• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Quickie Lunch

Thank you all so much for the feedback on yesterday’s post about Choking Down Water. There are some great suggestions in the comments section, a few of which I have already put to use! Gabrielle @ Weightless said “Lately I’ve been adding a splash of apple cider; it makes me feel like fall without all the calories!” There is some apple cider in my fridge at work leftover from a work party last week, so I’ve been adding just a touch to my water bottle and its made SUCH a difference! It feels so seasonal, too.

Another great suggestion was from Anna S. who said” “I also find I drink a ton more with my camelbak bottle that has a straw! There is just something about straws.” I had been thinking about getting a new water bottle for a while, so yesterday I took the plunge and bought this bottle.  (To get free shipping, I also bought this travel coffee mug that is supposedly spill proof…TBD). It obviously hasn’t arrived yet, but another friend of mine has this one and said it keeps your beverages super cold and that ice stays in it all day long! Maybe I’ll make ice cubes out of apple cider and get the best of both worlds…

Lunch today took less than 10 minutes to get together, and was SO good. I took a Quorn Naked Chk’n Cutlet and doused it in Frank’s Red Hot and then left it in a tupperware in the fridge over night. Today I toasted two slices of bread, heated the chicken for 30 seconds in the microwave, and topped it with some blue cheese crumbles.

BJTT 001

This was awesome. The Quorn Chk’n Culets taste almost scarily exactly like real chicken. If you’re a vegetarian who actually doesn’t like meat – I wouldn’t recommend these. But if you’re like me and don’t mind the taste/texture of meat or are a meat eater looking for a low cal substitute for chicken, these things are awesome. The whole cutlet has 80 calories, 2.5 grams of fat, 2 grams of fiber, and 11 grams of protein (aka 1 WW point). Doused in the Frank’s Red Hot it tasted exactly like a buffalo chicken sandwich.

On the side, I sauteed some mustard greens (last from my CSA) in some white wine, salt, pepper, and then threw in a small handful of sliced almonds.

BJTT 004

The almonds in there added a nice crunch and texture to the greens.

I’ve had many people ask me how hard it is to use up all the veggies from my CSA (which is over by the way!) To be honest, there were a few weeks where I’d get the same things over and over and have to figure out creative ways to use them (like corn). For the most part though, my CSA only had 5-6 different things, and I eat a LOT of vegetables. Especially when I would get greens throughout the season, they cook down so much that you can use the whole bunch for 1-2 servings. I think if you don’t eat that much produce it would be hard to use up, but I (as you can see!) eat lots and lots. In fact, currently I only have beets, a head of cabbage, and a few apples left from my CSA for the whole season. I had to throw out 1-2 pattypan squash because they went bad before I could use them, but other than that, I used them up pretty easily.

On the agenda for tonight is to hit up the farmer’s market after work, work out, and then make dinner. I lead a very exciting life, I know.

How many servings of fruits/veggies would you say you eat a day? Do you think you’d have trouble eating up all the fruit/veggies from a CSA or could you handle it no problem?

18 Responses

  1. I would have a hard time eating all of those veggies – but so proud of you for doing it!!

  2. Woo hoo! I’m glad I could help. I hope you love it as much as I do. (I couldn’t get the link to work though!)

    I eat a lot of veggies every day. I’m not sure if I would have any problems eating the veggies from a CSA! It seems like a neat way to try different things. I think I would be likely to forget to use them or be scared of trying some of them.

  3. I eat a ton of veggies but i hate fruit! i dont know why i just dont like most fruits. I dont know what the FDA says i should get but i proball get 4 servings a day im going to guess of veggies!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

  4. I don’t have a CSA, but I never have any problems eating my fruits and veggies!

  5. Oh man – as much as I want to say I would finish it all – something always inevitably goes bad….usually spinach!

  6. really jealous of your veggies from CSA! definitely think that is an awesome program they’ve created.

    my mom absolutely HATES drinking water.. so thank you for posting on that 🙂 im. gonna show her all of those commenter tips!!

  7. I eat soooo many veggies – but not so much fruit!

  8. love your buffalo ‘chicken’ sandwich idea!!! i might have to try those chickn cutlets!

  9. I get a weekly produce delivery (actually a picture of it is up on my latest post) and haven’t had trouble eating through it. I eat tons of fruits and veggies every day so there’s just never enough around.

  10. I love fruits and veggies. Since I walk right by Whole Foods after the gym, I hardly ever have produce go bad because I buy enough for a day or two. I like to pretend I’m Parisienne and going to the market 🙂

    I might have to try that apple cider ice cube trick. Sounds delicious!

  11. try also cold brewed barley tea (or green tea or whatever tea suits you) for something more interesting to drink. barley tea, if you haven’t had it, is wonderfully nutty and so good even without sugar added. kind of hard to find outside of asian grocery stores, but totally worth it. some japanese restaurants serve it hot, so you might be able to try it elsewhere first.

  12. On the water- in the book “French Women Don’t Get Fat”– an excellent read and re-read book, by the way– she suggests that if you don’t like water, you probably don’t like how cold it is! I was surprised to learn that I can drink it much easier when it’s not as cold! I actually add a little bit of HOT water to it recently! I know that this flies in the face of what others have posted, but give it a try!

    In re: fruit and veggies intake– I love both, but I am not as good at fruits as I should be. Yet I find when I eat them, they are a great appetite stabilizer and keep me off things I might be tempted to eat that aren’t good choices. To this end, new this week is my plan to eat a piece of fruit every morning the minute my feet hit the floor while I watch the morning news! So far, so good!

  13. I eat a ton of fruit and vegetables, and I love the idea of a CSA…but the problem is I worry about being able to find uses for all of the vegetables, because I know they add some not-so-common veggies that I’m not familiar with cooking and they would end up going bad, thus wasting money. I still might give it a shot next summer though.

  14. Oh love the apple cidar ice cube idea! I love the taste of apple cidar, but a glass is just too strong tasting for me.

    I eat a ton of fresh vegetables, I love them!

  15. I get my fruit servings every day. I eat a lot of fruit as snacks! Veggies I struggle a bit more. I eat salads to get them all in, and I always eat a veggie with dinner.

  16. Thanks for sharing my suggestion, Beth! 😉

    I have so much trouble consuming fruits and veggies before they spoil, since I live alone. I checked out some local CSAs and sadly there is no way I could eat even the half-share. Wish there were smaller quantities you could get, although I’m sure it becomes less cost- effective at some point.

Leave a Reply

