• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Loaded Toast

Happy Hump Day!

So this probably goes without saying, but I didn’t run the race on Sunday since I was still up in Philly. I guess my 10th race was not meant to be the 10k on 10-10-10. Obviously I’m not giving myself too hard of a time for slacking on exercise given the circumstances, but I think during tough times its even more important to take care of yourself because you have more to give when you do. During my weekend in Philly, I was in charge of Sadie, their sweet pitbull.

Sadie

She makes me really want a dog! I loved getting up in the mornings with her begging for a walk so that I woke up in the fresh air first thing in the morning. Plus, every time I walked in the door she would get so excited and come kiss me and just make me feel happy despite everything that was going on. On Friday, I took her for a long walk for over an hour in the afternoon because it was a gorgeous day. It was about 3.3 miles but that was the only long walk we went on. Besides that, I took her out 2-3 times a day for short 15 minute walks, but that’s really the only movement I did during the weekend.

Last night I was craving a workout, and I saw someone biking when I was walking to the metro and knew that was what I wanted to do. I did the same loop I’ve done a few times now but it definitely took me a bit longer last night because I feel a little out of practice. During the first 1-2 miles I was thinking about cutting the ride short, which I never do with a bike ride. Run? Sure. Bike ride? Never. I pushed through though and was so happy when all was said and done because exercise is such a release for me. Here are the stats:

  • Distance: 11.03 miles
  • Duration: 51:07 minutes
  • Avg. Pace: 4:38 min/mile
  • Avg. Speed: 12.9mph
  • Calories: 623

It felt so good.

This morning I was trying to figure out what to have for breakfast and there was a banana that was begging to be used. I love banana on top of lots of things, but I had oats yesterday and wanted something different. I saw on Kath’s blog that she had mashed banana on toast over the weekend, and I’ve done that before with chocolate chips and peanut butter, but wanted something a little less desserty.

Here’s what I came up with:

Loaded Toast
Loaded Toast!

  • 1 piece Ezekiel 4:9 Sesame Sprouted Bread
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • Cashew Butter
  • 1 tsp chia seeds

Layers

The contrast in flavor, texture, and temperature from the warm, toasty bread, the cool, sweet, mashed banana, and the creamy cashew butter was perfect. I loved the raw chia seeds on top too because they added a little crunch, though I still feel some in my teeth… Served with an orange.

WithanOrange Perfect.

What did you have for breakfast today? Do you tend to have the same things most mornings or do you like to try to change it up often?

13 Responses

  1. I go back and forth with wanting a dog. I think it’d be great to have a pet, but I’m just not ready to have one when it’s only me around!

  2. Sadie is so adorable! I love my pup because he is always happy to seem me no matter what. And you’re right! No matter what is going on in your life, it’s hard not to be happy when your dog greets you at the door.

    I have been obsessed with overnight oats recently!

  3. I do tend to have the same things most days and I hate that…I had some good oatmeal today. I really like eating boiled eggs for breakfast but never get up early enough to make them…and never remember to make them in advance..that usually makes them a weekend breakfast for me!

    The pup is so cute, I would always go back and forth on having a dog but now that we have begley I couldn’t imagine living without a dog – it’s definitely great motivation to get out of the house!

  4. That is a really neat idea for toast, change it up a little!

    This morning I had sliced banana’s with White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter. I know, it does not sound like a big deal but I have never been a peanut butter fan. Then I found this stuff and now I am trying to expand my horizons!! 🙂

    • I’ve never tried the White Chocolate Wonderful kind but I’ve gotten into some trouble with the chocolate peanut butter kind due to lack of self control… 🙂

  5. Beth, I want a dog too!! They keep you active (not that you need much help in that area 😉 and they are awesome company. I live in an apartment though and work 10 hour days. So yeah, it’s not an option right now.

    By the way, can you recommend a good HRM? My birthday is coming up and I was thinking of asking my parents to buy me one…

    • Polar Heart Rate monitors I’ve heard are the best because you can use it for doing classes. My Garmin is awesome but I can only use it when I’m running, biking, or swimming, not if I’m doing aerobics or on the elliptical. (Did I really just say aerobics?) They have them on amazon.com if you just search for “Polar Heart Rate Monitor” a bunch will come up.

  6. Dogs definitely get you moving more, but unfortunately it is not as fun in winter 🙂
    I had cereal and milk, which I never have, but I’m completely out of groceries.

  7. I had my standard oatmeal and I’m still full!

    Glad you are getting back into the swing of things, I saw your tweet last night – is everything going okay with your sister now? I know she’s had a rough few days…

  8. Sadie is so cute!! We have a Boston Terrier and she is such a doll baby!

    We had a continental breakfast today from Cosi for Boss’ Day. I had a half of a still warm from the oven sesame bagel, little bit of cream cheese, half of a pumpkin muffin and a raisin crispy flatbread type of thing. It was a carb filled morning!

  9. I try to eat the same thing for breakfast for a week, so I don’t have to waste time thinking about it and then eat something else the next week.
    This morning was a bomb because I didn’t prepare anything for the week so I’ve overloaded on carbs like a mini pillsbury croissant left over from dinner last night and two Dunkin Donuts munchkins at work and coffee (TERRIBLE, I KNOW)

  10. Your toast looks wonderful!

    This morning I had my baked apples for breakfast — usually I have oatmeal or eggs/toast. Boring! I need ideas as well.

  11. I made a breakfast burrito with a small tortilla, scrambled eggs, turkey sausage and salsa. Good!

Leave a Reply

