• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Me vs. the Butternut

So two things first.

1.) Figs are amazing!! I saw a few comments with questions that I’ll respond to momentarily, but I had never had a fresh one before a few weeks ago, and you just eat them skin and all. They have a really short shelf life so its best to eat them within a day or two of buying them, but you just wash them thoroughly and then enjoy! You can eat them straight up, or also have them grilled or baked on a pizza with gorgonzola and red onions (YUM!!!) or whatever else you can think to do with them, but they are unreal. The fruit itself is pretty sweet but in a wonderful way and the inside is very fleshy and just amazing. They go superbly with honey and all I can say is that now I want more. 🙂

2.) Can I also just say how wonderful vision insurance is? I just went to the eye doc to get glasses because I wear contacts every day and have the extended wear ones that you can sleep with but I abuse them. I can’t even tell you the last time I took them out and you’re supposed to at least 1 night a week, and I woke up today with one red eye. It’s not pink eye (don’t worry), I just have signs of overuse of contacts. shocker. Anyways, I went to get the glasses and because my vision is so bad (-4.25 correction in both eyes!) I had to get a few upgrades including thinner lenses so the glasses are not so think that other people can actually see my eyes behind the glasses… The lady added up the amount the glasses would cost and it would be $576 without insurance. Instead, it cost me just $90 for the exam and glasses with the anti-glare and thinner lenses, and they are cute too! I’ll show you when I get them back in 7-10 days.

Now, onto the main event… butternut squash!

Butternut squash (and squash in general) is one of my very favorite parts of the fall, but they can be intimidating. I usually buy the precubed butternut squash, but lately I’ve been really trying to watch my budget and the amount you get of the pre-cubed stuff is just not worth it to me, especially when the whole squash will be on sale more and more this season (usually around .99 cents a pound near me). So last night, I took on the challenge.

BJTT 161

When picking out a butternut squash, you want to pick one with a long, thick top part (neck?), and a smaller bulb on the bottom, because the top part is all flesh, and the round part on the bottom is mostly full of seeds and stringyness that you have to remove.

First step, cut the top and bottom of the squash off.

BJTT 162
Second step, peel the squash as best you can with a veggie peeler.

BJTT 165

A trick Wil taught me is to have a container/bowl near you while you’re prepping any veggie to throw waste in so you don’t have to go back and forth to the trash can or compost to throw out the peels are you produce them.

BJTT 167

Next, cut the squash in half, removing the neck from the base. You will need a sharp knife for this and some muscle.

BJTT 170

As you can see, I couldn’t get all the peel off with the butternut squash whole, but I was able to get the rest of the peel off after cutting it like this.

Next, cut the base and the neck in half lengthwise.

BJTT 172

Remove the seeds and stringy pulp from the inside of the base with a spoon (or your hands) and throw it in your waste container.

BJTT 174

You can save the seeds and roast or toast them in a pan just like you can with pumpkin seeds, or put them in a container in the fridge if you’d rather save them for later.

BJTT 176

Now, you’re ready to cut it up! Keep cutting and cutting until you have it in mostly similar sized cubes…

BJTT 178

Pat yourself on the back for all your hard work before moving onto the next step… cooking!

Preheat your oven to 400º, and then toss your butternut with 1 tbsp olive oil. You want to toss the olive oil on the squash first, before adding all the seasonings. This helps everything stick to the butternut squash and might seem obvious to some, but I only learned that a little while ago from Wil when he asked me why I was adding everything at once…

I just kept it simple with some salt and pepper, and then spread it out in a single layer on a baking sheet…

BJTT 183 

Into the oven for 20 minutes, mix it around, and then back in for 20 more minutes and you are DONE.

BJTT 191

I loooooved this butternut squash. It felt really rewarding breaking it down myself rather than buying the prepackaged kind, plus this was WAY cheaper. This was super simple but you can get creative with your seasonings if you want to live on the edge.

You can also use the same method to make butternut fries, just cut the squash into the shape of fries rather than cubes.

Yum!

What’s your favorite way to eat squash? Do you buy it prepared or break it down yourself?

15 Responses

  1. you’re making me hungry!

  2. Ridiculous question about butternut squash: Does the skin on your hands get irritated as you peel & cut it? Whenever I try it, the skin on my hands gets very red and tight…then proceeds to peel off (sorry, that’s gross). I can eat it with no problems. It’s the peeling and chopping that gets me. Maybe I’m not really getting all the way through the skin when I peel it???

    • Hmmm I didn’t have a problem with it, but I can see leaving it on your hands for a while that they might get moist/irritated. I made sure to wash them once or twice throughout the process and almost immediately when i was done chopping… but I’m not sure if maybe you’re allergic to it or something??

  3. Wow, it is a lot of work but easy work! I’m gonna try this for the first time this weekend! Thanks for making it easy!

  4. b-nut squash fries are my favorite! great how to post 🙂

  5. I’ve never prepared one myself before. But it doesn’t look too scary! I bet it tastes way better since you put all that effort into preparing it 🙂

  6. I’m going to try this! Thanks for the step-by-step!

  7. I always slice it in half, scoop out the seeds, and put it flesh side down in a pan of water and bake it that way!

  8. I am SO glad you posted this little walk-through. I’ve never been a squash fan in any way whatsoever, but since I’ve moved in with The Boy, who is a die-hard squash devotee, I’ve learned to appreciate it the tiniest bit more. He likes it roasted with lots of butter and brown sugar (of course), but this way seems like it could curb his craving AND not kill my points– love! Squash is already running really cheap near me, so I’ll have to pick some up this weekend and give it a try. Have a great weekend!

  9. I just need to ass more to the fig thing. Eating a dried fig in NO WAY prepares you for the awesomeness of a fresh fig! My Pap grows them and calls me the second any are ready to be picked because I love them so much.

  10. Love butternut squash. I’m also a fan of the garbage bowl. Nice informative post!

  11. Oh man, vision insurance really is the BEST. I didn’t have it with my old job, and just got it as part of the benefits package with my new job. For like 16 cents a paycheck, I only had to pay $19 for 6 months of contacts and like $10 for the eye exam preceding it! That’s compared to the hundreds I would have spent (and DID spend on my glasses right before I started my new job… sigh.)

    On a similar note, however, you should recognize that -4.25 really isn’t that bad. My vision is (brace yourself) -7.00. So, don’t beat yourself up too badly. Getting the super-thin poly-whatever lenses isn’t even a choice for me! Hahaha.

  12. Roasted squash looks great! The only way I’ve done it is cut in half and then roasted that way. I’ll try the cubes though!

    My eyes are -7.25 and -7.50 — I can’t see an inch in front of my face!

  13. I’m impressed! Rachel Ray does the whole garbage bowl thing too haha. The only squash I’ve ever made is spaghetti. But this doesn’t look too hard to do.

Leave a Reply

