• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Time for a Vitalicious Giveaway!!

Hey there! I am pretty excited because today is my Friday!! I’m going up to visit my sister and nephews this afternoon in Philly, and staying through Saturday. Harper had heart surgery yesterday and it went well, but recovery can be the hard part. I’m feeling very positive and appreciate all the kind words, positive thoughts, and prayers that you’ve all sent even more than you know. 🙂

Last night I made dinner in under 20 minutes and it was totally delicious. I cooked up some brown minute rice (ready in 10), and while that was going I browned some tofu in a pan. I steamed this bag of frozen veggies from Trader Joe’s in a pan with some water:

FrozenVeggies

And then added about half of this jar of Tikka Masala Curry Sauce from World Market:

CurrySauce

I got this at World Market ages ago and last night was the perfect night for it because I wanted something quick since I had a lot stuff to do to get ready for Philly today.

I mixed the heated veggies with the tofu and the sauce and poured it over some of the brown rice…

TofuCurryoverBrownRice

And it was AWESOME. I realize this isn’t the prettiest picture on Earth, but I promise it tasted really good. I highly recommend that curry sauce!

So, honestly, I don’t even know who I am anymore. I went for a run this morning and check out these stats:

  • Distance: 3.51 miles
  • Duration: 31:02
  • Pace: 8:51
  • Speed: 6.8 mph
  • Calories: 397

Me? Running under a 9 minute mile? I don’t even know what came over me. It was pretty chilly when I got outside (before 7am!) so I think I ran like the wind to warm up since my first mile was 7:58 (WHAT!?) and then slowed down a bit for the next 2.5, finishing those around 9:15ish. I am not going to lie and say that I felt good after the run – I wanted to die just a little bit. But after I recovered and drank some water, I started feeling better and really proud. Now if I can just get somewhere in that range on Sunday’s 10th run that’s a 10k on 10-10-10 I will be one happy camper.

And now… my first giveaway in ages!!

Last night I got home and had a Super Sampler from Vitalicious waiting for me!! It had a variety of VitaTops and VitaBrownies, and I wasted no time trying a new to me flavor… Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip!

FudgeyPeanutButterChipVT

The peanut butter chips got all melty when I put this in the toaster and it was AWESOME. I love VitaTops but I’ve only tried a few flavors so I’m excited to sample the rest of them! This morning I had a toasted Triple Chocolate Chunk VitaTop over my Pumpkin Overnight Oats.

OvernightPUmpkinOatsVita

Perfection. Into a bowl last night went:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate vega shake-n-go
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds

And then I added the toasted VitaTop this morning and it was AWESOME.

From the website, “Founded in 1999, Vitalicious Foods Inc. is the market leader of innovative “vital and delicious” baked goods that promote a healthy lifestyle without sacrificing taste. First to market with 100-calorie servings, Vitalicious continues to lead the way with a holistic approach that maximizes satisfaction with minimum calories. Vitalicious creates and sells a variety of unique, healthy, value-added baked goods under the VitaMuffin™, VitaTops™, VitaBrownie™, VitaCake™ and VitaMuffin Mix™ trademarks.”

These are delicious treats that have only 100 calories, 3-4 grams of protein, 5-6 grams of fiber, and 0-1.5 gram of fat (aka 1 point on WW!). They make a perfect dessert if you have it over ice cream or fro yo, a great snack drizzled with some almond butter, or a perfect oatmeal topper in the AM!

And one lucky reader gets one of the same sampler packs that I received! Their picture is way better than mine:

supersampler

There are three ways to enter. One is a must, and then you can do 2 or 3 or both for extra chances to win!

  1. Visit the Vitalicious website and tell me which flavor of VitaTop, VitaMuffin, or VitaBrownie you most want to try.
  2. Tweet about this giveaway (I am @bethsjourneytt)
  3. Write about this giveaway on your blog if you have one.

Make sure you leave a separate comment on this post for each entry. I will pick a random winner on Monday morning, so you have through Sunday to enter. Good luck!!

100 Responses

  1. I would like to try the Apple Crumb VitaTop! mmmmm : )

  2. So, I have to ask, how is today your Friday? Are you in Event Management? I love your recipe. Its quick, easy, healthy and inexpensive. That’s my kind of recipe.

  3. I would love to try theFudgy Peanut Butter Chip! It looks amazing!

  4. I love Vitatops! I haven’t got to try any flavor but the Deep Chocolate ones because they sell those at Costco! lol Looking at the website though, the Chocolate Mint and the Banana Nut ones look soooo yummy! I may need to order them online sometime!

    Hope your nephews are doing much better! Have a good visit in Philly!

