• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

RIP Baby Tristan Livore

There’s no easy way to say this, but this weekend was really, really tough and one of the saddest things I could ever even fathom experiencing. I went up to Philly on Thursday to help out my sister and her husband, Wendy and Justin, and to visit my teeny nephews. Wendy was feeling pretty under the weather so I just helped them with mundane tasks like laundry, cleaning, cooking, taking care of the dog, etc. Then, Saturday early afternoon, the call came. Tristan was not doing well, and was likely not going to make it.

Wendy and Justin had to rush to the NICU, and Justin’s mom, Beth, and I went to meet them shortly after. What followed was one of the saddest and most heart wrenching experiences that I could ever even dream up. Justin and Wendy got to give Tristan his first and last bath, and hold him for the very first time. Their pastor came and baptized him right before he passed, and it was so special to get to be a part of it, but so, so devastating to be there as my sister lost her baby Tristan. Luckily Harper is doing extremely well and we’re hoping that Tristan continues to watch down from above and protect his baby brother. Please, please keep praying and sending positive thoughts and vibes for my sister and her family – – they need it more than ever.

I know this is a very tough topic and something no one wants to even think about, but this blog has served as my journal in a lot of ways to vent my frustrations and share my triumphs, and this is obviously the most important thing to me right now.  It feels very weird to be back at work today and have to function like normal after experiencing such a tremendous loss, but I am here and trying to keep trucking along.

42 Responses

  1. Been there Beth. Praying for you and the family.

  2. I’m so sorry your family is going through this. I couldn’t even imagine. Thoughts and prayers your way.

  3. Beth, I’m so sorry for you and your family’s loss. I can’t imagine how tough it is for you to be at work right now. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  4. Oh, Beth.. I am so sorry. You and your family will be in my thoughts.

  5. No words to describe the sincere sadness I feel for you and your family and the pain you are suffering. Sending prayers above…

  6. My thoughts are with your family today. I am very sorry to hear about your loss.

  7. Beth, I am so so sorry for your loss. I will keep your family in my prayers… he is now another angel looking down on your family….

  8. I’m so, so sorry Beth…I’ve been through this with a few friends, and losing a child/infant is so difficult. Praying that you have the strength for yourself and your sister. Be strong for her. We’re all here for you.

  9. I can’t even imagine how hard this is for you and your family. I’m sorry for you loss.

  10. Oh sweetie, I’m so so sorry. I’m definitely keeping you in my thoughts and have all the well wishes in the world for your family!

  11. Lifting baby Tristan in prayer. I am soo so sorry to hear about your families loss. We will be keeping your sister and brother in law in our thoughts.

  12. I am so sorry. My heart dropped when I read the title. 😦 I hope and pray that baby Harper keeps on fighting.

  13. I was so sad when I read your post on Twitter. My heart goes out to your whole family. I cannot even imagine the pain your sister is going through, and how Harper will feel when he’s older and finds out about his brother. 😦 Hugs to you and your whole family!!!

  14. I am so, so sorry for your loss. Stay strong!

  15. My heart just dropped when I saw the title of this post. There are never really words that can adequately comfort someone, so I just want you to know you and your family are in my thoughts today.

  16. I am so sorry for your loss. You and your family are in my thoughts today.

  17. I’m so sorry to learn of what you and your family are going through. I’ll keep you all in my prayers. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be.

  18. My heart goes out to you and your family Beth. Your family will be in my prayers.

  19. I’m so sorry. I hope your family is able to find some strength in each other during this tough time. Your family is in my thoughts. Continued prayers for Harper.

  20. Beth I am terribly sorry for the loss to you and your family. My sincerest thoughts and prayers are with you.

  21. Beth, I am so sorry to hear about Tristan. Don’t feel bad for sharing about it here — thanks for letting us walk with you in a way. Will take a moment right now to pray for your sister, you, and your whole family.

  22. Beth, I am so sorry for you and your family. My condolences to all.

  23. Beth I am so so so sorry to hear about your loss this weekend. I will be thinking and praying for you and your family. It is never easy to try to return to a “normal” schedule when something like this has happened, and the only advice I can give is to take things piece by piece and when you need to let yourself think about it or grieve – do so. Take care!

  24. I’m so sorry Beth.

  25. I am so sorry for your loss Beth. Baby Tristan may have been on this earth for a short time, but he has impacted all of our lives – yes, even those of us that have only read about him. My thoughts are with you, Wendy & Justin and the rest of your family, and with Harper as he continues his fight.

  26. I am so sorry Beth. I’ll keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

  27. Hi Beth, I am so sorry for you and your family. Reading this post made me so sad. I can only imagine how heart breaking something like that can be. I hope you guys are ok, and you are in my thoughts.

  28. Oh my goodness. My heart just aches thinking about the pain they must feel, along with everyone in your family. That is something no person should ever experience. Your family will be in my prayers.

  29. Beth,
    I am so sorry for you loss. My thoughts and love are with you and your family. I can’t imagine such an experience and hope you are all doing well.
    With love,
    Ivie

  30. Oh no… that is heartbreaking. My prayers are with you and your family.

  31. Oh this is so sad to hear. Very sorry for your loss. Keeping your sister and her new family in my prayers.

  32. I’m so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  33. That literally made me tear up. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family

  34. Beth my wonderful roomie, I am SO sorry about this. UGH I don’t understand why these things happen to good people. I can’t imagine what this feels like.

    Thinking about you and your family! If you need anything.. to talk.. or get anything out., just let me know.

  35. Beth,

    I’m so sorry that you and your family are going through this right now. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  36. Beth I am so sorry to hear about your nephew – that is about the saddest thing I can imagine.

    Hugs to you and your family at this time!

    Biz

  37. Oh no. I am so sorry, Beth. 😦 You & your family, especially your sister, will be in my thoughts & prayers.

  38. […] blog, but I’ve been feeling pretty off track lately with eating and exercising, largely because I lost my nephew a little over a week ago. Last week, I worked out twice. I went on two 11 mile bike rides, one on […]

  39. I just read about your loss… I am so sorry to hear about this. Your sister is in my prayers.

  40. Sorry this is so late! I just read this and I am so, so sorry for your loss! I will be praying for your family and especially your sister. My favorite cousin lost a baby four years ago and is so hard and unfair!

  41. […] on here. Don’t get me wrong – I try to be as honest as possible, show you both the highs and the lows, but at the same time I don’t take my camera out to videotape myself by the candy jar at the […]

Leave a Reply

