• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Choking Down Water

Last night, I made a pretty delicious dinner with enough leftovers for lunch today. In my CSA from this past week (the very last one!) I got several sweet potatoes, and it was kind of funny because they were all in odd shapes. When I pick them out myself from the grocery store or the farmer’s market, I usually choose potatoes of about the same size so they are easy to bake or cut up into similar sizes. Not so with the ones from last night – I tried to cut some up into fry shapes for oven fries, and ended up with some enormous potato wedges.

First, preheat the oven to 400º. I started by scrubbing the potatoes hard because they were caked with dirt, and then cutting them into fry shapes as best as possible. I tossed them in 1 tbsp olive oil (always oil first!)

InOil

And then with 1 tsp each cinnamon and chili powder.

InSpices

Lay them out on a baking sheet sprayed with nonstick spray.

ReadtoBake

Don’t mind the extremely dirty baking sheet…

Pop them in the heated oven for 20 minutes, flip, then put them back in for 20 more minutes.

DoneFries

While those were baking, I found two teenie eggplants in my fridge that were on their very last leg.

Eggplant

I chopped them up and threw them in a pan for a few minutes before adding the last of the swiss chard from my farm share. I realized my meal had no protein, so I threw in 1 cup of chickpeas (from a can).

Scramble

(What a huge difference from canned chickpeas to making your own from dried! The make-your-own ones have such a better texture.)

Then I realized I should make a fried egg to put on top of the scrambled beans and veggies…

WithEgg

But I overcooked the egg slightly so the yolk was not runny enough for me. I was hoping the yolk would break and make a creamy sauce over the scramble, but instead, it mostly stayed put. The oven baked sweet potato fries, however, were out of this world.

PileOFries

Totally random meal, but oh so good. For lunch today I used some goat cheese with the scramble instead of an egg and had the leftover fries. yuuuuuum.

And onto a completely different topic, water.

Normally, I get into the flow of drinking water (pun intended) with no problem. One of my goals is to step up my water drinkage this week because I have been majorly slacking in this department. However, for the first time in my life, I feel like I have to choke down the water. I can usually just chug it down no problem and go on being happy, but lately (as in yesterday and today) I have had a really hard time drinking it. I don’t know what it is but its just been tasting kind of gross and bland.

What are your best tips for getting your water down?

21 Responses

  1. I like carbonated water – I can never tell if it’s bad for you or not, but it helps me get it down! I like the scratchy throat feeling from fizzy drinks much better.

    Glad to hear home-cooked chickpeas are tastier than canned – I’m starting to build up a collection of home-cooked pulses divided into portions and kept in the freezer. They’re excellent for lazy moods when you just want something quick!

    • Great idea to freeze them in portions! I just put half the bag in the freezer so I’m hesitant to thaw them out until I think I can use 5 servings in 1 week.

  2. maybe change the temperature of the water for a while? is it too cold? not cold enough? add some lemon, cucumber, or MINT (these are all my SPA waters!)

    I also make a tea or add a small amount of energy or vitamin c powder to up my water intake if I need to…

    that scramble LOOKS FABULOUS… I love a runny egg to get all saucy… YUM.

  3. Squeeze some fresh lemon (or even an orange) into it. It helps me. Just a bit of flavor and no chemicals (like from the flavored waters). I’v even heard of putting cucumber in it, but seems like a waste — cukes don’t have that much flavor. But to be fair, I’ve never tried it.

  4. I need some tips myself. I never ever ever drink enough water. Ever.

  5. I can only drink water after it has been in the fridge or from our very cold drinking fountain. I hate not cold water.

    I also find I drink a ton more with my camelbak bottle that has a straw! There is just something about straws.

    • I think that’s an awesome idea. I’m using a freebie water bottle from the Healthy Living Summit that is kind of boring. Maybe I’ll invest in a nice Camelbak one and that will help!

      • It actually helped me so much I bought another one so I don’t have to keep washing the same one over and over again and I can always have one in the fridge! I just bought the plastic one (it is BPA free) and it was $14. The steel ones with a straw are $20! Either one is worth it in my opinion!

        I just bought a camelbak backpack for running. It was on sale at REI. I can’t wait to try it!

  6. I have an easier time drinking water when it’s icy cold. Also, I splash in a little juice of whatever I’ve got on hand to jazz it up. Lately I’ve been adding a splash of apple cider; it makes me feel like fall without all the calories!

  7. I wish that I could whip up meals like that out of random odds and ends in my kitchen! It’s definitely something that I’m working on– your stuff always looks so delish!

    As for the water, it’s my biggest thing. I’ve also been in a semi-water rut this week, so I get what you mean! My trick is to fill two bottles (this week it’s a 1.5 liter and 1 liter) and I just set a time during the day when I HAVE to finish by. It works for me (as long as I finish WAY before the time I catch the train home!)

    • That meal just sort of happened… I didn’t even think it through! It was super delish in the end, and with goat cheese for lunch today!

      That is a good idea – setting a time to finish it by. Loved the comment about finishing it way before you have to catch the train! Yesterday I chugged the rest of my bottle of water right before I was out the door and had to pee SO BAD the whole ride home.

  8. I like to put lemon slices in my water bottle, or a touch of cranberry juice. And I use a water tracker on my iGoogle page, reminding me to get my 64oz. I click the little glass icon with each 8oz I drink.

  9. I have a water bottle at my desk at work. I try to drink that throughout the day and refill it. I stopped drinking soda so I drink water instead. And when I work out I drink a lot!

  10. Eggs make everything better!
    I love water but when it starts to bore me it helps to make it icy cold, and add stuff like lemon, watermelon, kiwi, or switch to seltzer

  11. I never drink enough water but I’ve read that many doctors and dietitians state that as long as you drink enough fluids you don’t have to drink the “8 glasses” a day. I’m slightly addicted to crystal light though I allow myself one glass crystal light then I have to drink a glass of regular water.

  12. Yum I love sweet potatoes!

  13. The colder it is, the easier it is for me to drink it, so I always load my water up with ice. I heard mixing it with a little tea helps too, but I have yet to try that.

  14. […] Choking Down Water […]

  15. […] more water (at least two 32 oz bottles at work per day) – Check on this one! I got some great tips and have started adding a little apple cider to my water each day, and also purchased a new water […]

  16. Add a little not from concentrate o j
    I drink 1 part o j 7 parts water

Leave a Reply

