• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Pumpkin Oats are Back!

Good morning and happy Tuesday! 🙂

So I just want to briefly touch on the big thing going on in blogland lately – the Marie Claire article called “The Hunger Diaries.” This article will be in the November issue of Marie Claire and is an extremely slanted article written by Katie Drummond basically saying that the healthy living blogging community perpetuates disordered eating and specifically mentions “The Big Six” (a term which I’d never heard until I saw the article), all of which I read – Caitlin, Jenna, Heather, Kath, Tina, and Meghann. I think many valid points have been made about the article, including the fact that a lot of what was said was taken completely out of context and manipulated to fit into the slanted view that Katie wanted to make the article show.

So I don’t want to beat a dead horse, I just want to say a few things:

1.) Realize that not everything you read is true. Luckily for me, I have read a lot of those blogs for some time so I know the girls are not running 22 miles and then eating a gluten free black bean brownie to refuel. One of the things that I LOVE about healthy living blogs and has really helped me to change my own body image and my own view of healthy eating and living is these blogs.

2.) You can eat whole, real foods, and still maintain or lose weight. A large part of why I started my own blog was to show that you can maintain a significant weight loss (~80 pounds) through eating mostly a whole foods, a view point that I struggled with a lot through my journey with Weight Watchers. WW preached fat-free and prepackaged everything, and I still struggle a bit with this concept because points are so drilled into my brain. Since “breaking up” with weight watchers a few weeks ago, I feel SO freed. If I’m hungry, I can eat something else even if I wouldn’t have had any points left if I was still following the plan. The same goes the other way (though much less so for me!) where I don’t NEED to eat 3 more points even if I have them left for the day.

3.) Some of these things needed to be said. I think being a part of the healthy living community can sometimes skew your view, mostly in terms of exercise. I remember when I had run 12 miles in the morning (my longest run ever at that point) and headed to a blogger meet up and I knew when I got there other people would have run farther that day. I mean, 12 miles is a lot. In most groups of people, if you walk in saying you have run that far, they will be in awe. I think you can sometimes lose your perspective on just how much you accomplish when you compare yourself to other bloggers who are running marathons or ultra marathons, doing century bike races, or participating in triathlons. As long as you are aware that you need to just compare yourself to YOU and focus on your own achievements based on where you are physically at any point in time, you’ll be OK. But sometimes it’s easy to get sucked up into the blog world where people are accomplishing amazing things and you can feel sub-par because you’re “only” running a half marathon.

So that’s that. Just wanted to put those things out there. 🙂

Now, onto the main event… pumpkin oats! I was so happy to see my beloved Libby’s pumpkin hit the shelves again…

CannedPumpkin

And my first (and second) go with it was for one of my fall favorites, pumpkin oats.

PumpkinOats1

In the mix:

– 1 cup water

– 1/4 cup scottish oats

– 1/2 cup canned pumpkin

– a lot of cinnamon

– Hemp Plus Pumpkin Flax Granola (bulk bins at Whole Foods)

– Powdered Peanut Butter!

For the peanut butter, I saw on Emily’s blog a review of different Powdered Peanut Butters which I’ve been curious about so I decided to go buy Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour.

Peanut Flour

You take 2 tbsp of the flour and mix it with a pinch of salt…

FlourwSalt

And then add 1 tbsp water and mix it up…

AllMixedUp

You can add more or less water to make it the consistency you desire depending on what you’re going to do with it (drizzle it for a topping v. thicker for a spoonful). I put the peanut butter on top of the oats along with some granola.

PumpkinOats

It was GOOD. It definitely doesn’t taste just like regular peanut butter, but for 55 calories or 1 point for 2 tablespoons, I think its worth it. I will be experimenting with it more and will keep you posted as I try different things with it!

Questions:

Have you used canned pumpkin yet this season? What have you done with it?

Are you into nut butter? What’s your favorite type?

