• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Two Quick-n-Healthy Meal Ideas

I looooove pizza. Sometimes I just have to have to have the real thing with a thick crust that’s crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, overflowing with melty cheese and delicious toppings (fig, red onion, and gorgonzola for example!) but sometimes a substitute will do.

Last night, I made a pizza with a tortilla crust for the first time. I know this is not a novel idea, but I was just craving a pizza and didn’t feel like making my own dough and was out of any other bready type thing to use for crust. I was also out of sauce/fresh tomatoes, so I improvised.

I took a whole wheat tortilla and added some chopped sundried tomatoes from Whole Foods that I nuked with some water for 30 seconds to soften them up. Then I piled on Light Shredded Mozz from Trader Joe’s and sprinkled it with some Italian Herb Garlic Gold

TortillaPizza

I threw it into the oven, preheated to 400º, for 10 minutes until the cheese got all melty and bubbly…

BakedPizza

And it was AWESOME. I was actually kind of surprised with how good it turned out considering I used a tortilla and had no sauce, but this was super flavorful and satisfying. The whole thing had 5 points on WW (2 for the tortilla, 2 for 1.5 servings of the cheese, and 1 for the sundried tomatoes) and was worth every bite. For a little extra substance, you could pair it with a broth based soup or a salad to have a well rounded meal.

Lunch today was another one of my go-to meals, a Baked Sweet Potato with Black Beans but this time I spiced it up a bit. Last night I sauteed a green bell pepper and 1/4 of an onion, then added 1/2 cup black beans, some chili powder, salt, and pepper.

OnionsPeppersBeans

I put this in a tupperware and brought it in for lunch today to serve over the baked sweet potato (that I made in the oven while making the pizza!). I also topped it with some goat cheese to make it more substantial.

SweetPotato

This whole thing was only 6 points on WW – 3 for the potato, 1 for the black beans, and 2 for the goat cheese. It was TASTY. You can easily change up the cheese, skip the cheese all together and add salsa to veganize it, or change up the spices with the beans. I normally just use plain black beans on top but its nice to change it up from time to time.

Also, I got my new glasses today…

NewGlasses

What do you think?? It’s kind of a weird adjustment going from contacts to glasses and I felt a little dizzy at first. I’m just happy to have them because I had no back up before if my eyes were bothering me and I cannot function at all without correction since my vision is pretty bad (-4.25).

What are some of your favorite quick meals to make for lunch/dinner?

18 Responses

  1. The glasses look awesome! 🙂

  2. Beth, your new glasses look super cute!!

    And I LOVE pizza as well, although I usually go for the real thing 😉

  3. your pizza looks yummy! sometimes i think i like make shift pizzas better than regular ones 🙂

    and i like the glasses. they go well with your hair.

  4. The glasses are way cute!

    I love tortilla pizzas! Yours looked very yummy and creative.

    Favorite go-to meal is scrambled eggs with vegetables. I just love eggs and feel so satisfied from eating any egg dish.

  5. Love the new glasses!

    My favorite quick lunch is tuna and cottage cheese with some fruit or veggies on the side.

  6. cute glasses!!!

    I used to be jealous of all my friends with glasses. Then I rocked out a fake pair for a while because I thought they were fun… Yeah, I’m a nerd.

  7. Love those glasses! They look very similar to the ones I have.

  8. You look so cute in those glasses~ Very chic and trendy! My favorite go to lunch is a veggie sandwich/wrap. I love just simple raw veggies with a little laughing cow cheese spread onto a wrap or bread. Sometimes I get a little rebellious and add hummus ;-). I’m such a risk taker!

  9. I think those glasses are cute on you!!:)
    I make veggie pizza on a tortilla’s they are delicious!

  10. ooooh LOVE the new glasses!!!!

  11. I love making tortilla pizzas, but my toppings are no where near as sophisticated as yours! 😉
    BTW – Love the glasses…very stylish! 😛

  12. Love the new glasses Beth! They look great on you!

  13. I love the pizza — looks delicious!

    And your glasses look nice Beth! I wear contacts but I’ve thought about going back to glasses — actually I think more about getting Lasik!

  14. Love the new glasses! I rock a -6.0 in my right eye and a -4.25 in my left, so I understand the joy of thinned down lenses.

  15. Cute glasses! I love the look!

Leave a Reply

