• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Bird Egg Beans and Cottage Cheese Pumpkin Oats

TGIF!! Wow I am so happy the weekend is only hours away. I have literally no plans for this weekend and am not traveling, so I couldn’t be more excited to relax – – I really need it. 🙂

Last night I went to the Farmer’s Market after work. I was really excited to go to the FM and pick out what I wanted, since I hadn’t been in so long since I’d been getting my CSA. But now that that’s over, I got to go and browse. I ended up getting some random things, but am pretty excited about my purchases.

Farmer's Market

  • Bell Peppers – 2 purple and 2 green
  • Kale
  • Thyme
  • Leeks
  • Oysters (!)
  • Farm Fresh Eggs
  • Bird Egg Beans

I had never seen the Bird Egg Beans before and they are SO pretty.

Bird Egg Beans

The beans are slightly less colorful on the inside, and are speckled just like birds eggs… thus the name.

BeautifulBeans

Not sure what I’m going to do with those yet, but aren’t they pretty!?

And the oysters – that was sort of an impulse buy because there is a fish stand at the FM which I really appreciate (many just have meat stands and no seafood) and I’ve never bought anything from there before. I was talking with the people running the stand and the man had just caught the oysters yesterday. It was $8 for a bag of 12, and because I have a chef boyfriend who knows how to shuck oysters, I took the plunge. 🙂 Wil did suggest putting them in the oven until they just pop and then opening them so they are slightly warm and then you don’t have to mess with shucking them.

It’s funny because after I got home and I realized I wasn’t really paying attention to how much I was spending, so I decided to count it up. Guess how much I spent? $26. The exact price of my weekly farm share, with more, better looking goods.

After the farmer’s market I went home and went on an 11 mile bike ride that took around 50 minutes. It felt so good to be out, but I keep forgetting how dark it gets so quickly! Because of the FM, I didn’t get out the door until 6:20ish, and by the time I was coming home a little after 7, it was DARK. There were a few times on the trail that I couldn’t see anything so had to slow down considerably, but at least I wasn’t around cars. Must get a light for my bike. Dinner was a very fall dish – butternut squash soup plus braised cabbage with apples. Recipe to come. 🙂

This morning I took the other serving of Heat-N-Eat Steel Cut Oats from yesterday and added 1/4 cup of low fat cottage cheese (8 grams of protein!!) and 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin. I heated it up for about 2 minutes in the microwave and topped it with some of that mind blowing granola.

Cottage Cheese Pumpkin Oats

The cottage cheese melted right into the oats and made it creamy and smooth. This is the first time I’ve ever added cottage cheese to my oats and it is SO good. This whole bowl (minus the toppings) has only 3 points on WW – 2 for the oats, 1 for the cottage cheese, and 0 for the pumpkin, and is packed with fiber, protein, and whole grains. I will DEFINITELY be using cottage cheese in my oats again. You can barely taste it – it just makes the texture unreal and the meal more stick to your ribs!

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever put in your oats? Did you like it?

What is the most unique thing you’ve ever purchased at a farmer’s market or grocery store?

13 Responses

  1. Oh that looks good!! I was thinking about adding ricotta to my oats because i thought it would make it like a cheesecake feel. I was a little nervous though! I’ll have to try it soon.

  2. those beans are so pretty! I have never heard of those… I’m looking forward to what you will do with them…

    ah… ENJOY your weekend… I hope it is SO relaxing! 😀

  3. I love to put cranberry sauce into my oats!

  4. Those beans are beautiful 🙂 Good luck with whatever you do with them!

    Weirdest thing I’ve put in my oats? eggs. Did I like it? Nope!

  5. You’re going to HAVE to post about what you do with the beans… I’ve never seen them before!

  6. I saw those beans at the farmer’s market yesterday too! (I’m assuming we were both at the White House one…)

    Keep us posted on what you do with them, I’ve never seen them before.

    This isn’t weird, but banana pumpkin oats with chocolate chips on top. And peanut butter on the side (obviously!).

  7. I have never seen anything like those pink-speckled fellas! Makes me want to look up some fancy unique recipes (for you, mainly, since I haven’t a clue where I could find those guys for myself)! I LOOOVE odd foods that I’ve never seen before! I attempted getting fance and bought a pomegranate and 2 new squash today! and a coconut last week, but it went bad.

    Happy eats, love your beautiful simple bowls of oats and always will 🙂

  8. i have chef coworkers and it is the greatest. they always know just what to do with the “weird food.”

  9. Those beans are beautiful! I can’t wait to see what you do with them!

  10. I’ll be checking up to see what you do with those nice lookin’ veggies – and oysters to boot!!

  11. What kind of cottage cheese did you use? Reduced fat? Your breakfast looks yummy!

  12. I have never heard of bird eggs beans. Very intrigued. That sweet potato hash looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

