• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Broiled Brown Sugar Figs

This morning when I opened my fridge to figure out what to have for breakfast, the fresh figs were faintly calling my name. I’m pretty sure that was largely due to the fact that they have such a short shelf life and were begging to be used before turning, so I obliged.

Figs1

The best part about eating figs besides their incredible subtle sweetness and flavor, is that they are SO easy to prepare. All you have to do is wash them…

Figs

Trim off the tops…

CutOfftheTop

Cut one in half…

CutinHalf

And then the rest…

Cut in Half

And you can stop right there if you like and eat them over yogurt or oatmeal, or just straight up.

I decided to do something a little special this morning, and sprinkled 1 tbsp light brown sugar between them.

Topped w Brown Sugar

I turned the broiler on high and placed them in for 5 minutes while the brown sugar caramelized and the figs themselves got warm and melty.

Broiled

If you are feeling generous, you could easily split this into 2 portions, but I was feeling pretty selfish this morning…

BJTT 222

And topped a 6 oz container of Fage 0% with the brown sugar broiled figs and some sliced almonds.

BJTT 221

The warm, almost crunchy figs from the caramelized brown sugar was a perfect contrast to the creamy, thick greek yogurt and the sliced almonds were a welcome added crunch to the bowl. Heaven.

10 Responses

  1. Wow, Beth those figs look delicious. Although I have to say, the last time I ate figs they were over-ripe and mushy and now I’m a little grossed out by them. But hey, I’ll have to give figs another chance sometime. Are they in season now?

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. Those figs look amazing!!!!! Did they come in your CSA? I need to grab some at the market this weekend. I love to eat them fresh, but will def have to try caramelizing them under the broiler.

  3. I wish I had thought of this when I had 500 figs! haha

    It looks amazing 🙂

  4. I’ve always been scared of figs but you are inspiring me to try!
    hope you have an awesome weekend and get good news about your nephews.

  5. Love the pictures of the figs! I have never eaten figs before, but your pictures just make them look so pretty that I feel rather tempted now. 😉

  6. Girl, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying all your lovely fig posts recently! I’d love to buy some, but here all I’m finding are little crates of already way-too-soft green skinned figs. I miss the beauties you seem to be finding! Maybe I’ll hit up a Farmer’s Makrket, you’ve got me so in the mood for those! And I love how you top your oats with so many of them, looks beauutiful. Have an awesome weekend! Prayers are with you + your family.

  7. Ohhh I’ve never made figs before but you make it look so easy! I can’t imagine how GOOD it was! Esp with the Greek yogurt 🙂

    Happy weekend lady!

    -Laur

  8. Wow that looks amazing. I’ve never made anything with figs.

  9. […] do you think? My friend Sydney made it for me, using a photo I took of those figs back when I made brown sugar broiled figs so I was really happy to be able to use an original photo. I’m so excited to have a real […]

Leave a Reply

