salad. This is definitely something that I can easily recreate at home (mental note).

For our main courses, we each got a fish dish but the picture was terrible, so you’ll just have to take my word that it was out of this world. It was called Gamberi Divolo and had 4 fire roasted prawns, fingerling potatoes, and shellfish butter. The prawns were sweet and succulent (and huge) and everything was just cooked to perfection. ‘

Dessert was the Chocolate Mousse Torte, with chocolate ganache, whipped cream, and housemade ice cream, split between the three of us.

BJTT 133

Awful picture, but delicious, moist cake. We also split a bottle of wine at dinner before calling it a night, but that was the one nice meal out we had during our time in Columbus. I definitely recommend trying out this restaurant if you visit or live near Columbus.

Needless to say, it feels really good to get back into the routine after having such a heavy 4 days of eating/drinking. I made a delicious bowl of oats to start my day off right

ScottishOats

This was 1/4 cup of scottish oats cooked in 1 cup of water, garnished with some sliced almonds and a drizzle of organic honey. It was the perfect combination of creamy , crunchy , and sweet and ended a little too soon for my liking.

In other news, my nephews are not doing very well right now. Today is day 15 of their lives so please, please keep the positive thoughts and prayers coming. They really need it right now, as does their parents and my family as a whole. It’s very common when you have a baby in the NICU to have good days and bad days and things go from really good to really bad in the blink of an eye, but it literally feels like a real life nightmare. Every time I receive an update or a call from my sister, I hold my breath until I finish hearing the words. Yesterday left me in tears, but hopefully today will bring better news.

13 Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear that the babies aren’t doing well. They have made it to day 15 and they have so many people pushing and thinking of them.

    As far as your trip goes, sometimes it’s nice to have a hiatus of your normal breakfast (mine is oatmeal), so that it leaves you craving it when you come home. Or maybe I’m just saying that because I love homefries…

    What a wonderful dinner you guys had, mmm!

  2. Sending prayers your way.

  3. Ohh I’m so sorry about this situation for your family! I will say a prayer, everyone counts!!! ❤

    But it looks like you were eventually rewarded with some delicious food even though you had some crazy hours! The pair cocktail sounds like my kinda drink 🙂

    Well I hope everything goes well! xoxoxo

  4. Hi Beth, I’m glad your back.
    I am so sorry to hear about the boys, they are in my thoughts and I hope you and your family have more good day.
    Ivie

  5. Glad to see you back in the blog world! I didn’t get a chance to comment on your no-more-WW post, but I just wanted to throw out there that you have my cyber-encouragement! I’m still working towards goal, but I can’t wait for the day when I can feel 100% comfortable with stopping the program and knowing that it’s because I can do it all on my own. Your family and sweet nephews are in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. Beth, I’m sorry to hear about the boys. I am keeping them and your whole family in my thoughts and prayers.

    That pear martini sounds divine!! I’ll have to get me some Pear Absolut!

    Also, I’ve been meaning to make oats. Your concoctions sound so easy and delicious!

  7. I’m jealous I had to miss that dinner to work an event… it looks so good!

    My thoughts and prayers are with the boys and the rest of your family.

  8. Welcome back! I was starting to wonder if you got stuck in Columbus forever! lol

    I’m sorry to hear about your nephews. My heart goes out to your family!

  9. Sorry to hear about the food at your conference and the long days, that always makes for a hard combination! Hopefully you get some down time soon.

    Sending lots of good thoughts your family’s way for your nephews!

  10. That dinner looks amazing!

    Sorry your nephews aren’t doing well – my sister and I were born at about 3 1/2 pounds each way back in 1968 – we were about a month early.

    We couldn’t leave the hospital until we both reached 5 pounds, which took three weeks!

    Hugs!

  11. It is comforting and good to get back to routine, isn’t it?

    My thoughts go out to the little ones and the rest of the family.

  12. That food looks fantastic. What a great time. 🙂

    Sorry your nephews aren’t doing well. HUGS

Leave a Reply

