• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Is There a Trick? An Adora Giveaway!

Happy Monday afternoon! Just a quick lunch post, and then another giveaway for one lucky reader!

I was craving vegetables when I woke up because I didn’t really have too many this weekend (unless the veggies on the Chuck E. Cheese pizza count?), so I went with a huge veggie sandwich and a massaged kale salad.

VeggieSammie1

On this sammie:

  • Roasted Garlic Hummus
  • 1 slice RF Swiss Cheese
  • mixed greens
  • tomato
  • sprouts
  • purple bell peppers

VeggieSammie2

SO good. And SO tall!

For the massaged kale salad, I ripped some kale off the stems and washed and dried it thoroughly, and then rubbed (literally, with my hands) 1 tsp of olive oil and some salt into the kale. I added some chickpeas (for extra protein) and gorgonzola (because I love cheese) and it was awesome.

MassagedKale

Perfect compliment to the sandwich, and I actually ate the whole salad before I even bit into the sandwich. (That might have had something to do with the intimidation factor of the height of the sandwich)

And now, for another giveaway!

The folks over at Adora sent me two packages of their chocolate calcium supplements to review. We were given some of these at the Healthy Living Summit back in August and they are SO good. I gave two to Wil and after he ate them I told him they were calcium supplements and he asked if there was a trick because they taste so good!

From their website, “Adora™ Calcium in premium chocolate will change the way you think about calcium supplements. If you’ve been choking down calcium pills or chews that are chalky, sticky, or simply too big to swallow, then you are in for a real treat! Adora Calcium is made from all-natural chocolate – not a fake chocolate chew, but real, premium chocolate produced by a chocolate company that’s been in business since 1879. The flavor is rich and creamy with just a hint of sweetness and no bitter aftertaste. Adora will make you Crave Your Calcium™.”

One lucky reader will receive two bags of the supplements – one dark and one milk chocolate. They taste so good you won’t even believe they are supplements!

AdoraSamples

To enter:

  1. Leave a comment on this post telling me whether you prefer dark or milk chocolate. Tell me how you would use these besides just eating them straight up!
  2. Join Beth Journey to Thin’s facebook page and leave a comment telling me you did.
  3. Post about this giveaway on your blog (if you have one!) and link back to this post.

You can enter now through Thursday evening, and I will pick a random winner Friday morning. Good luck!

48 Responses

  1. I prefer milk chocolate for when I want handfuls…but dark chocolate keeps me from eating my weight in chocolate! I think these would be great on top of some yogurt

  2. First off, your lunch looks amazing!! I love kale but hardly ever have it raw, although this sounds like a great way to enjoy it!

    I would love to try the calcium chews. I have osteopenia and have to take calcium supplements and I would love a really good tasting chocolate treat at the same time! I love milk and dark chocolate, but dark is definitely my favorite!

    Great giveaway!

  3. I am lately preferring dark chocolate. It’s more flavorful to me and I need less to satisfy my cravings. I would probably melt these and drizzle them over oatmeal or yogurt!

  4. I love dark chocolate! These would be nice as dessert maybe with some strawberries 🙂

  5. I definitely prefer milk chocolate even though dark is healthier for you. These would go great on top of some ice cream or in a milkshake.

  6. Depending on my mood – I think I prefer milk chocolate usually. My mom actually started working for a chocolate company recently and I love it all! Thanks!

  7. Ohhhh and I joined your FB page! Love the comparison shot! 🙂

  8. I love all kinds of chocolate, but do prefer milk chocolate. I would def put this with some ice cream!! yum!

  9. Definitely dark! And I’d melt it on toast 😀

  10. I prefer milk chocolate. I would use these to make my bones stronger since I don’t get enough dairy!

  11. Dark chocolate.

    Id want it crumbled up in yogurt–or melted and dipped in pretzels! yum!

  12. i was already a fan! 🙂

  13. I love milk chocolate! It would be a delightful treat post-dinner, no additions to the calcium chews necessary!

    My mom has been trying to get me to buy calcium chews, so this giveaway is so timely!

  14. I have been wanting to try those! I prefer millk chocolate to dark but I really enjoy both.

  15. Joined your FB Page

  16. I would love to try the dark chocolate and put it in my oatmeal! 🙂

  17. I love dark chocolate! I would wrap them in a medjool date with a bit of pb.

  18. Dark chocolate all the way! Other than out of the bag, I would probably combine with some nuts for a salty/sweet combo.

  19. I am also a facebook follower 😀

  20. I know that dark chocolate is healthier for you, but I much prefer milk chocolate every time. I am even craving some right now!

  21. Heyy, mmm that sandwich looks great, I love tall sarnies 🙂
    I think milk chocolate, I love the stuff and having restricted it for so long I try to eat as much as I can. I was thinking I may put it in my oatmeal as i’m sick of the chewy calcium pills i’m forced to talk (bleh). But then I though i would make them into a sauce and put it on chicken. It may sound wierd but It’s AMAZING 🙂
    Or even mix it with popcorn, the salty sweet taste is fab. Oooo… i’m getting hungry just thinking about it xxx

  22. And I didn’t quite understand no 2. I joined your fb group but can’t comment saying so. Is it ok if I just tell u via this post? xxx

  23. I can´t say whether i prefer dark or milkchocolate. My problem is that i like all sorts of chocolate 😉

    I would love to try the Adora discs on top of my caffe latte!

  24. I am a dark choc fan all the way!!!!

    PS – and arent sprouts in sandwiches just the best!

  25. I am a dark chocolate fan! I have been wanting to try these for a while, but they’re pretty expensive…

  26. absolutely dark 🙂

  27. Killer sandwich!! I want to try my own version…

    I am definitely a dark chocolate fan. Love it!!

  28. And I already joined your fb page! 😉

  29. I think I will always be a milk chocolate girl!

  30. Love dark chocolate!

  31. And I joined your FB group!!

  32. I’m on team Dark Chocolate, but play for the other team too 😀

    I would love to add one of these to my minute muffin !! that would be SO yummy melty good !

  33. Dark chocolate! Delicious and at least a little healthy ; )

  34. I could never take calcium pills because of the texture, but my bones would love me for these!

  35. I’d prefer milk chocolate! Depending on the texture…maybe dipped into some PB or melty ontop of my Thomas’ Bagel Thins with PB and banana!

  36. I also joined your Facebook page as well!

  37. That salad looks amazing.

  38. Mnnnn Milk for me! I would eat them broken up over some banana soft serve!

  39. I joined you FB page! 🙂

  40. I joined your FB page !! ❤

  41. Mmm…dark chocolate with PB on top!

  42. Oh wow! I would love some dark chocolate because I want to make an orange and black cake this weekend for Halloween (Pumpkin with Dark Chocolate Frosting). So pick me! 🙂

  43. Ok, I was having this discussion with a friend the other day of which I preferred. Without a doubt it has to be Milk Chocolate. Dark Chocolate just seems too rich, however is great for baking. With the Milk Chocolate, I would have to make some smores smoothies! adding Peanut Butter will just be an added treat.

    I joined your FB fan page!

  44. Milk chocolate for me…I’m not sure what I would do with it to be honest, but you can’t go wrong adding it to oatmeal!

  45. […] Remember – today is the last day to enter the Adora giveaway! […]

  46. I prefer milk chocolate! I would use them as S’mores. Delicious.

  47. Also I joined Beth’s Journey on facebook!

  48. I prefer dark chocolate! I would probably make some PB Banana soft serve and crumble one of these on top! Yum =)

Leave a Reply

