• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fresh Start

Good morning! Thanks for understanding my much needed hiatus from blogging as I spent time this weekend with family celebrating Tristan’s life. We had a beautiful memorial service at my sister’s church in Philly where close to 200 people showed up. It was amazing to see so much support from family, friends from Philly, coworkers of both Wendy and Justin, and the nurses from the NICU. There were also several of Wendy’s friends from high school in Connecticut who came to the service, so I was really blown away and happy for all the support for her and my family.

Wendy asked me to do a reading at the service, so I read Psalm 139, which was read by the pastor at the hospital right before Tristan passed. I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t be able to hold it together to do the reading, but it ended up going really well and I was so happy to be able to be a part of the service. Justin’s brother Chris also did a reading, and his other brother Will played guitar and sang a song called “Fly.” The burial was a private ceremony with immediate family only, and it was so sad but so special. My sister Heather wrote and read a poem at the burial called “26 Days” that was beautiful. Overall the service was obviously profoundly sad, but it really was a celebration of Tristan and all of the lives he touched in his short 26 days on earth. It left me with a lot of closure.

So, I have alluded to this a bit on the blog, but I’ve been feeling pretty off track lately with eating and exercising, largely because I lost my nephew a little over a week ago. Last week, I worked out twice. I went on two 11 mile bike rides, one on Tuesday and one on Saturday. I haven’t run at all since my last training run before I was supposed to run a sub 1hour 10k on 10-10-10. I also haven’t been back to Bikram, gone to the gym, or done any strength training. On the eating front, I haven’t been paying much attention to being healthy or portion sizes, and overall have just felt pretty sluggish from the combination of the eating and lack of exercise.

So with the weekend behind me, I have decided to make today a fresh start.

I am recommitting to a healthy lifestyle with these goals for this week:

  1. Workout at least 4 times (including at least 1 run)
  2. Drink more water (at least two 32 oz bottles at work per day)
  3. Start each day with a healthy breakfast
  4. Plan one treat at least per day (to keep me on track – hello vitatops!)
  5. Cook healthy meals at home
  6. Friday night will be my splurge night for dinner for a friend’s birthday, but other than that no drinking this week.

I always feel better with a plan in place and will check back in on these goals next Tuesday. To start things off right, I had a fall favorite for breakfast:

PunkinYogo

Pumpkin Yogurt Bowl! I love making yogurt bowls because they’re filling, healthy, and delicious. Plus, you can use whatever you have around the house to customize it.

PumpkinYogurt

This bowl had:

  • Nonfat Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 1 small sliced banana
  • Canned Pumpkin (Libby’s!)
  • Homemade Granola

My sister sent me home with this AMAZING homemade granola. I will be experimenting with the recipe and will share it soon, but its the best granola I’ve ever tasted in my life – and that is saying a lot. This bowl was packed with protein, fiber, whole grains, fruits and veggies! The textures also went together so well with the creamy, thick yogurt, the cool pumpkin, crunchy granola, and soft, sweet banana. YUM.

What is ONE goal for this week that you’d like to set for yourself today and will check back in on next Tuesday?

13 Responses

  1. Honor yourself that you need to do what you need to do. You have the tools to LIVE healthfully.. no matter what happens. Trust in that.

    The hardest part FOR ME is finding healthy coping mechanisms when life throws us off course. I think we have in common the ability to “numb out” by eating food. That might be the most challenging part of this journey you’re on.

    Life will inevitably throw us around a bit… It’s good we learn now.. how to HONOR ourselves while dealing with the unknown.

    I think it’s bout time we get some coffee/tea… we have more in common than I thought.
    xoxo

  2. Beth,

    I’m so sorry to hear that you had to experience the death of a nephew.

    We all do need some time off from our routines of eating, drinking and working out to kick us into a fresh start. I’m thinking of you and hopefully it will get back to normal soon enough for you 🙂

    I plan to keep kicking it up a notch at the gym and try to keep my eating habits in control – b/c they have been all over the place lately. UGH.

  3. So sorry about the funeral! It sounds like a beautiful service.

    I would like to run at least three times this week!

  4. my heart goes out to you and your family… sounds like a wonderful celebration of Tristan. being an active part of the service will stay with you, and probably help.

    my goal for today – to replicate my run from yesterday… hopefully by next Tuesday I will have done this… a FEW times!! 😀

    ❤ sending healing energy to you and your family…

  5. Hmmm… that granola sounds life-changing. I’m excited to hear about it… 🙂

    This week I’m working on being a little more thrifty in the food department- my grocery store bills were getting out of control!

  6. Beth,

    The service sounds both sad and beautiful. I’m sorry for your loss. It’s understandable that you’ve gotten a little off track after such a difficult couple of weeks. But like you always tell me, think what you would have been doing prior to joining WW/ being healthy. Would you have exercised twice?

    Anyway, it does feel good to get back on the wagon, and your breakfast looks amazing!! Good luck with everything.

  7. Thank you for coming to my blog! Yours is lovely.

    Goals? I really don’t set them. It’s horrible…I’m ‘scared’ to face failure even more than I do now…but I’m working on it 😉

  8. I’m glad that you were able to find closure in the service. I’m also really glad to hear that it was such a celebration and that your and your family had so much support. The people you “know” through your blog send much support too. 🙂

    Your goals look great. Small obtainable goals is the way to go! One day at a time, right?!

  9. Beth, I’m so sorry for yours and your family loss. It sounds like a beautiful and touching service and it’s completely natural that you needed a break.

    I think your goals are a fantastic idea to refresh and recharge. I’ve found that when I get back to my healthy lifestyle I always feel better. I’m trying to drink more water and less soda plus stop chewing gum because it upsets my stomach.

    I actually found Stevia in the raw at the Giant near Virginia Square and it’s cheaper than Splenda!!

  10. Beth, so sorry to hear of your nephew, and you and your family will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers during this time!

    I think it is wonderful that you are setting some goals and getting back to taking care of yourself.

    One goal for me this week is to not snack at night — too many chips and salsa at 9pm for me. I’m just bored and not even hungry.

  11. I’m sorry to hear about your nephew – you and your family are definitely in my thoughts!

    I love that you set goals for the week. I definitely need to do that!

    My goal is to drink more water. I used to drink a boat load (sometimes literally :)) but lately I have been slacking.

  12. I’m sorry for everything you’re going through. I’m glad you’re focusing on something positive!

  13. I’m glad that your family was able to have a beautiful service and that you felt some closure. Try to keep your chin up – I know its a harder situation than I can even imagine – but hopefully your new goals will distract you from these tough times. xoxo

Leave a Reply