  5. deep chocolate are my fave that i’ve had, but i also think the apple crumb and chocolate mint sound good! they should really get on making a pumpkin vitatop 😀

  6. I would love to try the fudgy chocolate chip. Everything peanut butter and chocolate is my favorite wow mmm…!!

  7. Vita tops=Fantastic! I love the corn muffins like they are my own child.

  8. OMG – I didn’t know that there were cakes and brownies! My daughter and I love the Deep Chocolate VitaTops, however, the chocolate VIta Cake and VIta Brownie look DELICIOUS!

  9. I love love the dbl chocolate.yum!

  10. I tweeted using your button….

  11. I would love to try the fudgy peanut butter chips and for just 1 point what a great snack!

  12. I love the PB flavor – so I want to try it again and again!
    Hope that your Philly trip goes well and you get good news about your nephews. xoxo

  13. So glad you’re getting up to Philly this weekend and that the kiddos are still doing well!!
    I’m thinking the fudgey banana are calling my name. Yum!

  14. Look at you girl, running those miles faster and faster each time. Truly inspiring. I love reading posts like these.

  15. My pick would have to be the fudgy peanut butter chip. It looks so good!!!

  16. I would love to try the fudgy peanut butter chip! I love the chocolate/peanut butter combo and since it’s just 100 calories and 8 grams of fiber, what a healthy way to indulge!

  17. I so want this!!! Crossing my fingers…

    I’m eyeing the sample of vitabrownies that appears to be in the box.

    I’ve never had vitatops before- but i’m pretty sure the triple chocolate chunk is calling my name!

    I’m glad Harper’s surgery went well! And enjoy your visit with them!

  18. The triple chocolate chunk looks amazing for dessert. Blue bran looks great for a breakfast treat. Yum!

  19. I really want to try the mint choc. vita top but would love any of them! They are SOOOOOO good!

  20. Anything with peanut butter. I’m licking my lips!

  21. I really want to try the banana nut – it would be delicious on top of a bowl of oats. But all of them sound really good!

  22. Fudgy peanut butter chip all the way. The vita brownies also look delicious!

  23. I tweeted about it 🙂

  24. […] you do, Beth over at Beth’s Journey to Thin is doing a giveaway for a sampler pack […]

  25. Oooh, Beth – I haven’t tried these, but have wanted to so badly (I just can’t afford them), and with starting a new job, they would be great to take for breakfast!
    So Really, I want to try them all, but if I only got to pick one flavor I’d say – Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip.

    Also, your dinner looks fantastic – I’ve got to try that sometime.

    And I hope you have a wonderful time with your family, and I am happy to hear surgery went well. Your nephews and your family are in my thoughts, I hope the best for you all.

  26. I have heard great things about these, but never had a chance to try them yet. I think they all look delicious, but I would like to try the Triple chocolate chunk! Yummy!

  27. I want to try the Triple Chocolatey Chip Vita Top!

  28. I’d love to try the deep chocolate kind!

  29. the fudgy peanut butter chip looks amazing!!!

  30. Apple crumb sounds like a fun flavor. I don’t think our store carries Vitatop because I can’t find them.

  31. I want the deep chocolate brownie!

  32. and I tweeted @eatrunread

  33. That dark chocolate pomegranate brownie sounds interesting! I’m so jealous of all your free samples! Who knew there were 100 calorie brownies? I’ve been praying for you and the twins, Beth. Have a great trip to Philadelphia—my old hometown!

  34. I also posted it on my blog!!

  35. I have to go with choc w/PB chips — I’ve never tried Vitatops but I’ve heard they taste pretty good.

    AWESOME job on your run girl!!!

  36. I’m more than slightly in love with the corn muffin vita tops. Yum… I like carbs, though, so I’m sure I’d like them all!

  37. That fudgy peanut butter chip flavor looks uh-mazing!! Yum!

  38. You inspire me! I have been following your blog now for a few months & love it!! Thanks for having a give-a-way! I want to try those dark chocolate pomegranate! Yum!

  39. I’ve tried (and loved) most of them, but I still haven’t tried the Triple Chocolate Chunk! So I’ll go with that one.

  40. First of all, best of luck with your nephews. I live in Philly and we have great doctors here. I know they are in great care.

    As for the vitatops, I’d love to try the triple chocolate. Just typing triple chocolate makes me want some!

  41. I want to try the the banana nut vita top!!

  42. I really want to try that Trader Joe’s Hodgepodge. I’ll have to look for it next time. What a good idea for a quickie dinner.

    I’ve been wanting to try Vitalicious tops for sooo long! I’d love to dry the deep chocolate or peanut butter.

  43. Tweeted! 🙂

  44. The Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip one sounds amazingggg! Peanut butter and chocolate are so good together. Every time I look for these in my grocery store I cant find them even though the website says they have them 😦

  45. I would love to try the Fudgy Peanut Butter. I heart all things pb and chocolate and they only sell one flavor of Vitatop (chocolate) around me. However, with the choc, if you had a little tbsp of PB and put them in the microwave..mmmmm heaven!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  46. Your picture of the Fudgy Peanut Butter won me over. I’d love to try any of them though!

