• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

And the Winner Is…

Thanks for all your kind words and support on this morning’s post. It’s going to be a long road ahead so your positive thoughts and prayers have and will continue to help tremendously as my family works through this rough time.

I came back to DC last night after going to church in the morning with my sister in Philly, and Wil and I went to the grocery store to pick up a few things. I needed some things for lunch and dinners this week, and he bought some ingredients to make dinner for us last night… Fall Inspired Veggie Lasagna!

FallLasagna

I was busy unpacking and doing other things while he was cooking, but he made the lasagna dough from scratch, and then layered this casserole with the homemade pasta, sweet potatoes, celery root, mushrooms, turnip greens (from our CSA), acorn squash, ricotta cheese, and shredded mozzarella. He baked it for about an hour and it got all bubbly and hot. I’d never had a fall inspired lasagna with root veggies and squash before, and this was AWESOME. I froze about half of it, and then we had some for dinner last night…

MyPortion

Plus a salad that I made with a spinach base, roasted pecans, dried cranberries, and goat cheese

DinnerSalad

You better believe I gladly had leftovers for lunch today. 🙂

Last night at the grocery store, we went to the new Georgetown Safeway in DC. It’s been all the rage since it opened up a few months ago because it has an enormous produce section and is just huge. Going Sunday night was probably not the ideal time to go because it was SO crowded and I hate having so many people around when I’m trying to go up and down aisles, so I didn’t even make it to the prepared foods section which I hear is unreal. One thing that did amaze me was their make-your-own-nut-butter station.

MakeYourOwnNutButter

The Whole Foods I go to has three of these where you can make peanut butter, honey peanut butter, or almond butter. I’ve tried honey peanut butter the last time I was there and I loved it because the consistency is so good and it tastes so fresh!

The Safeway last night had almond butter, peanut butter, cashew butter, chocolate peanut butter, honey peanut butter, and a few others I’m sure I’m missing. The chocolate peanut butter had just roasted peanuts and chocolate chips in it, and everything else just had the nuts! It was SO awesome and I’ve never tried cashew butter before, so I decided to churn a little and give it a try. Breakfast today was an Oikos blueberry yogurt, a small sliced banana, raw oats, and a big spoonful of the cashew butter.

Breakfast

This was SO delicious. The flavor of the fresh churned nut butter just blows away the jarred stuff, in my opinion. It’s hard to describe the texture but it’s light and airy, almost like whipped peanut butter, but its got little chunks of peanuts throughout so there’s a bite to it. It’s not quite as chunky as traditional chunky peanut butter, but there are little chunks in every bite so I almost prefer it even though I am a chunky girl at heart (no pun intended… ;)).

Also, the winner of the Vitalicious giveaway! Congratulations to #38 – Holly of Couch Potato Athlete! She said, “I have to go with choc w/PB chips — I’ve never tried Vitatops but I’ve heard they taste pretty good.” Congratulations, Holly! Please email me your address info at bethklein at gmail dot com so I can pass it along to the Vitalicious peeps and get you your Super Sampler.

What is your favorite type of nut butter? Crunchy or creamy?

9 Responses

  1. It depends on what kind of mood I’m in. Lately, it’s been creamy. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for these churn your own contraptions!

  2. Beth I am so sorry to hear about Tristan — you and your family are definitely in my thoughts and prayers!

    ***

    I am so happy to have won your giveaway! I will email you right away 🙂

    Favorite nut butter? Regular ole Jif peanut butter or TJ’s raw almond butter!

  3. My deepest sympathy for you and your family.
    On a lighter note, I think I use to be a hardcore chunky fan, but as I get older, I find myself preferring smooth nut butter. And btw, your chunky comment made me chuckle as I read it 🙂

  4. i am keeping you, your family and baby tristan in my thoughts as you get thru this rough time.

    that nut butter station is crazy! i like crunchy but have been making my own lately and i keep forgetting to scoop some of the nuts out for crunchiness.

  5. I prefer creamy peanut butter. I’ve seen the make your own peanut butter stands at the grocery store but never tried it!

  6. I haven’t tried enough different kinds of nut butter to have a favourite … I really want to try hazelnut butter. At the moment, I am loving PB&Co. maple peanut butter best!!!

  7. Oh my goodness – I just read your last post. Please know that we are sending you and your family lots of love, prayers and thoughts xx

  8. HOLLY IS SO LUCKY!! congrats to her ❤
    wow i love how u paired the flavored greek yogurt, it makes the dish so colorful- almost like a field of lilac flowers among heaps of bananas, cashew butter, and oats ❤ ❤

  9. dang that’s so cool you can make your own nut butter there!!!

    i usually just stick with good old creamy peanut butter. Sunflower butter is really addicting too though!

Leave a Reply

