• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Anger Works Wonders

Happy Hump Day! Thanks for all your feedback on my new glasses – I’m digging them! It’s definitely a little weird to adjust to when you’re used to wearing contacts because of the peripheral vision and I’ve definitely had to stop a few times while going up and down the escalator into the metro, but I’m getting used to them. In fact, last night I put my contacts in to go for a run and the contacts made me all dizzy, so I’m pretty sure I’m just screwing with my eyes bigtime.

Recently I have been having the perfect after work / pre-workout snack that has been so satisfying and perfect fuel before a workout.

Almond Butter and Honey Toast

One slice of Ezekial Sprouted Grain Bread (3.99 at Trader Joe’s which is WAYYY cheaper than in other grocery stores!) with crunchy almond butter and a drizzle of honey. Original? No. Delicious? Yes. I’d never tried the sprouted grain bread before and it is seriously delicious. The bread itself is pretty dense and soo satisfying. It gets perfectly crunchy when you toast it and stands up well to lots of toppings.

After my almond butter honey toast, I went out for a run. Something annoying happened at work right before I left, so I was feeling a little angry before my run. Anger seriously works wonders. I went out and had the fastest run I think I’ve ever had. I definitely felt like I was going really fast and towards the end really had to push myself to keep up the pace, but check out the stats:

  • Distance: 4.01 miles
  • Duration: 36:40
  • Pace: 9:09 (!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
  • Speed: 6.6mph
  • Calories: 460

I usually finish around 10 minute average, so to cut almost a whole minute off of 4 miles made me ecstatic. I did a pretty good job keeping up the pace too – the fastest mile was 9:02 (the first mile) and the slowest mile was 9:17 (the third mile), so only 15 seconds difference. I came in and felt a whole lot less angry! I did have a little bit of a chafing problem…

Chafing

It was actually bothering me a bit towards the end of my run (where my bra strap hits) but I almost never have any problems with chafing, so I was kind of surprised that it bothered me on just a 4 mile run. Luckily I have some Body Glide at home from a race expo so that I will be OK for one more run (tomorrow) before Sunday’s race.

When I opened my fridge for dinner, the can of pumpkin was crying out to be used, so I found out a sort of weird way to incorporate it into my meal, but I’ll be back at lunch to show you that because I’m having leftovers! I also used the pumpkin when preparing today’s breakfast… pumpkin overnight oats!

Though slightly sad when I used the last of the Crunchy Almond Butter for last night’s preworkout snack, it left me with one thing on my mind – Oats in a Jar! Into the mix went:

I basically used the pumpkin as a substitute for the yogurt since the consistency is similar, and it worked perfectly. It also happens to be vegan! (Also only 4 points on WW plus whatever was left in the jar worth of almond butter)

OatsinaJar

There was actually enough going on in the jar that I didn’t even need to top it off with anything… SO good! It had been far too long since I had OIAJ… yum.

Do you ever get chafing or any recurring issues from running/working out? What’s your favorite snack lately?

18 Responses

  1. How do you (and others like Kath) always have jars of almond butter/ peanut butter with just a little in it? That so rarely happens for me 😉

    Congrats on the awesome run! You must feel so proud of yourself.

  2. anger is one of the best exercise motivators! At my old job I truly hated my boss, and once a week I would go to kickboxing after work and picture punching her face lol.
    Way to go on your run!!

  3. Congrats on cutting so much time off your run! That’s awesome!

  4. I agree – anger is such a good catalyst for a good run!
    As for chafing – I had serious problems with it! No matter how long the run was (2 miles or 10) I would chafe around my rib cage & under/between the ladies. I tried so many different anti-chafing creams/ointments & even athletic tape, but no luck. I ended up having to switch sports bras! I use Enell bras now…ultra expensive to 100% worth it for me. (Sorry that sounds sort of like a commercial…they’re THAT good though.)

    For other areas that crop up randomly – waistband/underarms/legs, I’ve found that A&D ointment works the best for me! Plus, it’s cheap and you can get it anywhere! (But it smells funny.)

    Congrats on the 9:00 pace! That’s awesome girl!

  5. You’re right about your bad day theory. I kick a little more ass on those days in the gym… 😉

  6. A 9:00 mile and a chaffing problem? Yep, you’re definitely a runner!

  7. I get the same chafing issue there, right under my bra strap, and also along the bottom of the bra under the girls (which is a particularly painful place because obvi you have to wear a bra all day). I’ve found a mix of body glide first, then some vaseline on top of that works wonders for me. I never get that issue anymore.

  8. I’m completely addicted to green monsters right now! And pumpkin!

  9. Funny, I just had a client quiz me on Ezekial bread and it’s health benefits. I have literally never tried it! I don’t live anywhere close to a place that would sell but I am inclined to make a trip to Trader Joes this weekend now!

    • It is GOOD. It’s definitely worth the trip to TJ’s for! It’s usually in the freezer section of most grocery stores so check there at your local grocer, but it can be really pricey!

  10. I missed the update about your new glasses, so I had to go back and look – they are SO CUTE!

  11. I loev the anger motivator- gets me through my work outs too…
    How many points in your OIJ- total
    I have been on a almond/peanut butter kick- with ANYTHING!!! I need to stop

  12. I usually only get chafing under my heart rate monitor underneath my breasts. It’s from the heat/sweat and friction. If I use lanacane or body glide that helps a lot.

Leave a Reply