  47. Entry #2
    I mentioned your giveaway in my blog today:
    http://iviemarie.blogspot.com/2010/10/week-34-wednesday.html

    🙂 Ivie

  48. I want to try the mint chocolate kind. Yummmmm

  49. My favorite is Cran Bran, but I want to try mint chocolate! I love love love vita tops!

  50. CORN! YUM!

  51. Chocolate Mint or Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip – YUM!

  52. I would love to try the Golden Corn!

  53. VitaTops! YUMMY!!! I really want to try the Apple Crumb VitaTops and the Chocolate Mint VitaTops!

  54. Oooh, the chocolate mint one looks delicious! I’ve had the deep chocolate ones before and they are SO good, but add some mint in there? YUM!

  55. I LOVE their golden corn vitatops! But I’d love to try something I haven’t had before, like the Banana Fudge tops!!

  56. I tweeted your giveaway, thanks for the chance to win!

  57. Gosh Iv’e tried several of their flavors, but I would love to try the chocolate mint one. I haven’t seen that near me yet!

  58. I would like to try the Dark Chocolate Pomegranate vitatops they sound heavenly with a touch of healthy in for good measure.

  59. Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip for sure! 🙂

  60. velvety chocolate!

  61. i wanna try the apple crumb! but i loveeee the deep chocolate ones!

  62. I literally just got home from the grocery store with 2 boxes of vita tops (banana nut & chocolate chunk) YUMM. They were on sale for 50 cents off the reg price, which isn’t much, but hey, I saved a dolla, hollaa! I would LOVELOVELOVE to try the dark chocolate pomegranate and the Fudgey peanut butter chip. they both sound amazing!

  63. I want to try fudgy peanut butter chip YUM it sounds heavenly!

  64. the banana nut Vitatop looks very good!

  65. I hope you have a good weekend and I will keep your nephews in my thoughts.

    I love vita muffins… I’d most like to try the golden corn because I havent had those yet!

  66. I also tweeted @ashleighsslice

  67. I have never had them (don’t know where to get them)! I would love to try any of the flavors because I have heard so many great things about them.

    I will definitely be blogging about this giveaway.

    Thanks for the opportunity.

  68. I gotta say the Fudgy Choc Chip Vita tops look pretty darn tasty!!

  69. Oh, oh…Fudgy Peanut Butter….never tried any of the Vitatops and am dying to! 🙂

  70. So glad Harper’s surgery went well!

  71. I vote for Sugar-Free Banana Nut! Anything with banana so doesn’t require sugar, so I’m a fan of those guys and their list of ingredients!

    God’s doing beautiful works in Harper’s life, He’s in control of this and I’m so happy the surgery went well! Take care, amazingly fast runner! 😀

  72. I would love to try the chocolate mint! 🙂

  73. Mmmm! I’d like to try the Banana Nut and, of course, the Chocolate PB! 🙂

  74. I love the Deep&Velvety Chocolate VitaBrownie. So good mid-morning with a cup of coffee 🙂

  75. I am a HUGE fan of anything banana nut flavored, so I would LOVE to try out their banana nut VitaTops to see how they are! Yum-o!

  76. Velvety Chocolate. Yum yum yummy I got chocolate in my tummy.

  77. Peanut Butter Chocolate! My favorite combo.

  78. Oh, I definitely tweeted this one! (@kimi_joy)

  79. OK, so I must really want these cuz I’ve blogged about the giveaway, too: http://iamlosingit.tumblr.com/post/1269599297/vitatop-giveaway

  80. I want to try the new apple kind!

  81. just tweeted!

  82. Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip Vitatops all the way!!! Oh my goodness those sound amazing! Thanks for the giveaway!

  83. What a fun giveaway, I have been wanting to try these things for a long time! I would definitely be excited about the fudge PB ones…what’s better then chocolate and PB?

  84. I really like the chocolate Vita Top, but I’ve also heard the banana nut is great. Sounds like a good morning treat!

  85. Mmm… chocolate brownies! I’ve been wanting to try their products for a while now but haven’t seen them in the store.

  86. Oh, yum! I am automatically in love with anything that involves chocolate, but I’m strangely interested in the corn muffin top!

  87. I would totally want to try the Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip. yowza!

  88. I would like to try the Apple Crumb VitaTop!

  89. I would love to try the, Apple crumb, Yum! I have tried the fudgy chocolate chip and they were good too!

  90. WOW! banana nut and triple chocolate chunk vitatops sound INSANELY good!!!

  91. The Dark Chocolate Pomegranate sounds so good!!

  92. Fudgy PB Chip Hells yes!!

  93. Tweeted!

  94. I want to try Banana Nut!

  95. Tweeted @vivalameaganx3

  96. hands down, fudgy pb chip, GAH

Leave a Reply

