• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Last CSA Day!

Thank you so much for all the supportive comments and emails on yesterday’s post. Sometimes its tough to discuss touchy issues like bingeing and put myself out there, but after the reaction from you all it made me happy I did.

Onto more positive subjects… my CSA! Somehow, yesterday was the very last pick up of the 20 week season. We have officially decided not to do the CSA again next year because it just did not feel worth it for us. We paid about $26 a week for a half share, so around $500 for the 20 weeks. There were a few weeks that it felt “worth it” but many more weeks where I felt like I could have done WAY better at the Farmer’s Market with $26 in hand. The farm we were with was Great Country Farms, and based on this year’s CSA, I wouldn’t recommend signing up with that farm.

That said, I do think a CSA is a great thing if you find a good farm and don’t have as much access to farmers markets and local produce as I do. Every Thursday there is a Farmer’s Market right outside my office, and every Tuesday there’s one right outside my apartment. On top of that, there are several all around the city on the weekends, so access to local produce is not hard for me. To find out information about CSAs and farmers markets in your area, check out www.localharvest.org. This site is an awesome resource for finding things in your area and has reviews listed on the site. I’ll be sure to put up a review on this CSA. 🙂

And onto this week’s produce. It was pretty decent, but I still think I could have gotten a lot more for $26 at the farmer’s market…but I am looking forward to diving into cooking up a lot of produce this weekend.

Sweet Potatoes caked with dirt fresh from the ground!

SweetPotatoes

10 Apples – not sure of the variety.

Apples

Beets with their tops

BeetGreens

And a small butternut squash plus lettuce of some sort

ButternutSquashLettuce

It’s kind of weird that this is the last box ever of my CSA!!

Sometimes simple is best when it comes to breakfast.

MorningOats

Oat bran with 1 tbsp pepitas and a drizzle of organic honey. I found the oat bran in the depths of my pantry and while I think its fine, I do prefer old fashioned oats or scottish oats over the oat bran. I’m pretty sure I bought it because it’s only 1 point on Weight Watchers instead of 2…

Do you have good access to local produce where you live? Do you or would you participate in a CSA?

15 Responses

  1. I’m so sorry about your nephew Beth! Your post yesterday was excellent!

    I’m thinking about doing a CSA next year because I work Tuesday-Saturday and the farmer’s market near me are Wednesday Morning and Saturday morning. There is a Thursday night one, but it is a bit of a drive. I’m jealous of your options!

  2. I’m glad you’re finding blogging as a good outlet. I know it’s been a rough week for you, so feel free to vent. That’s why we’re here! 🙂

    Score! on the sweet potatoes this week…

  3. I’d like to participate in a CSA, but I just never got around to it. I would love to get sweet potatoes like that though!

    I’m glad you are honest in your blogging Beth, I appreciate seeing REAL life in posts and you are definitely REAL. Have a great weekend.

  4. I really want to do a CSA but I sometimes feel like the price wont’ work for me. I grow some of my own veggies and the farmers market is right down the street. HOWEVER, I love the idea of supporting local farms and getting all kinds of in season goodies!

  5. The apples look like Johnathans to me (or Jonagold maybe?)

    Have you thought of trying http://www.washingtonsgreengrocer.com/. You can see the list ahead of time to decide if it’s worth it to order that week or not. Love them!

  6. I feel like there’s no way I could go through the amount of produce that a CSA has. Do you find it difficult to use it up every week?

  7. I think CSA is such a cool idea but I don’t know of any around my way. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  8. Awesome basket you got! Have a great weekend!

  9. I’ve been wondering about how much it costs for CSA… but it’s good to know that I don’t have to dream about it anymore haha 🙂 Have a delightful weekend, your simple oats look lovly.

  10. Everything looks so delicious!! You are lucky to live in D.C. too, it is beautiful there 🙂

  11. There are a few farmer’s markets nearby but nothing immediately next to my office or apartment. CSAs are still a little out of my budget for now, and I don’t make the trip to farmer’s markets often. So my access to local produce is pretty slim, except when I pick out the local stuff in Sprouts, but I usually get whatever is cheapest/on sale.

    I don’t like the idea of having to make two stops when I go food shopping, which I would have to do to get all I need for the week if I got produce at a farmer’s market.

  12. We love our CSA! We go thought RockSpring Farm in Decorah Iowa. They have beautiful produce and send lots of recipes.
    I love how honest you are in your posts. I just started reading your blog a few weeks ago.

  13. We love our CSA. At times I do get tired of the abundance of certain vegetables – okra, eggplant, spaghetti squash but that’s what the world of blogging has really helped with. Everyone else is dealing with it too and sharing!

  14. Wow…I think we’re spoiled out here in California. That doesn’t seem like much food for $26! Here is a link to a local place that I’m thinking of joining, it’s 2 to 3 times the amount of food that you were getting.
    http://www.tdwilleyfarms.com/csa/frcsa.html

Leave a Reply

