• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Time to Regroup

Today is the first day I’ve had off in two weeks since I worked through last weekend at the conference in Columbus. I was so looking forward to sleeping in and not setting an alarm for the first time in 15 days… but at 5:10 am Wil’s alarm went off because he accidentally set it and I woke up for about an hour and a half before I could fall back asleep. Boo.

I feel like I’ve gotten pretty off track since my half marathon. Granted, I’ve had a lot going on in my personal life as well as my work life, but excuses are excuses, and it’s important for me to focus on myself a bit even when a lot of other things are going on. You’ve probably noticed that I haven’t written about working out in some time… that’s because I took 10 full days off from any form of exercise! I can’t even tell you the last time I went that long without working out, and it didn’t feel very good. It hung over my head almost daily, but I just couldn’t get it together to go to the gym. I was working almost 17 hour days in Columbus and then just exhausted when I got back and had to go grocery shopping, clean, unpack, laundry, etc, etc.

On top of the lack of exercise, I’ve been really lax with eating junk and drinking, and I think all three go very hand-in-hand for me. I’m not saying I haven’t had fun or enjoyed myself with it, I’ve just been feeling kind of gross lately for lack of a better word. Last night after work I went for a drink with my coworker Emily at Bar Dupont. They had an awesome drink menu with cocktails that are normally $11 priced at just $5 for happy hour from 4-6.

I went with the Alan’s Love, which had Smirnoff Pear Vodka, St. Germaine, Honey, Muddled Cucumber, and Lime.

It was AWESOME. Perfect level of sweetness for me and had a nice fresh taste from the cucumber and lime. We were served some bar snacks:

Mixed Nuts, Wasabi Peas, and Corn Nuts. Perfect crunch to go with the drink. We also ordered a flatbread to share.

With fig jam as the sauce, gorgonzola, dried figs, and arugula. SO good. Figs twice in one day is fine by me! 🙂

After Bar Dupont, we ventured over my friend Jess and Amy’s new apartment and had a few more drinks and snacks. We also played dress up…

Amy, Me, and Jess. They have a chest full of costumes and we went a little crazy with it… I have a flapper wig on, a hula skirt, and a sequenced tube top over my clothes. Ha. ‘Twas a fun night!

But I woke up today feeling like I really needed to get it together and start taking care of myself better. I started out by making a delicious breakfast with potato hash and an egg. I started with a potato, a green pepper, and an onion…

I chopped up half the potato

And then nuked it with some water for 3 minutes to cook it. While that was going, I chopped up half the pepper and a chunk of onion.

And then added the onion, 1 tsp of olive oil, and 1 clove of garlic to a pan. After a minute, I tossed in the pepper too.

Once that was going for 3-4 minutes and the onion and pepper were getting soft, I tossed the cooked potatoes into the mix…

And cooked it for one more minute. I cracked an egg directly on top of the potato hash…

Added a little veggie stock to create some steam, and covered the pan until the egg white was cooked through.

Carefully transfered it to a bowl, and voila!

I also had a toasted Bagel Thin on the side.

To help soak up the perfectly cooked yolk…

So good. (FYI – this whole bowl was 4 points on WW, plus 1 for the bagel thin, for a total of 5. 1/2 potato = 1, 1 tsp olive oil = 1, egg = 2, bagel thin = 1)

After that, I went on an amazing bike ride and it felt sooooo good. My goal was to keep all the miles under 5:00 minutes, and I discovered this 11 mile loop the last time I went biking (11 days ago…) that I went for again. Here are the stats:

Distance: 11.01 miles

Duration: 48:50

Avg. Speed: 13.5 mph

Avg. Pace: 4:26 min/mile

Calories: 701

It is an absolutely gorgeous day in DC – around 70 degrees, sunny, and clear. It felt so nice to be outside and work up a sweat. I don’t know WHY I let myself go so long without exercise because its one thing that always makes me feel good.  My plan for the rest of the day is to try to hit up Bikram at 4 because that always helps me get back into a healthy mindset and sweat it out big time, and then laying low. I am really enjoying the relaxation factor this weekend is bringing, and really need to take some time for me. I’m also going to try to lay off drinking because I much prefer waking up feeling refreshed, rather than with a headache. It’s just so hard when if you want to hang out with friends, all there is to do is drink! Argh.

How has your weekend been so far? What is your favorite way to “regroup” when you feel like you’ve gotten off track? Suggestions welcome. 🙂

17 Responses

  1. What a fun night and a wonderful breakfast!! I’m glad you are getting some use out of those potatoes.

    I think easing back into working out after a break by doing bikram is great. You will feel so refreshed after you sweat it out.

  2. Would you old self have gotten back on track?

  3. I have been off track for the past two weeks both in exercise and eating. It has not been good on my waist line but I’ve been much better this week. What’s important for me is to just pick up where I left off and stop feeling down about it.

    • Yeah I think thats a good point. I’m trying not to be too hard on myself guilt-wise, I just feel crappy! Double workout today was a great move in the right direction. 🙂

  4. Beth, I know how hard you work for the conference and how draining your concerns over your nephews are. Take it all in stride and don’t live in fear of it throwing you completely off b/c I know it won’t. You will recover as things return more to normal, but a few drinks with your work wife is key!!

    • thanks for the support Helene! It has been rough but the thing is I feel better about everything when I take time for me, and I haven’t been lately!

  5. omygoodness, i don’t even remember $5 cocktails. here in Australia they average $17 and “happy hour” is $10! needless to say, if i was there i would’ve been all over that drink menu 🙂

    my favourite way to regroup is just lots of veggies and lots of running. looking forward to reading more of your blog!

  6. I LOVE Bar Dupont!!!! I was SO CLOSE to going there last night!!! We walked by then decided to meet a friend at Beacon Sky Bar! Too funny!

  7. how many people can be as fun as you and dress up in wacky costumes with their friends! you’re amazing!! ❤

  8. Maybe your brain and body just needed a break from working out. Don’t feel too bad! Just get back at it when you’re ready. Can you start training for another race?

  9. Not working out and being lax with my diet always go hand in hand. It’s amazing how you let yourself take a break in one area and it all falls to the wayside. But at least you got a good start with the breakfast.

  10. Those cocktails look fabulous- as do the costumes!

  11. Hey Beth!

    I’m curious what you use to count calorie burned? Do you have a special sensor on your bike or a chest strap or…?

    • Hi Jim! I just use the calorie count from my Garmin which is based off activity, height, weight, and age. I’m sure its not entirely accurate since it’s not based off of my heart rate but its a good general idea.

Leave a Reply

