• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Two Exciting Things!!

Hello!

Two quick exciting announcements.

1.) I found out today that I got selected to be an Official POM Party Host! You can check out details here, but basically Foodbuzz sent an email about applying to be a party host a few weeks ago and I sent in some ideas about courses with pomegranates, and they notified me today that I got selected! This means that they will send me two packages of pomegranates, gift bags for party attendees, and some other cool POM Swag which I will obviously share with you all as soon as I get it! I’ll be hosting a dinner party during the week of November 8-14, and get to showcase pomegranates and be eligible for some incredible prizes if they pick my party as one of the top ones!

2.) I also found out today that I get to cover an event tonight on behalf of Foodbuzz! It’s the Signature Chefs Auction of DC and it’s actually tonight! Ahh! I am excited because the event supports the March of Dimes, which is a cause near and dear to my heart since they do a ton of preemie research and my two nephews were born 17 weeks premature. The event will feature 20 of the top DC area chefs with tastings, as well as both a silent and live auction. It should be fun!

Exciting happenings in the blogworld for me today! 🙂

Just a quick lunch post because I gotta get cracking on plans for the event tonight and wrap up with work!

Wil went fishing yesterday on a chartered boat off of Maryland and caught two large rockfish. The company that charters the boats actually filets the fish for you once you get on shore, so he came home with a HUGE back of fresh as could be fish that he caught himself yesterday! He made us an awesome dinner last night of grilled fish with white rice, veggies, and an incredible sauce.

Dinner

Sometimes simple is best when the ingredients are as fresh as this. The sauce had red chili paste, oil, shallots, garlic, salt, pepper, and some citrus. It was seriously out of this world and the fish was so melt-in-your-mouth fresh that I did NOT want the plate to end. But, end it did.

Luckily there were extras for lunch today! What better way to use leftovers then to throw them all on top of greens and call it a salad?

Lunch

Putting rice in your salad is actually awesome if you’ve never tried it. I also used the rest of the tomato from yesterday’s veggie sammie, and then poured some of that incredible sauce as dressing over the whole plate. It was SO good but obviously I can’t take too much credit for the dish since all I did was eat it and support the chef in his efforts. 😉

Have you ever been to a tasting event like what I’m attending tonight? I never have and cannot WAIT!

Do you have any cool suggestions for cooking or DECORATING with pomegranates?

14 Responses

  1. I went to the Signature Chefs Auction in my city last year. EPIC. It was AMAZING food.

  2. Oh man! Peter made rockfish for dinner last nite too! With Rice and a Dill Yogurt Sauce with some Peas! YUM! I was halfway done before I thought… maybe I should take a picture of this delicious dish! (whoops!) UPDATE: Exercised 2x last week and planning on 4x this week. And I’d love to talk to you about helping support my Married to a Chef cause… The Signature Chefs Auction tonite would be an awesome place to bring my Coming Soon postcards! Drat!

  3. Congrats on both of those!! I’m excited to see your post about tonight! You can do a lot with pomegranates – salad dressing, martinis, etc. For decorations..I’m not so sure!

  4. Oh congrats! That’s so neat!!

  5. Congratulations! Two exciting events!

    I’d display the pomegranates naturally in a hurricane vase! Coordinate similar dark colors to accent 🙂

  6. How exciting!! I’ve never used pomegranates before, so I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    The event tonight sounds like so much fun!

  7. Well done on the 2 event – you must be very happy 🙂
    And that fish looked yummyy haha xxx

  8. That’s so awesome!! Can’t wait to read all about it. Maybe use pomegranites as centerpieces?

  9. Congrats, Very very cool. As I am a preemie mom too, I volunteer for our chef’s event here each year. I agree with the pp…it is EPIC! Such great food, and a wonderful event. You will have a great time!

  10. Congrats~! The blogworld offers up some pretty amazing opportunities every now and then!

  11. Congrats girl that’s some exciting stuff!

  12. Congrats POM lady! That’s so exciting! You have a lot going for you, it sounds like so much fun!

    I just bought my very first pomegranate. My hubby says it’s a Mexican fruit and his mama gave me a recipe for a sweet-chili pepper type of dish, but assures me that it is impossible + too expensive to make at home, so you can only find it in expensive restaurants. So, it goes without saying that I’m looking forward to testing it out 🙂

    I’m boring, though: pomegranate on oats, yogurt, in cookies, in granola bars (not yet!), atop… everything (except rice cakes, that didn’t work out too well!)

    take care!

  13. Congrats on getting the POM package. I didn’t get selected 😦 I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  14. That is awesome! I can’t wait to see your POM party! Hope you had fun at your event last night!

Leave a Reply