16 Responses

  1. I just bought my first seasonal can of Libby’s pumpkin this past weekend and will be making some spiced pumpkin bars with cream cheese frosting tonight.

    I’ve never heard of powdered peanut butter, but I definitely have to try this and see how it compares to regular peanut butter. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hey Beth,

    Yeah, I saw the article and it seemed pretty slanted to me, as well. Plus, I follow Kath’s blog and Carrots ‘N Cake, and both blogs seem to promote a balanced, healthy lifestyle.

    Your blog is my favorite though.

    The pumkin oats look really yummy. How do you mix the pumpkin in with the oats?

    • aww thanks Katie! 🙂

      I experimented two different ways and both turned out good/the same. First I added it at the end of cooking and just mixed it through while it was on the stove. Then, I mixed it into the water at the beginning with the cinnamon, and then added the oats and it turned out pretty similar. I love pumpkin oats!!

  3. Well done! 🙂

    One of these days I’m actually going to purchase the peanut flour instead of just saying I’m going to… lol. It seems to be really catching on in the blog world!

  4. I use PB2 both regular and chocolate. They are great to add into smoothies.

    I love peanut and nut butters but have a hard time not over indulging. I don’t have that problem with the powdered peanut butter so it’s great to keep around.

    The pumpkin oats look delish. Can’t wait to try it.

    Just made roasted pumpkin soup from my visit to a pumpkin patch last weekend. It was wonderful. Just oven roasted the pumpkin, red peppers & carrots w/evoo & garlic then pureed. Perfect for a fall evening.

    • Ohhh roasted pumpkin soup! That sounds awesome. I actually just found out I’m getting pie pumpkins in my CSA this week so I might just have to try that!

  5. I have PB2 which is very similar, but I always prefer the real thing. I can’t wait to get some pumpkin puree to add to my oats.

  6. I made pumpkin cranberry cookies the other day, and used the remaining pumpkin in a pumpkin pie smoothie. The cookies taste like thanksgiving 🙂

  7. I am obsessed with peanut flour.. I am almost done my first bag! I have it for bfast and dessert almost every day. My favorite brand of regular pb is TJ’s crunchy unsalted.. it’s delish!
    I also like to mix my peanut flour w. unsweetened cocoa powder and some water.. pb choco sauce!

    • Ohhhh I LOVE that idea!!!!!! I have unsweetened cocoa powder in my pantry and was sad that they didn’t make it in chocolate flavor. What a great idea!!

  8. I’m so getting that pb flour next time I’m at TJs!
    Your #3 point about the MC article really resonates with me. Sometimes reading HL blogs makes running halfs or full marathons, or even a 10K not a big deal, when they are all amazing accomplishments.

  9. I haven’t tried TJ’s peanut flour yet, but I came thisclose to buying it the other day after seeing it on Emily’s blog. I may have to take the plunge.

    I’ve used canned pumpkin to make pumpkin cheesecake…I used to eat it in my oats too before I discovered pumpkin butter from TJ’s…it gives a LOT of flavor without changing the texture of the oats, which I love.

  10. I am just getting caught up in blog land and am out of the loop on the magazine article. When you say it is slanted, was it a critical piece?

    If so, that is such a big shame! Not only do I love those blogs and find so much inspiration from those and others, but I have really been taught a lot about healthy living and cooking. The blog world has helped me realize the diet products and fad ways of exercising or eating are not realistic when it comes to finding balance.

  11. I hoarded cans of pumpkin, so I have been eating it all year! You know what is awesome to do with the pumpkin oats is to whisk in liquid egg whites at the end. It makes the bowl voluminous and creamy. I eat my oats this way all the time now.

    I love pumpkin oats topped with cranberry sauce or with crystallized ginger and toasted pecans.

    Damn… now I want oats for dinner.

  12. you made me smile with this post. thank you for bringing back one of the most amazing breakfasts EVER! ❤

Leave a Reply

