• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Pat on the Back

One thing I want to add to my list of weekly goals from this morning is to celebrate small successes. I think that it is SO important to pat yourself on the back not just for big achievements, but for little things. This was one thing I did a lot during my weight loss journey that really helped me to feel less overwhelmed with the huge task at hand (to lose 80+ pounds). Weight related goals and milestones are great, but non-weight related things are very important too because sometimes, no matter what you do, the scale won’t budge.

Today, we had a going away party for a coworker this afternoon in the conference room. There was beer, wine, and lots of delicious looking Italian pastries, but I sat myself away from the food and just brought in my bottle of water to drink. Now I know having one pastry or a glass of wine is not a big deal. But I really want to get back on track, and I know if I have a glass of wine in the afternoon, the chances of me working out after work decline dramatically. Plus, one of my weekly goals is to not drink other than at dinner Friday, and I want to work planned treats into my day – not just eating food because its there. So bottom line – go me for not drinking wine or eating pastries! 🙂

Lunch today was raaaaandom. I didn’t get back to DC until almost 10 pm last night, so the pickings were slim/my attention span low when I went to put together lunch for today. I started with a sandwich between the last two pieces of bread from my Ezekiel Sprouted Grain Sesame loaf. That bread is SO good, but all that was left were the heels!
sammie

I spread some Garlic Hummus on the bread, added a slice of light swiss, and then a handful of baby spinach and some hot peppers.

On the side, I had some celery sticks.

celery

1/2 a mango.

mango

Then last minute decided to add a blob of part-skim ricotta for some extra protein (slash because i love cheese).

ricotta

I ended up dipping the celery in the ricotta and devouring every last bit of this plate.

alltogether

But you know, it left me really satisfied even though it was so random/didn’t necessarily go together.

Are you good about acknowledging small victories in your healthy journey? Do you tend to plan out your lunches well or just throw together random things like this?

10 Responses

  1. I normally throw random things together for lunch… in general I like tapas style meals, that way I can eat a variety of things! And for celebrating small victories… I am still working on that.

  2. I just posted and it didn’t go through… strange.

    I generally throw random things together for lunch… I love tapas style meals, eating lots of different things always appeals to me. As for celebrating small victories… I am still working on that!

  3. I actually just realized the other day that I need to celebrate the small victories! I would always focus instead on the long-term “big” goals. Now that I’ve changed my approach – and realized that it’s OK to give yourself a thumbs up – I am much more focused and making more progress!

    p.s. This post makes we want ricotta cheese!!

  4. Yes I celebrate the small victories. Even though I lost a big amount of weight, in order to keep motivated I would celebrate in some way every time I lost 5 pounds, or went down a pants size. It’s the little things!

  5. I completely agree with celebrating the small achievements and goals met 🙂

  6. Looks like a great lunch for slip pickings in the kitchen!

    Stay positive!!

  7. Beth, I totally agree that it’s important in this WLJ to celebrate small successes, because, like you said, you don’t always see big results. Congrats on being so disciplined at your work party! Isn’t that always the way it goes–the day you decide to get back on track you’re confronted with a new challenge!!

  8. I usually pack my lunches the night before, but I do my best to have an idea of what my lunches will be when I go to the grocery store for the week!

  9. For now, I have the ability to go home for lunch everyday, so I usually just throw together whatever is appealing to me at the time or whatever is on it’s last leg. I don’t worry about if it goes together or not, just as long as it all tastes good!

  10. I throw together my lunch last minute usually — and almost always it is leftovers from the night before. Or I run to Subway 🙂

    Beth I think it is great that you are celebrating the small successes — they definitely add up to huge accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

