• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Starting the Week Off Right

Good morning and happy Monday! Today has started off wonderfully so far (can you believe I am saying that before 10am on a Monday!?) but first…

This weekend was amazing. It was so nice to stay put and have time to relax! Friday after work I met up with some friends for drinks, and then went to see Louis CK (a comedian) at the Warner Theater. Wil got free tickets to the show and sad story, they did not allow any photos inside, but let me assure you, he was HYSTERICAL. That was actually my first time ever seeing live comedy which is shocking because I love watching it on TV – and it was just awesome. love love love.

Saturday I made a nice little breakfast for Wil and I.

BreakfastSaturday

Sweet Potato Hash with eggs and toast. My newest secret for sweet potato hash is that I chop up the potatoes and then put them in water in the microwave for 3-5 minutes before adding them to the pan with peppers and onions. It speeds up the process SO much and make it only take about 10 minutes, rather than 25-30 if you don’t pre-cook the taters. Eaten outside on the balcony = perfection.

Shopping, church, and wigs filled up the rest of my weekend.

inawig

Oh, and Chuck E. Cheese. For real. Did you know they now have beer and wine (that comes out of the wall – scary) there? I think it’s so parents can tolerate taking their children there and not want to leave before they sit down. It made it MUCH more tolerable.

Then, this morning, I woke up early for free outdoor yoga! I only got to do this one other time even though it is pretty much right outside my apartment. Just when 6:45 on Monday rolls around, my bed is so much more temping that getting up. But today was the last day, and they happened to be giving out free fleeces to the first few people to arrive, plus yoga mat bags. You best believe I was literally the first person there (I got there at 6:45) and sat outside by myself in the dark for 10-15 minutes before anyone else came. But, i got one of three free fleeces, so it was totally worth it.

After yoga, which was mostly stretching and didn’t cause me to break a sweat at all, I went back inside to get ready for work and throw together an amazing yogurt bowl – best one in a while.

Breakfast 
Nonfat Greek Yogurt, Canned Pumpkin, Rolled Oats, Raspberries, Chia Seeds, and Sliced Almonds. I toyed with the idea of adding the last of that amazing granola and some nut butter, but I decided this was enough.

UpClose

Funny because after I put together this beautiful bowl, I decided I wasn’t hungry enough to eat it yet, so I transported it sloppily into a tupperware for transport.

Transport

Not nearly as pretty.

Come back after lunch for another exciting giveaway!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

Do you like to wear wigs? I love ‘em. Any excuse I can think of to wear one and I will. That was a costume party at Chuck E. Cheese, by the way, so I didn’t look like a total weirdo. 🙂

16 Responses

  1. I love that wig on you! What were you dressed as?

  2. Haha I love the wig! You look like Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction. Glad you had a relaxing weekend in town too!

  3. hahahah! I was wondering why you were just wearing a wig out for no reason! Good job on getting the free fleece! That’s dedication right there.

  4. ahahaha…. love the wig. I’ve been dying to do a bachelorette or a themed party where we all “wig out”.

  5. That parfait looks so yummy! I love your wig. I have worn a wig a few times (my old roommate used to have 3-4 she’d rotate around). I have never worn one outside a costume though.

  6. Nice wig!! Sems like a great weekend and you’ve really perfected the sweet potato hash!

    I went hiking on Saturday and am still sore!! Read my blog re-cap for more details 🙂

  7. Loving the wig! Haha good idea with the tuppawear, I often have to do that as my eyes are nearly always bigger than my stomach. Still looked pretty goo tho 🙂 xxx

  8. I was wondering WHY you had the wig on…it looks good on you though – have you ever had your hair that short?

    • Never! My hair is really curly so it would dry weird and not look cute if I cut it short. Ive thought about it but don’t think I could muster up the courage.

  9. Glad to hear that you got a weekend to relax!

    Not a big fan of wigs, they are so itchy. However, a couple Halloweens ago, my husband dressed as Jane Fonda and wore a wig – it was priceless!

  10. For a hot sec I thought you cut your hair! And then I learned to read, and saw the keyword, “wig,” haha. My highlight was hitting the outlets in Leesburg.

  11. I love wigs. They are so much fun! I have a magenta wig I drag out for special occasions!

  12. I also missed the keyword ‘wig’ and kept going back to your profile pic to see if it was the same person…:)

    I’m a ‘lurker’, originally from the UK, living in Singapore, giving myself a year to get in shape before I make the HUGE leap back into the world of work . At the minute I seem to spend more time being sucked into the blog vortex than working on my health and fitness goals….but definitely feeling inspired.

  13. Love the wig! Pulp Fiction comment was right on! On a food note, I have been following your blog about two weeks now, and you have inspired me so much to make better food choices. I have been doing great on watching what I eat (low fat / no red meat), but your blog has really inspired me to take it a step further by chosing more wholesome foods. example, last night for the first time EVER I had acorn squash. Topped it with black beans, corn, cilantro, lime and some broiled tilapia. I was so proud of myself! Thank you for giving me a glimpse of a healthier lifestyle!

    • Hi Shannon, You have no idea how much that means to me!!! It makes me so happy that I helped you to want to make better decisions. And that acorn squash idea sounds amazing – I might have to try it out!

Leave a Reply

