• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

The Power of 10

Last night during my run I was thinking about my upcoming 10k on Sunday and how I would LOVE to finish in under an hour… then I was counting up all the races I’ve run and realized that it will be my 10th race.. a 10k… on 10-10-10. Weird!!!! (Side note: I finally created a Races page which has all the races I’ve participated in with finish times and links to recaps)

I mentioned in this morning’s post that when I opened my fridge to think about dinner last night/breakfast and lunch today, the can of pumpkin was calling my name. The other thing calling my name (from the freezer!) was these Meatless Meatballs that I bought at Trader Joe’s:

MeatlessMeatballs

1 serving is 6 (smallish) meatballs, and has 140 calories, 6 grams of fat, 4 grams of fiber, and a whopping 16 grams of protein (points value = 2). I was thinking about making pasta but wasn’t really feeling it, so decided to go with something similar to what was on the front of the package.. a meatball sub. I took out 2 servings (one for dinner and one for lunch) and dug to the back of my fridge to find some sauce when I realized I only had a tiny bit of sauce left.

So, to bulk it up, I combined equal parts of sauce with canned pumpkin, and mixed the meatballs in and simmered it for about 10 minutes until they were heated through.

MeatballswithSauce pumpkin

The pumpkin worked like a charm! It has a similar consistency to the sauce so kept it thick and chunky, and who can complain about an extra serving of veggies and extra fiber?

I loaded half of the mixture onto a piece of Ezekial bread and then topped it with some light shredded mozzarella (also from Trader Joe’s and only 1 point a serving!) and popped it in the oven to melt the cheese.

Finished OpenFaceSub

I also roasted some potatoes to go with the sub (random, I know, but I’m trying to use ‘em up!). I washed and sliced up the potatoes, and then mixed them with 1 tbsp olive oil first, and then added salt, pepper, and Italian Herb Garlic Gold.

SlicedPotatoesReadyfortheOven

I put them on a baking sheet

OnaBakingsheet

And roasted them at 400º for 25 minutes, turning once. They turned out perfect!

FinishedPotatoes

I could have kept them in for 5-10 more minutes but my patience was wearing thin. I served up about 1/3 of them on the side…

PotatoesonmyPlate

Plus some boiled green beans for an extra veggie kick.

GreenBeans
Overall it made for a very satisfying dinner (and lunch!)

WholePlate

It actually left me really stuffed after dinner, so I had a lot less potatoes with it for lunch and heated it in the microwave rather than the oven.

What’s the most creative way to use canned pumpkin that you’ve ever heard of or tried yourself?

19 Responses

  1. Now that is a creative way to use pumpkin. I heard of pumpkin lasagna before from another blog, but have yet to try it! It look and sounded amazing though!

  2. First off, kick ass on that 10K. Secondly, man I love roasted potatoes topped with some parsley and a dash of rosemary or thyme. Noms.

    As for canned pumpkin, I’ve been seeing a LOT of pumpkin recipes on Foodgawker and a pumpkin hummus caught my eye. Sounds appealing. And pumpkin gnocchi, you could probably not go wrong with that. And, you could probably add a dash of canned pumpkin sauce as a base to a wrap.

    I am a HUGE fan of pumpkin butter. Yum. Can’t wait to buy from TJoe’s.

  3. I could eat meatballs and hamburgers every night of the week. I have never tried meatless though. What is the flavor and does the sauce help?

    • These are actually really good! The flavor is pretty mild but they really soak up the flavor of the sauce so I’d say yes, it helps!

  4. Pumpkin and meatballs? I guess it would work in a salty and sweet sorta way. You always make everything look good and impressive though.

  5. Looooookkkkssss delish to me!!!!! 🙂

  6. 10th race on 10-10-10 IS weird! good luck!

    That meal looks fabulous! 🙂

  7. What a wonderful meal! And good luck for your race!!!

  8. I’m glad you liked the meatless meatballs! They are one of my favorites!

  9. I make these pumpkin pancakes that are so good – it uses skim evaporated milk and I let the batter sit for 15 minutes – nice and fluffy!

    Not very original, but good!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2009/11/11/theme-of-the-day-pumpkin/

  10. wowww the 10 10 10 10 10 10 thing is kinda freaky! but really neat!

    that creation looks AMAZING. that’s such a great idea to add pumpkin! i wonder if anyone’s made pumpkin salsa before? that might be interesting tasting!

  11. 10–its a recipe for success! you can definitely do it! I can’t wait to hear!

  12. i must be the only blogger on earth that just doesn’t think pumpkin is the best thing ever

  13. i am going to try making a pumpkin hummus to take to a work party this weekend. they are all foodie types so i know i have got be creative!

    that is too crazy with all the 10s! Maybe it is your power number?!

  14. I’ve been debating trying the meatballs. Glad to hear that you enjoy them. I’m going to pick them up at my next TJs stop. Along with some wine…mmm…meatballs and wine. 🙂

  15. I made pumpkin polenta chili once and really liked it. My husband thought it was disgusting though! lol!

    Good luck with your race this weekend and have a nice visit! I’ll keep praying for your nephews!

  16. i call those hobo meals when u top bread with chili or whatever else and then melt a slice of cheese ontop!! SO GOOD 😛

Leave a Reply

