• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Mr. Potato Head

Somehow there are only 2 weeks left of my CSA! Even though I feel like it hasn’t been the best value for what I pay, I feel weird that it’s almost over. (Maybe that’s largely because I still have a few payments to make and will be making them after the veggies are done…)

Today’s loot looked pretty good…

BJTT 201

  • Chard
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 2 white patty pan squash
  • 6 golden delicious apples
  • potatoes
  • head of cabbage

This potato was my favorite one:

BJTT 210

Isn’t that funny?? It has two eyes, a nose, and two big ears. No accessories needed for this Mr. Potato Head.

I have to figure out what to do with the large amount of potatoes I have from last week and this week combined. Any suggestions besides just roasting them (which I will definitely do)?

Breakfast today was quite similar to yesterday. If it ain’t broke…

BJTT 211

Scottish Oats (1/4 cup) made with water, topped with a sprinkle of sliced almonds, 2 figs, and a drizzle of honey. So good on this very rainy morning.

What’s your favorite fall themed oatmeal topping? Favorite potato recipe?

Please keep the prayers and positive thoughts coming. They are very needed right now for both Tristan and Harper. I really do believe prayers in numbers works…

17 Responses

  1. My favorite topping on my oatmeal has been apple… I’ve been dicing them up and putting them in my overnight oats. So delicious and perfect for the fall!

    I will continue to pray for Tristan and Harper and the rest of your family.

  2. OMG that potato does look just like mr potato head. Too funny!!! I don’t really switch up my oats but my favorite topping is peanut butter!

    I love making homefries or potato salad with potatoes.

  3. Ok. So I think I’m a little bit scared of figs, but I see everyone eating them. Do you just eat them, skin and all?

  4. I’ll throw cinnamon out there as one. It’s slowly working it’s way into my carbs. And it smells wonderful when you use it…

  5. Pumpkin oatmeal is my new favorite. It’s like a big bowl of warm pumpkin pie. Yum.

    Also, maybe you could make some pesto potato salad or create a potato burger? Cook them with chickpeas and add some type of Indian sauce? Mmm

  6. I’m with previous commenters – have wanted to try figs for a while, but have NO idea how to prepare them! Can you eat them straight out of the carton/bag? Or do you need to peel/cook them?

  7. Make a delicious potato soup! Or some oven fries… Hash browns…. the things are endless. I look forward to seeing what you decided to do with them.

  8. Maybe a potato leek soup?
    been thinking about you & sending good vibes to your nephews.

  9. happy to see I’m not the only one intimidated by figs (other commentors feel the same way) looks delish though!

  10. I’m with Amy – never had a fig straight up. Would love to try them though! I want to try some pumpkiny oats later this fall.

    • They are SO good. I only had them a few weeks ago for the first time – don’t wait! Go buy some. Especially if you find them on sale like I did at Whole Foods!

  11. potato, egg, and bean breakfast tacos

  12. I’m not a big fan of figs. I wish I liked them because they are so healthy…

  13. You should make oven fries!! They are my absolute favorite thing to make right now. Just cut them in strips – like a french fry, put some pam or olive oil and kosher salt and garlic powder, in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes and tossing throughout. delicious. pairs perfectly with eggs or a veggie burger!

Leave a Reply

