• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Random Eats

Putting together lunch today was rough. I almost walked out of the house ready to buy some, but I really am trying to not spend unncessary money and I always spend a fortune when I go out for lunch, so I decided to turn around and make something work. I only had one small tomato and one small bell pepper for fresh veggies, and the other half of the chickpeas that I made were frozen, so I had to look around to find something that would work. I ended up using the freezer and the pantry to come up with a lunch that was turned out really great!

I used 1/2 cup frozen edamame, 1/3 cup frozen organic corn, and theย tomato to make a succotash-esque salad. Whenever I use frozen veggies for lunch, I just put them frozen into the container and keep it in the fridge so they defrost during the day, and then just nuke them in the microwave if need be.

I added a little salt and pepper and it was hard to believe these veggies were frozen – they really tasted fresh! Bonus that this literally took under a minute to throw together…

Then I found a package of Quorn Naked Chik’n Cutlet in my freezer. The Quorn products tend to be a lot more expensive than Boca or MorningStar so I bought these because they were on major sale. I nuked the patty with a sprinkle of water for 30 seconds (these are only 1 point by the way) and threw some Athenos Tomato Basil Feta on top and put it back in the microwave for another 30 seconds.

Served on a bagel thin with the bell pepper on the side for a crunchy kick…

And it turned out to be a great lunch! These Chik’n patties taste almost scarily like real chicken from the taste down to the texture. If you like meaty meat substitutes, I’d definitely give these a try.

I really meant to work out after work but I am still so exhausted from the conference (excuses, excuses) plus had to go grocery shopping to get a few things. I ended up going to Whole Foods so I could drop some clothes off to be donated right there too, and ended up doing really well there!

  • Salt (both fine and course)
  • Rice Vinegar
  • White Vinegar
  • Canned Pumpkin (!!!!)
  • Cage-Free Eggs
  • Wasa Light Rye
  • Baby Spinach
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Fresh Figs
  • Whole Wheat Tortillas
  • Couscous (Bulk Bin)
  • HempPlus Pumpkin Flax Granola (Bulk Bin)
  • Cilantro
  • Scallions
  • Bananas
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • White Onion
  • Garlic Hummus
  • Fresh Ground Roasted Honey Peanut Butter (!)
  • 2 Packages of Frozen Organic Strawberries
  • Artic Zero Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Treat

All that for $47! I was really happy because I had to get a bunch of staples (vinegar, eggs, salt, etc) so I was worried I wouldn’t be able to do it economically at Whole Foods, but I really scanned the sales and ended up doing really well. I was happy to find couscous in the bulk bins there because I have a problem buying the bags that are 3.99 and never on sale. I got almost the same amount for under $2! Score! ๐Ÿ™‚

The other exciting thing I found was the last thing on the list… Artic Zero frozen treat.

It was on sale and the “150 calories” for the whole pint caught my eye. I flipped the container over and the ingredient list wasn’t bad either!

Purified Water, Whey Protein Concentrate, Organic Cane Sugar, Chicory Root, Dutch Processed Cocoa Powder with Alkali, Guar Gum, Xantham Gum, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt, Monk Fruit Concentrate.

And the nutritional stats were pretty incredible, too:

I haven’t tried it yet, but will definitely let you know how it is. I’m looking forward to it!

Dinner was pretty random but delicious. I made roasted butternut squash and actually did a step by step with pictures that I’ll put up tomorrow showing how to break down the squash, but it just had some olive oil, salt and pepper.

I wanted some protein with the squash, so I decided to make a quesadilla with beans and veggies, but went a little crazy with the fillings. I used black beans, corn, spinach, 75% RF Cabot Cheddar, and scallions. Needless to say, it barely fit in the tortilla…

So it ended up being more of a cross of a taco and a burrito…

And didn’t really go with the butternut squash theme at all, but it was still good even if it was random. ๐Ÿ™‚

What is your favorite healthy dessert?

10 Responses

  1. I like putting plain yogurt and frozen strawberries into the food processor and pulsing until smooth. Then I drizzle a bit of honey and voila! Instant frozen strawberry yogurt ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve had the Artic Zero before…Great paired with a vita top! It is so filling that even though you could eat the whole pint (b/c its only like 120 calories), you don’t want to! Definitely not like real ice cream…but hey, the calorie difference is worth it to me!

  3. I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Arctic Zero!! I’ve been dying to try it, but too afraid haha…

    Other than that – did you buy the Cedars brand hummus at Whole Foods? It’s my favoriteeee mmm..

    And – I’ve recently discovered President brand feta cheese in Fat Free. They also have the mediterranean flavor and it’s actually quite great!! Look for it if you can!

  4. I love this chocolate sorbet from Trader Joe’s. Seriously…love it!

    Sometimes it is good to just take a night off from working out to get other things done. It means less stress!

  5. I’m curious to hear about that Arctic Zero! I’m on a big protein banana softserve kick right now because I have all of these protein powder samples and it’s still over 100 degrees here!

  6. Beth, I’m definitely going to have to try that Arctic Zero, because as you know I LOVE ice cream and it would be great to be able to eat a whole pint without killing my day.

    Thanks for encouraging words on my blog. I hope that the twins are doing better–I can’t imagine how scary that must be.

    Anyway, good luck with everything and kudos on making lunch even though you were (somewhat) out of groceries. I have a bad habit of just going to subway on days like that.

  7. I love the Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches. They are so big and yummy but only 150 calories or so!

  8. Yum, your dinner looks good!

    Can’t wait to see what you think of the new ice cream. I am always looking for a healthy alternative to Ben & Jerry’s so hopefully you dig it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I tried the artic zero and it was awful! I almost wanted to go to the store and tell them to refund me. I hope you got a great flavor cause the one i got was not good. And no i can’t remember the type so i really hope yours is good cause i would love to have a low calorie ice cream to enjoy.

  10. How did you like the Arctic Zero? I first saw/heard of it while perusing Amazon.com one day and am dying to see if it’s worth ordering.

Leave a Reply

